Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1995 Probe

Consumer Reviews

1995 Ford Probe

1995 Ford Probe

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

11 Reviews
82% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1995 Ford Probe?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

15 years later and still running strong

by 95ProbeGTGuy from San Diego on Mon Dec 06 2010

I only have 108k miles on the car, don't give it very much TLC, but it runs great still! The paint started showing it's age a couple years ago, but it cleans up nicely once washed. It does not compare to the technology of today, but it's a strong solid car. I have never once had an issue that costs more than $500 to fix. No major tranny or engine issues. The biggest repair I've had was to replace the axles. Mostly my fault because the CV boots ruptured and who knows how long I drove it with improperly greased axles. The biggest issue I have is road noise and squeaky suspension. It's not the most quiet car, but you get used to it after a while. The interior isn't bad. The bucket seats are cozy. It would make a great car for any first time driver or someone looking for a little extra bang for their buck in a used car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

fun car

by lurker from Los Angeles on Wed Aug 05 2009

i bought my probe gt with about 130000 miles, stickshift with all the features i have to say its very reliable the previous owner took good care of it, it looks still like new, and the 2.5 v6 is very powerfull for its age, ac is working very good , the brakes are solid, the gearbox is perfect, its not very confy, but its a sports coupe. its fun to drive and the quality is good ,after all its a mazda. the only thing i dont like about this car is thicking noises from the hydros. i am to lazy to fix them couse they have no influence on the performance of the car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Little Car

by Don from Clarksville, TN on Wed Jul 23 2008

The only gripe I have, and this is related to having the 2.0L is the way the AC saps power. Other than that, I can'y complain, especially with getting 27mpg around town in these days of almost $4.00 a gallon gasoline.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

95 probe gt was my first car, great car

by car enthusiast from alpha, nj on Sun Nov 15 2009

great car, easy to mod, and fun to drive. i love my car and had alot of good times with it. nothing negative to say.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tons of Fun for the Money

by ProbeGTFan on Wed Nov 08 2017

Great Car to Drive (GT w/Manual). Very uncommon car on the road. Excellent sounding V6 engine with the correct exhaust.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Funest car to drive

by Torreto from Texas, TX on Wed Nov 14 2007

this year model is a very reliable car and has a lot of power with nice looks if u ask me i say get one. i recromend it for a first car owner.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ageless looks

by ProbinAlien from New Jersey on Tue Oct 27 2015

Purchased Probe GT in April of 2014 with 15,500 miles, fast forward... October 2015, and almost turning 45,000 miles. The exterior design is ageless, this car could come out today and you wouldn't know it. It's just one of those designs with clean lines. Yes it does have pop up head lights, so do Ferraris! Performs well, the Mazda KL 2.5L V6 engine is peppy and revs to 7K! Grips the road and handles nicely. Did regular maintenance, nothing major, it has been reliable. With performance modifications, these cars are a blast to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Fun to drive NOT to fix

by weary repairman from Greenville, SC on Mon Jul 19 2010

I bought my probe "well used" and i was ready for some repairs(as a matter of course i do a full tune up whenever i buy a used car), but i was not prepared for the amount of repairs that this car needed! The fact that virtually any repair part for this vehicle will cost you well over 100 dollars, coupled with the fact that it needs ALOT of repairs and its exceptionally tough to get at most things(i had to remove the air intake to change my fuel filter) this car just is not worth "investing" in. I will say this though when it runs, IT RUNS! This car was a blast to drive it had a lot more power than i expected and it handles beautifully. The gas mileage was about what you'd expect from this type of car, but to keep that mileage you have to keep it in perfect condition which (as i mentioned before) will cost you. My probe was the GT model and i think it was about fully loaded even so it seemed rather uncomfortable and not very drink friendly. So my advice would be if you can pick one up cheap go ahead and get it but start saving up for something more reliable, and the second it breaks down RUN!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

not to realiable

by Caique from worcester, MA on Sat Aug 12 2006

this is not a bad vehicle, for the price you can find him today, thats the only reason i would reconmeded to a friend or for someone that is bying a car for the first time. BUt if this car cost more money i would not reconmended because almost all of them has alot miles on and it breaks easy. Thats why it is only good for a first xar byer.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

OMG

by Just a guy who bought a ford probe from Los Angeles, LA on Tue Feb 06 2007

O....M....G.... This vehicle is just about the worst vehicle you can buy. I've ran into so many freaking problems with this car. Yeah...I thought the car looked fine...kind of like a more bland rx-7...BUT never ever ever EVER get this car...the guy who said its good for your first car...NO!!!! steering, performance, comfort, reliability...they are all bad... so...if you are thinking of buying this vehicle, please save yourself the money and buy a bicycle instead...

1 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1995 Ford Probe

Thank goodness that reason and sanity won out and Ford didn't give in to those who had planned to replace the venerable Mustang with the Mazda-designed Probe sport coupe.

The Probe has grown old since it was unveiled in the 1989 model year. It may have raised a few eyebrows in 1989, but the lids have grown weary. It didn't help that early design exercises and concepts of what was to become the Probe were stunning and expectations were sky high for a mind-boggling hunk of sheet metal. The production model was a conservative compromise.

Rumors are strong that Probe will put a few more years under its belt before it disappears from the Ford lineup.

The speculation is that 1997... Read More