2005 Ranger

Consumer Reviews

2005 Ford Ranger

$3,135 - $12,559  MSRP Range
2005 Ford Ranger

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

36 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
3.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Ford Ranger?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very good truck!!!

by C-bass from Wisconsin on Mon Feb 16 2009

This is my first truck and I enjoy it very much. It drives like a car, smooth. Yet it has the capabilities you'd expect from a 4 wheel drive vehicle. This truck has handled midwestern winters like a champ! I would definitely recommend this truck to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Ford Ranger Super Cab With all Options

by Former 11b from AL on Wed Oct 22 2008

Love it. Form the 4X4 option to the 6 cd changer to the better shocks and higher lift kit. The extra fog lights are bright, the step bar sturdy, the bed lining great. Never had any problems with it, never been stuck, perfect truck for a small/midsize truck. Flaw is, 2 seats in the back are for show.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great little truck!

by Tom from Michigan on Sun Apr 17 2011

I've driven many trucks before, and the Ranger is the best. If you can get over its small size, and its old design you'll just see how great the truck really is. First, its old design actually makes it nice to work on, and it makes it reliable. Its old interoir design may not be fancy, but is very well laid out, and easy to clean. Power may be an issue, especially if you get the 3.0 V6, it gets the gas milage of a 4.0 and the power of a 2.3. But its plenty enough power, I just wished I got better fuel economy. The Ranger is a good looking truck, it has the mid 2000's Ford design, which was the best designs for Ford trucks, and the Ranger's design is easy to improve. Which brings up anther great reason to ge this truck, its the best to customize. ANother great reason to get a Ranger is that the Ranger is mostly American, mine is 90% American and was assembled in the US. Finally the best reason to get a Ranger is its durability. I bought mine after it was beat up for over 80,000 miles. Covered in dents, road salt erosion eating the frame, signs of trailer towing, and a history report just shows that the truck was beaten on. The only thing to go bad on it was the power steering, and that wasn't from my ownership either. This truck is simply a tough little truck! Owners I've talked to say its easy to get 300,000 miles out of this truck and they encounter few problems. I intend to keep this truck as long as I can, which may be for life, and it only cost me 5 grand. Now thats a deal!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best pick up made

by cowboy12 from michigan on Sat Apr 11 2009

I am on the 5th ranger I have owned and they all have been great. Tough and dependable.I have a 4door extended cab 4x4 with a V-6.Not very good milage but good enough.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Little Truck. Great at what it does.

by Bob from Fresno, Ca on Mon Feb 27 2012

This is my fourth Ranger. I use them both at work and at home. They really serve their purpose as a good little utility vehilce. I have the extended cab model that gives me the extra interior room. The 6 foot bed is good for hauling everything from bikes to the family dog. They are tough, dependable little trucks. I buy the 4 cylider models and am very happy with the gas milage. The performance is adeqate. The motor gets the job done. I have never had any serious issues with any of the trucks. The comfort is okay for a truck.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bought a Used Ranger

by MR.T from Michigan on Fri Sep 24 2010

An 05 Ranger base XL 3.slo Vulcan v6 automatic RWD. I got it at 86,000 miles and since put 2000 miles on it, the previous owner was nice enough to put dents on it everywhere, but it was cheap truck. The engine is the worst part, its slow, not all that fuel efficient and heavy. The exterior styling is good looking, it still looks somewhat good even with dents all over. The interior is cheap, bland and very old, the radio needed swapped becuase the stock one sucked, the vinyl seats are good however, and the layout is very simple. The chassis is a very old and outdated design, but that does make it more reliable and keep cost down, and makes it easier to work on, and making parts easy to find. Overall, it does the job, its affordable, and its easy to work on or customize. Avoid the 3.0 Vulcan engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

stylish

by torque addict from tn on Tue Nov 07 2006

great design very reliable and gets 23-24 mpg consistantly,add ons greatly improve preformance,interior is very modern exterior is sleek

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good little truck

by Medicman from Tofield, AB, Cdn on Wed Aug 15 2007

I've had 2 of these trucks, great little truck lots of power with the 4.0, The second one is a 4x4 and it has a lot rougher ride in town than the non 4x4.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck ive ever owned

by spellbinder2013 from allensville ky on Thu Apr 02 2015

this is the 5th ranger ive owned it has almost 300000 miles on it and does not use any oil at all most people say the 2.3 like mine gets around 27 miles to the gallonat the most mine has got up to 30 mpg i bought this truck last year from a person who purchased it new i love this little truck and it still looks brand new too

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great truck

by jhall from oceanside ca on Sat Apr 28 2018

it is amazing definatly buying it, fits all my needs and more cant wait to take it home love this truck there is a word minimum so i am currently rambling

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4