1996 Ranger

Consumer Reviews
1996 Ford Ranger

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

20 Reviews
3.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

cant get me stuck

by brock from champaign, il on February 21, 2009

i have the 4x4 xlt package and absolutly love it. im not the type that goes mudding to try to get stuck but if i were this would be the truck. regardless, i have towed many people from ditches and this truck is the perfect winter vehicle, outperforms any vehicle ive ever driven. also a very reliable truck, bought with 102,xxx and i now have ove 140k miles with nothing more than oil changes, gas, and a whole lot of toys ive added. the styling may not be wonderful or modern, but you cannot pass up a ford 4.0 they're indestrucable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck! Would purchase another!

by Work Truck from Raleigh N.C on September 19, 2013

I own a 1996 Ford Ranger 2.3 liter 5 speed step-side pick up with regular cab. This truck is unstoppable! I bought it used with 230,000 miles on it and it ran great. It only needed a wiper motor. I drove it everyday as a work truck equipped with ladder racks. This truck continued on up to 530,000 miles with out any major problems. I replaced common wear and tear items like alternators and radiator, brakes, belts and hoses. I did all the work myself without a problem. At 200k it needed a clutch and then another clutch at 510k. I also did the mass air flow meter. That was the only time that the truck actually broke down. I just disconnected the sensor and it continued driving. It never left me stranded until the last time the clutch went out. The radiator actually blew a hole in itself one day and overheated. I had a cooler full of water in the back. I filled it up twice after it cooled and drove it to auto zone where I installed the new radiator in only 20 minutes. The alternator goes out and warns you as its dying. Both times I was able to get it home before it quit. This has been the best truck ever! The only problems I have with it are that it doesn't handle well with the step-side bed in wet conditions and its a little weak on power. Also the tire size is odd and hard to find. I would surely recommend this truck. However is is not well suited for a new driver as its incredibly light in the rear and fishtails easily.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

1996 ranger

by nebraska guy from Omaha, ne on October 20, 2013

I bought my 1996 in Feb 2005. I've driven it from Arkansas to South Dakota pulling trailers and hauling cargo. I have replaced the clutch and starter. The 4.0L V6 is a workhorse engine. I have 177K on the truck. It has been absolutely great!! Gas mileage is 19-23 city and 22-26 on the road. (This was supposed to be my son's truck but I stole it from him.) The tire size is a little odd and I have had to search for the right size. I am selling mine since I bought a 2011 Ranger which I expect to keep until 2020. Ford is dumb to get out of the small truck market.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1996 Ford Ranger 2.3L 5 spd

by TK from Ft Lauderdale,FL on May 1, 2013

Over 300,000 miles on mine- only thing done- 1 battery. PERIOD. This thing runs and looks Great after all this time- Body style still modern- people really don't know what year it is- many think mine is a late 2000s model. LOVE MY RANGER

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've owned

by Bob with one O from Bullhead City, AZ on July 25, 2017

I bought new in 1997 and still own today. The odometer shows 310497 but the odometer stopped about 7 years ago so I 'm sure it has over 400000+ miles. Other than normal items plugs, brakes, tires and batteries replacing the radiator has been the only real expense. Every one tells me I should think of getting something newer but as long as it still gets me around I will keep it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck made

by rastamike from PARIS on March 19, 2012

very long runing truck..every thing still works even the ac. and carry big loads. just keep piling it on it will haul it.. NEVER BUY A CHEVY

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I wish I still had it

by PhillipJFry from Pennsauken NJ on July 17, 2017

I owned one with an extended cab and the 4.0 V6 it was the most useful vehicle ever. The fuel filler neck needed replacing, which I hear is a common problem on these pickups. 4/5 stars overall if you can maintain it properly and decide not to pull anything too heavy.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A worthy steed for all riders

by Benz17 from St George, UT on July 29, 2017

A great vehicle for any task. Not a luxury vehicle, but reliable and very versatile. It has more room then the standard cab which was great for me because I am tall. It was a xlt v-6 so it had plenty of get up when it needed it. It did have 4 wheel drive which is a plus and made it great for little errands or have if a little fun of road. I totally would recommend this vehicle to any one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wish I could get a new one

by Ranger1 on September 29, 2017

The best vehicle I ever owned. I had mine for 15 years. Prior to that a relative had it for 7 years. Never a problem. Not one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle Owned!

by TJ from Iowa on September 11, 2017

My ranger is the most reliable and economical vehicle I have ever owned. Mine is a 4 cylinder so gets great gas mileage. Great little commuter and I do not haul large or heavy items so a bigger truck is a huge waste of money. I wish the auto makers would keep the midsized truck small or midsized. All the new Ranger, Colorado, Tacoma's are getting so big and expensive, you might as well get a full size. Love my 96 ranger!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2