2016 Canyon

Consumer Reviews

2016 GMC Canyon

$20,650 - $36,494  MSRP Range
2016 GMC Canyon

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

46 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2016 GMC Canyon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 46 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Decent truck for the money

by JorgMcKie from Metro Detroit on Sun Nov 15 2015

Overall it's great. It is enough wider, longer, and higher off the ground than my old Chevy S-10 that it's not as convenient to use for small stuff. As an older guy with back problems I find it a bit high for ease of entry. I got a kind of basic contractor model --V-6, trailering pkg and not much else. The ride is comfortable even on long drives. Pretty quiet interior. Good gas mileage. The design for the radio is a bit off. Maybe because it's the base radio. The std power seat isn't as useful as it sounds. That detracts some from the comfort. The extended cab seats are pretty useless except for small children on short rides and don't really allow for storing useful items like a small tool set, a tow cable, jumper cables, or a first aid kit. And they don't come out. All things considered though, if you want a 'small' truck for light hauling duty but mostly for short driving it's ggod value for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Truck with compact car capabilities!

by Gear-Grinder retired!!! from Clearlake,Ca. on Mon May 08 2017

2016 Base 2.5L 4 cylinder, auto 6- speed trans. no frills extended cab, base truck( dont need leather heated seats) and liked the price of $26.5 out the door and its what I`ve been looking for, its bigger than small size pickup and a little smaller than the full size for a big man like my self 260 ibs. who drove big rigs trucks for many of years, fits just right and also in my garage, i really liked that you can have a mid size truck that looks like a full size truck and with a 4 cylinder motor which lags sometimes when the transmission cant find the right gear for the road, just keep your foot on the gas pedal and bank your $$$ in the bank! that you saved, It towed my 18.5 ft. 3500 ibs. boat locally, I recommend V6 ($1700 more?) for any kind of serious towing, overall i purchase a truck with a small car gas saving capabilities.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great small truck for that drives lik a family car

by VB Car Shopper from Florida on Sat May 27 2017

I've had my 2016 GMC Canyon for about 7 months and it has been a fantastic investment so far. This is the perfect small truck for someone that plans to drive it on a daily basis and still have it function for everyday needs. The V6 option puts out plenty of power for any weekend warrior while also providing a respectable MPG for those times gas prices get out of control. The styling is impeccable and the beautiful interiors makes you feel more like you are driving Lincoln or German Import than a GMC truck. The only reason this vehicle doesn't gain a 5 star rating is due to the lack of enthusiasm that most "truck guys" show towards it. If you are looking for a truck to slap a lift kit, tractor tires and Mossy Oak decals on to take to the mud pit on weekends keep looking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Mark of Excellence-2016 GMC Canyon

by Midsize Truck Fan from Illinois on Sat Sep 17 2016

I love this vehicle. It's everything I wanted in a truck (full or midsize). Very satisfied with my purchase and definitely would recommend this vehicle to others.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great buy

by Mrchen from Atlanta on Thu Mar 09 2017

I bought a leftover 2016 base model extendedcab for 20G Good looking good riding truck Very happy with this truck 20-27 mpg

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great truck for the money

by John G. from Warrenton, VA on Thu May 18 2017

The 2016 GMC Canyon is a nice, quiet running truck with good power for a V6 engine. The only negatives I can point to are small cup holders in the front, no storage spot for loose change, and the lack of a free navigation system with a maps. Otherwise, the truck is a fun to drive and a very comfortable ride. The truck gets adequate mileage per gallon of gas and takes hills with no problems. The turning radius is good and the truck is easy to steer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

3rd GMC I've owned

by bmaofmus from Muskogee OK on Thu Apr 20 2017

Exterior perfect , interior not so much , door pockets designed by idiots , buttons on underside of steering wheel too easy to bump when removing key from switch which turns on radio. otherwise the truck is a joy to drive .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best pickup I have ever owned!

by Farley from Eagle, Idaho on Tue May 09 2017

The Z71 all terrain package provides a softer ride as a daily driver. The bucket seats are comfortable even over long distances.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Mid size truck with big boy attitude.

by emilar on Mon Aug 13 2018

This truck acts like an SUV. Plenty of comfort, legroom, perks. The only thing missing is the tv for the backseat. It's size makes it easy to navigate around town and the all terrain feature I wouldn't give up for ten bigger trucks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Replacement for My 2001 Ford Sportrac

by CanyonFan from Wagener, SC on Wed Apr 05 2017

I love my new GMC Canyon SLT. All of the features on it are top notch and very user-friendly. My only suggestion to GMC engineers would be to incorporate the back up warning signal like many other GM products. (My Chevy Equinox has the system and it is really useful.)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2016 GMC Canyon

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2015 about the 2015 GMC Canyon. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2016, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

A decked-out 2015 GMC Canyon is by far the most luxurious and mild-mannered midsize truck in its class, and that upscale feeling doesn't come at the expense of payload and towing.

There's no denying the 2015 GMC Canyon is a game changer — mainly because the minimally changed Toyota Tacoma and Nissan Frontier have allowed the midsize truck segment to go stale over the past decade. The Canyon and its Chevrolet Colorado sibling offer modern technology worthy of... Read More