1998 Windstar

Consumer Reviews

1998 Ford Windstar

$658 - $5,042  MSRP Range

Review Score

3.6 out of 5 stars

3.6

18 Reviews
67% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.4 out of 5 stars Performance
3.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Ford Windstar?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 18 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

GReat Car

by Betty from chicago on Wed Sep 02 2009

This was a Good car! We got over 250,000 miles out of it. Replace the transmission at 145,000, and the odometer stop working at 175,499 miles. One problem we have with the windstar was leaks by the windshield, and side windows. Did not maintain the car the way we should have. the engine finally died this spring but served us well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not very happy about this van

by CarWoman126 from Detroit,MI on Mon Jun 23 2008

I bought my car in 2000 and it worked great the first 24,000 miles. Then it started to need alot of fix up. You can feel even the smallest bumps on the road and it'll feel like a huge pothole. Features are standard. It just wasnt what i would hope it would be like. But it's still going after running 164,658 miles!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

10 Years and going strong

by ChicagoGal from Chicago, IL on Wed Mar 19 2008

We are now at 140,000 miles. The first car I have owned that has lasted with no major problems. Rust just now forming on the outside. Seats are now worn and tearing. Has been a great family car. My favorite of all time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT MINIVAN

by Only Buy Ford Cars from Madison, WI on Tue Feb 17 2009

Although many say that have only one sliding door is annoying, I actually found it nicer. The middle row seat behind the driver had an an accesible cup hold, a cubbing, and heating and ac controls. It was a nice cozy seat close to the window. I also liked the big driver side door, so i prefer the one sliding door to two. Interior is very roomy and has a nice design for 98. Everything about this car is AWESOME. The one complaint is that i live in wisconsin where salt on the road is a real rust problem. the windstar has a "shelf" like thing in front of the back wheel where salt sits, so that part is all rusted out. Besides that a great car. We just yesterday traded it in for a 2006 ford freestyle (we dont like the minivans nowadays) and it was very sad because it was a prefectly good car with no problems. So for a 98 ford made a GREAT family van.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Served me Well

by Maria from London, ON on Tue Aug 02 2011

I feel this van did pretty good. Some issues but given the fact that it went to the States several times and on many long trips I feel it did well for what we paid. Lasted all the way to 450,000kms. Had it's transmission replaced halfway through and exhaust pipe replaced and patched to stop the smell leaking inside, and problems with the windshield leaking. Gas mileage at the end was horrible but overall I was happy with what I got.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Still going after over 200,000 miles!

by Slydawg from Peachtree City, GA on Sat Jun 02 2007

My Wife drove the car 90,000 miles on largely short trips. Now I drive it on a 134 mile commute several days a week. At about 200,000 miles, the transmission was overhauled. Engine compression and oil pressure tested fine, so we're on the road again. Car has great visibility.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Major repair problem at low miles

by Grumpy Grandma from Seattle, Wa. on Thu Jan 04 2007

Bought a Ford Windstar Limited new in 1998, this vehicle has always been garaged and maintained on schedule. The paint started peeling off the driver's side door in 2004 and because of the type of enamel used on today's cars the door must be completely sanded and refinished for a minimum cost of $350.00. A week before Christmas 2006, the total transmission had to be replaced because of a failure in the transmission pump which then produced tranmission fluid full of metal filings. The car was never used to tow so a failure of a transmission at 80,500 miles, no matter what the age of the car seems to indicate a real lack of quality of the product. I have always bought American products over a period of fifty years and the quality has steadily diminished whether Ford or G M, and I no longer feel the loyalty to these companies is justified and I will no longer "buy American".

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

never again

by hotmotherflower from chicago on Mon Feb 16 2009

I bought this van at 75000 miles. it got me from point a to b but constantly had problems with the exhaust. i hadf a tune up done and the hoses are too short and needed to be clamped down. Too many problems with the alignment and im tired of putting money into this van. I had better luck with my ford station wagons.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good car but very bulky

by Thomas Hushbeck from Modesto, CA on Wed Jun 14 2017

My family owned and drove it throughout my whole upbringing and only recently broke down. It was a great reliable family van but the biggest issue was how bulky it was when it was driven.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

NEVER AGAIN DO I BUY A FORD

by japcars-r-thebest from Orlando Fl on Tue Apr 24 2012

Bought the car in March this year with 139,000miles, 1 week and 6 days later it blew a head gasket. Cost about 700-1500 to fix. Never waisting my time buying a ford car again. Lookin' to buy a Toyota, Honda, or Nissan minivan....

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1998 Ford Windstar

If Ford Motor Co. had it to do over again, the Windstar mini-van would havehad more doors than cupholders.

But, the automaker insists, when it surveyed consumers about their wantsand needs in the early development years of its rival to Chrysler and GeneralMotors mini-vans, most folks said they saw no need for a slide-open door onboth sides of the van.

So Ford left one off the driver's side.

Better Ford leave off a wheel or seat or window, because Chrysler, theindustry's mini van-sales leader, and GM, one of the followers, added aslide-open door on the driver's side of its vans.

GM went Chrysler one better and offered the option of a power-operateddriver-side slider.

So Ford goofed and... Read More