2018 Canyon

Consumer Reviews

2018 GMC Canyon

$21,100 - $43,600  MSRP Range
2018 GMC Canyon

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

45 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2018 GMC Canyon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A new lease on (GMC) life

by BibleBobK from Stratford, CT on Wed Jan 10 2018

I just turned in my 2015 GMC Canyon All-Terrain for a new 2018 same model. Everything is pretty much the same even though they do not have the new 2018 available in the Cardinal Red. Had to get the Red Tintcoat, close but no WEO (as the old saying went). Now GM only offers two instead of four oil changes and the power train warranty only goes to 60K, down from 100K. It is still a great truck. People in my over 55 condo development may like their Mercedes and Audis, but give me a GMC truck any day.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best truck i have ever driven

by tex from houma on Wed Mar 07 2018

outstanding value. great styling. great performance. pulls my 21 foot boat with ease. i was amazed of the quality of the SLT package. the leather feels awesome. the heated seat are fantastic. Bose system was amazing

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
0 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Had it for two months now

by Scott M from Ontario, Canada on Thu Mar 01 2018

Glad I chose this over the Tacoma. Canyon all terrain x is one gorgeous truck, ample power very comfortable. Too early to tell for Sure but no regrets thus far!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great truck

by Rust Daddy from Hutchinson, Ks on Fri Jan 19 2018

I've only driven the GMC about 600 miles. So far, very happy with my purchase. The only question is the comfort of the front seat. It is very firm and expect I will need to become accustom to the change. I wanted the smaller pickup for it's tow-ability behind my RV. It is also very capable of towing my boat. The impressive towing capacity was a big plus for the purchase . Seems very well built and appointed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The truck I had been looking for

by subverb from Panama City FL on Tue Jun 19 2018

Two weeks in, I am more than happy with my 2018 GMC Canyon. The 6-foot bed and extended cab are perfect for my needs, though even at midsize, the truck is a tad too long for my garage space. The styling and satin-steel finish are distinctively different. It is quieter than any truck I have driven or ridden in, and the 6-cylinder engine and 8-speed transmission are smoothly powerful. The interior has easy-to-use, convenient controls, and I love the GM "infotainment center" with a touch screen. It is a base model that could use a few more refined touches inside, such as an overhead console and a couple more cubbyholes. But even in the "work truck" trim, I get a rear-view camera, Bluetooth, USB and phone charger connections, trailer assist technology, and trip and maintenance information. I cannot honestly give 5 stars on reliability, at two weeks. But the truck seems solidly made so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hit over 33 MPG HWY!

by Tim on Tue May 15 2018

I am doing better than the EPA ratings! I average 27-33 mpg hwy with a gentle foot. I even hit over 33! I get compliments on my truck. The jump seats are handy with two teenagers. The cargo bed has ample space to haul things. The seats are adequate but not luxurious. But that is not the intent of the truck. It is a little slow starting off with the 2.5 gasoline 4-banger but I came from a van with a 3.3 6-banger. The tailgate is light to open and close, and the standard step in the back helps. Overall, I am very pleased!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I just bought it but, I LOVE it so far!!

by OrvilleT from Fayetteville, NC on Thu Jan 25 2018

Love it so far. Wish it had provision for built it Garage Door openers. Very peppy for a 6 cylinder. Love the styling and the looks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck inside and out.

by Nirm74 from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada on Sun May 27 2018

This truck meets all my needs and surpasses some of them. The comfort level inside this truck is way better than the comfort level that is in the Tacoma that we tested, the seats are adjustable we can move them up down. We towed my pop up camper and it did it with no issues. Did not even realize I was towing my camper either.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best big-small truck you can find!

by Tnipper07 from Georgia on Sat May 12 2018

I?ve owned a 2017 for over a year and I am thoroughly impressed by GMC. The truck is great for me, but lends a hand in traveling as we have much more cargo room than the wife?s Nissan Rogue. The seats are comfortable and firm, which is great for driving great lengths. I enjoy the apple CarPlay as it makes traveling through large cities a breeze. Onstar is also handy as well with the added WiFi feature and the convenience of remote start from the key fob is excellent on hot summer days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A very enjoy vehicle to drive

by OJ Dzia from St. Clairsville Ohio on Mon May 14 2018

I enjoy driving this truck, handling maneuverability and sense of safety are important with this truck all these are at your fingertips. The spacious interior makes adjustments a snap,

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5