2018 Canyon

Consumer Reviews

2018 GMC Canyon

$21,100 - $43,600  MSRP Range
2018 GMC Canyon

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

47 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 GMC Canyon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

best truck i have ever driven

by tex from houma on Wed Mar 07 2018

outstanding value. great styling. great performance. pulls my 21 foot boat with ease. i was amazed of the quality of the SLT package. the leather feels awesome. the heated seat are fantastic. Bose system was amazing

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Had it for two months now

by Scott M from Ontario, Canada on Thu Mar 01 2018

Glad I chose this over the Tacoma. Canyon all terrain x is one gorgeous truck, ample power very comfortable. Too early to tell for Sure but no regrets thus far!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The truck I had been looking for

by subverb from Panama City FL on Tue Jun 19 2018

Two weeks in, I am more than happy with my 2018 GMC Canyon. The 6-foot bed and extended cab are perfect for my needs, though even at midsize, the truck is a tad too long for my garage space. The styling and satin-steel finish are distinctively different. It is quieter than any truck I have driven or ridden in, and the 6-cylinder engine and 8-speed transmission are smoothly powerful. The interior has easy-to-use, convenient controls, and I love the GM "infotainment center" with a touch screen. It is a base model that could use a few more refined touches inside, such as an overhead console and a couple more cubbyholes. But even in the "work truck" trim, I get a rear-view camera, Bluetooth, USB and phone charger connections, trailer assist technology, and trip and maintenance information. I cannot honestly give 5 stars on reliability, at two weeks. But the truck seems solidly made so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great truck

by Rust Daddy from Hutchinson, Ks on Fri Jan 19 2018

I've only driven the GMC about 600 miles. So far, very happy with my purchase. The only question is the comfort of the front seat. It is very firm and expect I will need to become accustom to the change. I wanted the smaller pickup for it's tow-ability behind my RV. It is also very capable of towing my boat. The impressive towing capacity was a big plus for the purchase . Seems very well built and appointed.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hit over 33 MPG HWY!

by Tim on Tue May 15 2018

I am doing better than the EPA ratings! I average 27-33 mpg hwy with a gentle foot. I even hit over 33! I get compliments on my truck. The jump seats are handy with two teenagers. The cargo bed has ample space to haul things. The seats are adequate but not luxurious. But that is not the intent of the truck. It is a little slow starting off with the 2.5 gasoline 4-banger but I came from a van with a 3.3 6-banger. The tailgate is light to open and close, and the standard step in the back helps. Overall, I am very pleased!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BEST MID-SIZED TRUCK I'VE EVER OWNED

by Mig... from Fallbrook, CA on Mon Aug 20 2018

This GMC Denali longbed, crewcab, truck meets all my needs. I was surprised by how much leg room there was for the back seats. The turbo diesel/6 speed transmission is a great matchup. It accelerates well coming up an on ramp, getting to speed, making it easy to merge. I was worried about the black interior, but the air conditioned buckets took that worry away.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great truck! Lots of room!

by Canyon_owner on Wed Jun 06 2018

I researched several trucks and narrowed down to the Canyon after about a week or so. I continued to research and shop for the Canyon for an additional month before making a purchase. The overall price being advertised (rebates and incentives) combined with the features, safety ratings, and MPG vs those of other comparable trucks was much better. The crew cab V6 / SLE package met all of my needs, and MPG received after the first fill up was 21.5 (very satisfied).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best big-small truck you can find!

by Tnipper07 from Georgia on Sat May 12 2018

I?ve owned a 2017 for over a year and I am thoroughly impressed by GMC. The truck is great for me, but lends a hand in traveling as we have much more cargo room than the wife?s Nissan Rogue. The seats are comfortable and firm, which is great for driving great lengths. I enjoy the apple CarPlay as it makes traveling through large cities a breeze. Onstar is also handy as well with the added WiFi feature and the convenience of remote start from the key fob is excellent on hot summer days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable truck I have owned

by Bruce Graham from Vancouver, Washington on Wed Oct 17 2018

This midsize truck has plenty of horsepower, leg room,and is beautifully designed. It has all the comfort of it's big brother,just on a smaller scale.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luv my new canyon

by Plumber from High point NC on Mon Aug 06 2018

It rides and drives great. If u want a nice truck at a good price then check out the new canyons. Very smooth and a great ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5