2004 Envoy XUV

Consumer Reviews
2004 GMC Envoy XUV

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

17 Reviews
2004 GMC Envoy XUV
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
3.9 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 17 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

What is it?

by Family Man from Cincinnati,OH on October 24, 2009

I have owned my 2004 GMC Envoy XUV SLT since July 2005. I bought with 292 miles on it. It was purchased primarily because of price but I have enjoyed all the features that came with this vehicle.The cargo area has came in handy several times and has saved me money on deliverys as well. I love my heated leather seats and Bose stereo. So far the only problems I have had were fixed under the warranty.I know have 63000 miles and it is still in great shape.Overall if you need flexibility and dont require a third row seat the Envoy XUV is an option to look at.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Versatile vehicle

by pschwin from Indiana on March 22, 2011

I've owed 2 XUV's since they came out in 2004. Most versatile utility vehicle ever made. The roll back top comes in very handy for moving things like refrigerators. Good performance. Expect mpg to be only about 17.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for the Money

by 2playok from Richfield, WI on March 25, 2014

Owned this for 5 years and was a great investment. By far the best riding SUV in the market for it's time and even compared to the new ones out today. The ride and comfort is second to none if your looking for that. The wind noise could be a bit better, but would could you expect for a 2004 vehicle. The air ride suspension is a must, but expect for it to go between 100k-125K. The option of an enclosed truck back end has been awesome. Enclosed when you need it and open when you want it. Maintenance and reliability has been good for the most part. The air bag for the ride and a fuel tank has been the big costs. Beyond that it has been tires, fluids, and the standard maintenance. With 153K I'm sad to let it go. Gonna try my luck with a GL320. A few shortcomings, even with the 5.3L V-8 pulling a boat weighing in at 4K was a bit challenging evene though it is rated over 7K. Gas mileage could have been a bit better, ave 16 all around. Stereo and some other creature comforts could have been improved on if I were to pick. Compare what you get in this loaded to a F150 or Silverado and you are at least $10K less.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

XUV is a great choice

by pcs from Indianapolis, IN on December 13, 2010

I have owned an Envoy XUV since I bought it new in 2004. I have put over 145,000 miles on it. There's been a few issues. The speedometer goes wacky in the winter but not in the summer, registers 120 mph or so when it's cold. This is a problem with ALL XUV models so be aware that if you get one, it will probably do this for you. The tailgate latch sometimes sticks. Plenty of power. Gas mileage is typical for an suv, around 16 city, 18 highway. I recently totalled it and am replacing it with another XUV. I don't understand why GM stopped making this vehicle, but then again, I don't understand a lot of what they do. Overall, it is ideal for hauling and the versatility of the open back end allows you to be able to haul things you could never do with an SUV, like a refrigerator.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2004 GMC ENVOY XUV

by hdlyhel from Headingley, Manitoba on June 24, 2015

Purchased this vehicle new. It has been excellent. Have almost 100000 k. on it. Just regular maintenance. Like for flexibility to be used as a passenger vehicle, for hauling - like a truck, being able to close off mid gate from passenger. The rear gate opening in the middle or sideways is also convenient. It's great for travelling. If you get stuck and can't get hotel room - good for one night sleep. Have no regrets in purchasing this vehicle. Wish someone would make a similar new model vehicle with these features. Will be keeping mine, until it is a must to get rid of. LOVE MY XUV!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very practical truck.

by Fabster from New York ,NY on December 26, 2011

Tested many cars/trucks this was the most practical if you have kids. Great for all types of weather,snow,mud.....recomend it all the way.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Super Versatile and Stylish

by themagicalmason from hawthorne,ca on January 15, 2018

This is a very strong and versatile vehicle. Unique features and plenty of power with a smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Versatile

by JRS AWD ENVOY from WISCONSIN on July 12, 2017

This vehicle is extremely practical, can be used as a regular passenger vehicle, but can be converted into an open top hauler like a pick up in minutes. The vehicle is also AWD and is appointed nicely on the luxury and comfort side of things.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

more headaches than its worth

by amguy from ia on September 25, 2010

i have had many issues with this envoy, most electrical and rear gate involved. The mid gate window regulator and the rear window regulator both broke. the rear left hand latches have been replaced three times, and the two way hinge on the lower right side was broke in half on the cast-barrel. I took the old hinge that was broke and attempted to brake it again with a sledge and couldn't. the fan motor was replaced and is now broke again and the water pump has been replaced twice also. i put a lot of miles on but not enough to have these kinds of issues with this frequency. if buying one make sure you do not live or drive on gravel or dirt frequently as the door seals are worthless and i am told thats where a lot of my issues have stemmed from. a great buy if you live in the city. otherwise turn and walk away

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Have Ever Owned

by Anet from Kingston, TN on June 5, 2017

The xuv is just an awesome car, seats fold & roof retracts so you have a truck style. Comfort to the max, rides like a lux car and 4x4 just an added plus. Easy on fuel with the inline 6 vortec. Just an all round great car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2