2004 Mustang

Consumer Reviews

2004 Ford Mustang

2004 Ford Mustang

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

87 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2004 Ford Mustang?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

A animated vehicle you'll quickly bond with

by luv to drive fast from queens, ny on Fri Jan 25 2008

i purchased this car (3.9L, v6) used with 25000 miles on it. i've averaged 23,500 per year and its currently around 72,000. the most noticeable issue with this car is its stability past 75mph as the car ages. when i 1st purchased this car it seemed the faster i went the more stability was present. currently after changing struts/shocks and a few wheel alignments im starting to think it may be the rack and bushings. so far all work done has only been regular scheduled upkeep (including shocks n struts, tune up) work except for a gasket leak in the differential. minimal stuff!!! i Highly recommend this car for the summer, spring time. its a great reliable muscle toy but get something else if you wanna get to work in the snow during the winter. its a huge pain pulling it out of snow holes. oh and btw get one wit posi

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Fun car, have its ups and downs

by Everyday user from South Carolina on Sun Dec 30 2012

Had my v6 mustang almost 2 years, I love it. But you have to love it or it will drive you crazy. I have a steep driveway, I bust my exhaust pipes countless times, spent well over 1,000 just for that. If buying from a dealership, make sure you check the small things(spare tire, horn, weather strips, etc) because alot was wrong with mines before I realized it. Other than that car runs great, no really major problems with it long as you keep it properly maintain. Only thing I would suggest is if you are looking for power get a V8 GT with manual, and if you say no to that because of gas you should consider it because my v6 drink as much as a v8 to me. I personally want to put a v8 and manual transmission in my baby but all the money it's gonna cost I plan on just buying a GT.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome Car!

by Mike from on Sun Jul 17 2011

A 2004 Mach1 is an awesome Mustang! It has collector status......buy one if you can find one in good shape! You won't be disappointed! One word of advice get a manual if you want to experience a true muscle car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good First Car

by Mustang Lover from Broken Bow, Ok on Thu Mar 11 2010

This whas my first and still is i guess. I love this car. i wish i couuld keep it for ever. It has been really reliable. it is pretty comfy in the front seat but thenagain i dont sit in the back seat so i dont really worry about that. over all it is a good car for a new driver.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car all around

by Stang18 from Raleigh, NC on Wed Jan 06 2010

I owned a 2002 V6, and loved it, it got me through thick and thin, with no problems, driven that car till 150K miles until someone rear ended me and got the car totaled, purchased a 2004 GT, and love it ever since. Wish I had the money for a Cobra, Saleen, or Roush, but hopefully I will get one someday, till then all the Mustangs drive very well, and handle incredibly. Keeps your heart beating..

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Man nice car for the money!

by 04 GT PONY from Texas on Wed Feb 10 2010

I just recently purchased an 04 GT with 53000 miles on it. Looking forward to getting maintanance done on it to keep it like new. Does make a clanking sound when shifting at times but I dont think its that much of an issue. Decent on Gas cheap to fill small tank. The 2004 Body style is the best minus the 2010 Gt. The 04 Looks like a newer car. Nice with black leather seats. Never owned a fast car before so I didnt know what to expect but its easy to drive and is just fast enough for a daily driver and to have a little fun when the cops arent lookin. Just got my first ticket so be careful. Wish the 6 cd changer came with an auxillary port to hook up zune or Ipod but Oh well it sounds good just gotta have cd's or get a different deck. The Mach side speakers are loud crisp and clear all I would recommend as far as audio is hookin up like one 10" sub. Overall I have never really had a car I was in love with until now.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Terminator Cobra

by Mustang Michelle from Richmond, VA on Tue Jun 15 2010

They don't call it the Terminator Cobra for nothing! This thing is FAST! What an awesome car! Drop the top and cruise!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Amazing Muscle Car Bang for the Buck

by TrainerCoach from Virginia Beach, VA on Thu Feb 22 2018

Mine is the 2004 GT with 40th anniversary package. Strong 4.6l V8 - great stock exhaust note, that sounds even better customized. 5-speed is fun to drive and shift. Great mileage - 27 hwy mpg in 5th gear. Low cost to maintain and operate.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

04 cobra terminator

by terminator from phoenix arizona on Tue May 28 2013

if it is performance and a bullet proof motor and an awesome transmission you want and only have to add a little money you can easily have this vehicle from 390/390 at the crank to 470 at the wheels on horse power and more on torque. styling is a number one in my book inside and out. once you have owned one of these you'll want another if you sell as I did.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Buy

by Car Enthusiast from Ca on Sat Jun 03 2006

I used to be a Cobra owner and I can personally say that these cars are amazing. They handle well and are very fun to drive. With the milage and work done to this particular one compared to the price I can say that it's a very reasonable buy. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a car with immense power while still being functional.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9