2003 Ford Thunderbird
1-10 of 25 reviews
Test drive review

So much fun in such a little car!

by from Beachwood, NJ on August 7, 2017

It's a great car! So much fun to drive! It gets lots of attention & tons of compliments. Having the hard top option is very helpful for winter.
It's a great car! So much fun to drive! It gets lots of attention & tons of compliments. Having the hard top option is very helpful for winter.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Havingfun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Personal Luxury and Excellent Performance

by from North West on August 2, 2017

Quick Review ... Drove 3000 miles in four days in complete comfort. OK, it's not ideal for driving in snow and it doesn't have much trunk space but its understated style, excellent handling, power, s...
Quick Review ... Drove 3000 miles in four days in complete comfort. OK, it's not ideal for driving in snow and it doesn't have much trunk space but its understated style, excellent handling, power, smoothness and comfort make for ideal civilized personal transport (as a second car). Always draws admiring glances without being ostentatious. Economical to fuel; 18 US mpg running errands and 26 US mpg for weekend getaways. Longer story ... 2001 saw the introduction of the 2002 11th gen two seat retro Thunderbird. I noticed this car and did give it a passing glance but unaccustomed to dreaming beyond my financial means it soon became a vague memory. A few years ago on the internet I discovered that a 2003 Mountain Shadow Grey Thunderbird had suddenly become affordable for this pensioner of modest means. I began searching, learning and saving. In the spring of 2013 I found the right low mileage one owner car in Pennsylvania. After due diligence and a flight east I was able to drive it home in surprising comfort and in only four days. It has taken on the task of daily driver and elder limo (mom is in her 90's) with grace and aplomb. A few interesting facts about the 11th generation Thunderbird ? 1. Although futuristic and European design concepts were considered, Ford?s Skunk Works team won the day with key retro elements such as the reverse wedge profile, round tail lights, hash marks on the side of the front fenders, egg crate grill and iconic hood scoop. 2. The 2002-2005 thunderbird was born or should I say modeled on a computer eliminating two generations of prototyping. Existing engineering, manufacturing and safety data helped quick model a car that could actually be built and operated as it eventually was in Wixom, 30 miles from Detroit. 3. Ford owned Jaguar at the time so the DEW98 platform (unibody chassis components) was created by engineers on both sides of the Atlantic for use in the Lincoln LS, Jaguar S-Type (another retro) and the Thunderbird. 4. The 11th gen Ford Thunderbird has a Jaguar V8 engine, Ford transmission and unique fully independent suspension to make up this platform. The engine?s short block (block/pistons/rods/crank) was manufactured in Ohio (the rest of the engine came from Jaguar in England) and the stroke is 1 mm shorter than the Jaguar S-Type?s equivalent so that the engine was marketed as a 3.9 liter vs. Jaguar?s otherwise identical 4.0 liter. 5. The 11th gen Thunderbird is a departure from the traditional feel of large V8 `American Muscle? cars. Not so much forcefully powerful as it is smooth and quick yet acceleration as fast as any Thunderbird built. Not surprisingly this car has much the same feel as the Jaguar V8 cars of the same period. 6. The trunk will bring home only a week?s groceries for two people but you knew it was just a two seat car, didn?t you.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

2003 Thunderbird is an awesome car.

by from Surprise, AZ on July 1, 2017

It has everything you would need from a sports car. Comfort, luxury, speed, reliability, gas mileage, looks, etc.
It has everything you would need from a sports car. Comfort, luxury, speed, reliability, gas mileage, looks, etc.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Havingfun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Great value for a nostalgic ride!

by from Jackson, TN on June 29, 2017

It's a great car for someone who loves the retro look and feel of the 2003 Thunderbird Convertible. Don't miss this great value.
It's a great car for someone who loves the retro look and feel of the 2003 Thunderbird Convertible. Don't miss this great value.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Havingfun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Drove 3000 miles in four days in complete comfort.

by from North West on June 26, 2017

OK, it's not ideal for driving in snow and it doesn't have much trunk space but its understated style, excellent handling, power, smoothness and comfort make for ideal civilized personal transport (as...
OK, it's not ideal for driving in snow and it doesn't have much trunk space but its understated style, excellent handling, power, smoothness and comfort make for ideal civilized personal transport (as a second car). Always draws admiring glances without being ostentatious. Economical to fuel; 18 US mpg running errands and 26 US mpg for weekend getaways.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

An absolute blast to drive and a real head turner!

by from EL Reno,Ok. on June 23, 2017

A great road trip car with the top down or up. Plenty of performance with good fuel economy. Excellent fit and finish inside and out. This car always gets attention and lots of great compliments.
A great road trip car with the top down or up. Plenty of performance with good fuel economy. Excellent fit and finish inside and out. This car always gets attention and lots of great compliments.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

The Best

by from Houston on May 22, 2017

I've never been a real fan of Ford until I gambled and bought my 2003 v-8....this is absolutely the best car I've ever owned, powerful, quiet, a smooth ride, and stylish good looks
I've never been a real fan of Ford until I gambled and bought my 2003 v-8....this is absolutely the best car I've ever owned, powerful, quiet, a smooth ride, and stylish good looks
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Nice Car.

by from on May 3, 2017

It is good car for fun. Hard and soft tops make this car exceptional. I love it. This is truly a wonderful driving car. It is comfortable for traveling around town. People always ask me if I sell it o...
It is good car for fun. Hard and soft tops make this car exceptional. I love it. This is truly a wonderful driving car. It is comfortable for traveling around town. People always ask me if I sell it or not.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Modern Classic

by from Tampa, FL on April 10, 2017

The late model Ford Thunderbirds are truly exceptional world-class touring roadsters. They offer a precision engineered convertible top that is snug, quiet, and attractive. The top rivals Mercedes a...
The late model Ford Thunderbirds are truly exceptional world-class touring roadsters. They offer a precision engineered convertible top that is snug, quiet, and attractive. The top rivals Mercedes and BMW for fit and appearance! V8 power and a very aptly mated transmission combined with a nimble suspension and personal luxury level comfort make this one of the best American road cars ever.
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

The most fun and beautiful car I've owned!

by from Wilmington, NC on March 23, 2017

This is truly a wonderful driving car. It is comfortable on long trips and for traveling around town. People always compliment me on the beauty of the car where ever I go!
This is truly a wonderful driving car. It is comfortable on long trips and for traveling around town. People always compliment me on the beauty of the car where ever I go!
Comfort
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Performance
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
See Model Details
Our Expert Review: 2003 Ford Thunderbird