2001 Windstar

Consumer Reviews

2001 Ford Windstar

2001 Ford Windstar

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

22 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Ford Windstar?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by the traveller from Montreal, Qc on Fri Mar 02 2007

We've bought this car in 2006 with 175000km on it - never had major problems with. We've crossed whole Canada with it, used it as a sort of camping car - perfect. Minor technical problems with the electric system(passenger door doesn't unlook, engine sign lights up thought Ford couldn't detect any problems) occured, but I think this couldn't be worth big complaints... It could be more economic, the 24 mpg were hard to manage on highway, also the interior could be more managable. Ford took care of that with the Freestar I've heard. Great car!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great van for the price!

by Minvan man from PA on Sun Nov 30 2008

I have driven many vans over the years and this one has the best bang for the buck. The engine has been strong and the tranny has never given me any problems. The key is to maintain them both with regular service schedules- Atleast in my case. The interior is awesome I have the SE model. Rear bucket seats, folding rear bench seat, adjustable height for the gas and brake pedals, it even has power rear windows -The list goes on and on. Very comfortable on long trips. All in all no complaints.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Happy With My Ford 2001 Windstar

by Ford Fan from Passaic, New Jersey on Tue Mar 08 2011

I am very happy with the the car I bought and would buy it again, I have had 5 Fords already and have been happy with all of them

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 Windstar SE Sport

by Family Man from Missouri on Fri Jun 23 2006

We bought this van in 2002 with 18,ooo miles on it. After almost four years of ownership, we now have about 68,000 miles on it. The only problems that we have had are minor - a couple of dashboard switch lights are out. The acceleration for a minivan is quite good. Gas mileage is about what the EPA ratings suggest: 18 city and 23 highway. I would say that my biggest complaint is excessive wind noise, otherwise the van has been close to perfect for us.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great family car

by Normv from Richmond on Fri Jul 13 2018

I bought it three years ago. Have made necessary repairs and kept all maintenance up to date. In May put new tires and front end alignment checked ac and now new battery.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by Practical Vehicles Rule from Jackson, MS on Mon Oct 25 2010

Bought it at 75,00 miles, It now has 178,000. Oil is changed every 3000, religiously. All it has ever needed was a new battery and some brake pads. I tow a trailer carrying a minitruck. Hwy gas mileage avg, 23mpg @ 72 mph. Arguably the most underrated vehicle out there.It does more than what it was designed for and then some!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very reliable until it hit 155,000

by M.Kubena from Washington, (Warren County) N.J. on Sat Sep 19 2015

Had very good luck with this car, until we hit 155,000 miles. All was routine maintenance, and I'm not really a car maintenance fanatic.One small speck of rust @168,000. But now passenger front door lock not working, sliding doors intermittent, O/D light comes on intermittently, needed to replace sensor on master cylinder (leaking), didn't see rust issues for recall issues. I would definitely buy one of these again. Popping out backseats allows 4'x8' sheets of plywood and sheetrock (extremely useful). Leather interior looks new.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The minivan that covered all the bases

by Family Man from Apalachin, NY on Sat Mar 21 2009

This was the most comfortable, powerful, versatile, and reliable minivan I ever owned! The entertainment and comfort features kept my wife and 3 kids entertained and comfortable on long car trips from NY to Florida. The anti locking brakes and traction control gave wonderful control through winding snow-covered mountain roads even before they had been plowed or sanded. I was amazed at how this car corrected all sorts of situations that could have sent normal cars out of control. It took away the anxieties I used to have when my wife drove out in the snow. The removeable rear seats gave wide open cargo area when I went to get building supplies at Lowes or Home Depot, and made moving a cinch. I was also impressed that the 3.8 liter engine and transmission gear design gave me power to quickly get around trucks or cars that often would frustrate me in the past... you know ... the kind who speed up when you are passing. The engine is powerful for a minivan, but the fuel efficiency is better than other minivans I owned with smaller engines. With leather steering wheel and seats ( with all the power adjustments), very cool (dual) air conditioning (and heat reflective tinted windows), and very smooth and quiet ride, it was the most comfortable minivan I ever owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A solid family vehicle.

by Midwest Driver from Overland Park, KS on Tue Jan 11 2011

The Windstar can be a solid and reliable vehicle, if you spend the money to properly maintain it (like most cars). Fuel filters, oil, radiator flush, brake pads and shoes, and most important being a routine transmission fluid flush and filter. My wife has driven ours since 2002, and the only major mechanical problems was several altenators, and the fuel pump went out at 105,000 miles. We plan on keep ours another year or so which would take it up to close to 150,000. With the 3.8 it is a bit under-powered, but is a comfortable vehicle especially on the highway.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

junk

by auto buff from Louisville, KY on Mon Nov 13 2006

The transmissions and electrical systems are terrible. Our 2001 just got a new transmission after only 80K miles. I also know 2 other owners that had the same transmissions replaced in about the same mileage.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2001 Ford Windstar

Minivans make sense. They did back in 1984 when Chrysler built the first one, and they still do today.

The trouble is, a lot of 30-year-olds gravitate to SUVs instead of minivans when vans would do a better job of carrying around their budding families. Maybe thatÕs because they grew up being chauffeured around in them, or maybe itÕs because they think of minivans as old folksÕvehicles, like station wagons were to us when we were kids.

Suffice it to say, minivans today are better than ever. Instead of driving like wobbly boxes, they are buttoned down, solid and as nicely equipped as any family sedan. Many, like the Windstar driven here, even come with a built-in video player... Read More