Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

2002 Ford Mustang

2002 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

54 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 54 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable, Fun to drive, Looks good.

by Car Guy from Illinois on Tue Nov 13 2012

This is my 3rd Mustang. I still have the first two, I just can't let them go. The 2002 convertible is my Parade car, it gets so many compliments I just keep showing it. Reliability is fantastic, although there are two routine maintenance items. Oil changes every 3k and rear tires. I know a little less throttle would reduce this item. My 2000 mustang (daily driver) has over 165,000 and it feels like it is running as strong as it was when I got it 8 years ago. It loves the interstate on and off ramps, just eats them up. I have had great performance out of mine, and I recommend them to you. I recommend the leather interior, because it is so easy to maintain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun car

by ry-man from Atlanta, GA on Sat Aug 19 2006

the car is a good second car it is a gas hog but a great performer and it gets many looks. it is quick to get moving and it handles very well around town in the corners and also on the highway. also there are many modifications avalible for these cars they range from looks or performance from mild to wild.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Weekend Car!

by TrueBlue2002 from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Jan 16 2007

My wife let me purchase my 2002 Premium GT as a weekend toy in 2005, with 24,000 miles on the clock. Although it only sees about 2,000 miles a year, it is a blast to drive! We usually pick the Mustang to drive to local wineries around Indiana, and always find ourselves (or atleast I find myself) searching out the nearest two-lane roads to get us there. Anyone looking for a tight, noise free car should look further. It is not a pure sports car, but more a great Grand Tourer. I don't think I will ever sell it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great fun to drive

by larryb from WAYCROSS, GA on Thu Nov 10 2011

I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN AUG 2002 BRAND NEW, SINCE THEN I HAVE ADDED COLD AIR INTAKE, BILLET ITEMS, BULLET WHEELS WITH RED CALIPER COVERS AND HANKOOK 245-40-18INCH TIRES. ALSO ADDED DUAL FLOMASTER MUFFLERS. HAD TO REPLACE BATTERY AT 7 YEARS AND REPLACED ALTERNATOR AT 9 YEARS OLD (AUG 2011). IT IS A GREAT LOOKING BLACK STANG AND IS FUN TO DRIVE. I KEEP GETTING COMPLIMENTS ON IT.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

good fun ride

by mustang in muskegon from muskegon,mi on Wed Mar 21 2007

i have a 2002 ford mustang v-6 with about 33,000 miles on it and have found it very reliable!! i bought it new in july 2002 as a demo vehicle it had 3,300 miles on it at the time. it was a excellent investment and i am sure i will still be driving it for many years!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun for a Lifetime

by skipper from Prospect Ky on Wed Apr 13 2016

Good looking, still current styling. Handles so very well. Great value for money spent. Bucket seats are comfortable, ride is pleasant and solid, feels good and safe.Covertible top easy to operate and lined, boot simple to put on. Glad to own this 2002 Mustang Convertible.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good Performance Great Price

by Johnny Kash from Shelby. Twp. Mi on Thu Oct 19 2006

The 4.6 liter 260hp and 302lb-ft of torque is great for the 2002 mustang gt. the 0-60 times on a 4speed automatic is a 5.8 and quarter mile on Falken ziek 512 245/45/17 stock times is 14.5 seconds It it a great performing car all around. Cornoring and Accleration is excellient but brakes could be a little nicer when wet. but buying a 10 dollor stainless lines quickly make this performance a dream excellient car in and out and has tons of potintel.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this car is balls to wall awesome

by buckeye from youngstown, ohio on Fri Jul 21 2006

this car is great, just the look of it will get you excited. it's a great color with tinted windows, low profile tires, wide stance and low to the ground. then when it's started and you hear that deap roar of the V-8 and flow master exhaust, you just goota drive it. the thing runs like a scalded dog, it really puts you back in your seat. you couldn't find a stock gt mustang in this great of condition for this price, especially not with all the extras in the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Well worh the money

by brothersdown from Rainbow city, Al on Tue Dec 08 2015

I bought my GT on 4/17/07. I have always enjoyed the car, first off let me say the car had 54000 miles on it, now it has 64000, not very many miles have been put on the car since I bought it, the reason why is I am nearly 66 yo, I grew up in the 60`s driving corvettes, Camaros and chevells, all big block, now everytime I get in to my GT it brings back memories and I am afraid I will get into trouble, the car is 4.6 but is very strong at least through three gears, it is metallic blue with 5 speed, gray interior, it even has the original battery, but needs charging if left parked for over three weeks, as for the car, I would recommend it to anyone, have put on new brakes, and fixing to add new tires, get you one if you can, drawback is the small pistons, you cant add anything to this engine, but is fast enough for an old man like me..

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best bang for your buck muscle

by sn95love from Oklahoma on Tue Mar 21 2017

The 02 Mustang is a very good platform for a high performance vehicle. The aftermarket support of the car is enormous and it can be easily modified. Cheap speed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2002 Ford Mustang

This is the last Pony standing in its field.

With the Camaro and Firebird going away, the Mustang, in several forms, remains the sole muscular Pony Car from the 1960's.

It was a primitive, stiff, car then. It is, except in Cobra/SVT incarnations, a primitive, stiff car today.

It is muscular, its steering is not sharp, it still has a solid rear axle, and with its power and rear-wheel-drive configuration, it is prone to quick oversteer.

You got a problem with any of that?

Lots of folks don't, because the Mustang endures as an American icon — if one getting a bit long in the tooth.

The 2002 Mustang GT convertible is a case in point.

It retains the essence of raw American power... Read More