2000 Windstar

Consumer Reviews

2000 Ford Windstar

$750 - $5,042  MSRP Range
2000 Ford Windstar

Review Score

3.4 out of 5 stars

3.4

31 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.3 out of 5 stars Performance
3.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2000 Ford Windstar?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

This was a very reliable car.

by windsurfer from California on Mon Dec 19 2011

We bought a 2000 Windstar SE, in 2002, which was coming off of a corporate lease. It had 57,000 miles on it and was totaled in an accident at 130,600 miles. Some guy wasn?t paying attention and made an accordion out of the rear end. Over the 10 years we owned the vehicle, I feel it was a very dependable vehicle. It needed maintenance like any other vehicle. Parts wear out and need replacing. If you don't work on cars then it will be rather expensive having it fixed but this is true of all automobiles. They need taken care of and it's rather expensive if you have to have everything done by a mechanic. If you don?t repair it next thing you know you?re complaining about it being ?the worst car I ever owned?. Fortunately, I'm not in that situation. I was able to repair the majority of things myself. I?m in the market for another 2000-2002 Ford Windstar. My wife loves this vehicle and wants another one.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Windstar Fan from San Jose, CA on Thu Feb 24 2011

We have the 1995 windstar, then traded in for another 2000 windstar. Both of my kids, now 19 & 18, grew up in this car, so did our two dogs...daughter just crashed the car 30 days into getting the license...trying badly to get a replacement. The Freestar is not as good in design as the windstar. Great ride, good gas mileage, very reliable, and the best part is that both 2nd and 3rd row seats can be removed completely...it can haul tons of stuff, and when you have both seats removed, you end up with a very light vehicle and even better mileage...really wish Ford can heed my request: please make the back seats removable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

I hate this van!

by Mother of three from New York State on Fri May 30 2008

1) The check engine light is always on due to an emissions problem that causes me to use more gas (at over $4.00 per gallon). 2) The doors keep opening as I'm trying to close them. They also occasionally slide open when I'm driving. Each door was already fixed once and one is broken again. When you take the fuse out to manually open and close them, the door is too heavy for me to close. The kids have no chance. 3) There is not enough room for an adult to easily get in-between the seats to get to the back (even a small adult) 4) The cup holders are cheap pieces of garbage that won't hold water bottles. They fall out and land on the floor when your driving. 5) The back door doesn't go up properly, causing you to hit your head as you put your groceries away. 6) The temperature control isn't accurate 7) It is very difficult to move the seats

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by Soccer Mom from FL on Wed Nov 26 2008

This car is great for a family on-the-go. Picking-up and dropping-off kids from home to school, soccer practice etc, baseball practice. Lots of storage space.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Still going strong after all these years

by Maureen from Delaware on Sat Jun 10 2017

I just sold this car after owning it 17 years. I will miss it'! We could always depend on it in any kind of weather. It would start up like it was new even if it sat in the driveway for days. I hope the new owners enjoy it as much as we did.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

FORGET THIS CAR !!

by Got rid of a headache from Philadelphia PA on Sun Mar 02 2008

I just traded this piece of junk for a new car - definitely NOT a Ford ! My windstar had 69K miles. The tie rods needed replaceing AGAIN, the intake manifold gasket was replaced, the MAF sensor died, the heater control box broke ( that alone was $1150 to fix) the rack and pinion was replaced and the trans was now in need of repair. This is when I gave up and bought a new car. Watch out because on some used car lot sits my old junk Windstar!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

One of the worst cars I have ever owned

by Car Guy from Muskegon, MI on Sat Apr 19 2008

I will NEVER EVER buy another Ford again. I hate it. when I bought the car it had 50,000 mi. on it 2,000mi. later I put $1,200, one year later i had to put another $2,000 into it. this is the third year with 70,000mi on it and it squeaks like crazy and i have to put another $1,000 into it. so lets see, 3 years 20,000mi and i have put $4,200 into this piece of garbage. NEVER BUY A FORD!!!!!!

2 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

I will never buy another Ford

by Converted to Toyota from Raleigh, NC on Tue Jun 27 2006

Ford almost got the Windstar right. It is a roomy, comfortable van with good performance. But then the repairs start. It also has Ford Quality - Fix Or Repair Daily. Quality is Job None. Let me start with what I like. The interior is unique and curvy. I got 21 mpg driving to work (but many Windstar's didn't). And 200hp is good enough for a mini-van. The Windstar is comfortable. Before the reliablity problems the Windstar was the traveling vehicle of choice. The rear captains chairs are much better than SUV or sedan seats. Its also good for fooling around, with the captain's chairs and the rear bench. (Why let the kids have all the fun?) But then the problems start. The clock-spring assembly breaks (you loose horn, airbags, cruise). The transaxle range sensor fails. The tie rods wear out. The hubcabs fall off. The van stalls several times a month and the dealer has no idea why. Then the transmission needs 2,000$ in work. Then the tranaxle range sensor needs replaced again. The engine needs 1200$ for a blown head gasket. The tranny needs another rebuild. The fuel gauge fails. Engine problems require 1000$ to sort out. The rear A/C blowns hot air all the time. The van still stalls once every two weeks. The repair bill for 5 years and 100K climbs to 8500$ dollars. Judging from the price of used Windstar's, everyone else knowns to stay away. I will never buy another Ford.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Fanily Car

by Windstar Owner from Westlake, Ohio on Tue Aug 21 2007

Love this car. Best Van for the time and best Ford ever, really comfotable and well layed out interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Has been my FAVORITE Family Car!!

by KKM from Ocean Pines, MD on Sat Apr 08 2017

Very well designed, and super comfortable for long road trips. Great looking car inside & out. And has been so easy to maintain.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4