Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2000 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2000 GMC Sierra 1500

$1,245 - $10,033  MSRP Range
2000 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

10 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

watch it rust

by 4-wd mac from Brown City MI on Sun Sep 20 2009

I am disappointed in that this vechicle rusted through after about 6 years. The rocker panels go even with frequent washings. Also the gas tank straps rotted off causing the tank to hit the ground, fortunatly I was travelling at about ten miles per hour when this happened. Contacted GMC about this issue, And after much run around they told me that the vehicle had to many miles on it to do anything about it. The truck had 117,000 on it when this occured. I would have thought this would have been a safety recall. Watch out for the poorly designed tank straps, it will cost about three hundred dollars to fix this. Typical GM gas tank sensor failure also, another 700 dollars. And v8 lifter ticking

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Satisfied Customer

by pick-up truck from Mishicot, Wisconsin on Fri Oct 04 2013

Was not pressured. Got a good truck at a fair price. Made sure truck was completely in A-1 shape before he would sell.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck, most reliable truck I have ever owned

by Bo from Vinemont, Al. on Sun Aug 26 2012

The most trouble free truck I have ever owned Most reliable truck I have ever owned including four previos NEW trucks Would buy same truck if I could tdo it again

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It works

by Orygun from Kennewick, WA on Tue Dec 14 2010

My 4WD GMC has been reliable in the 130k and 11 years that I've owned it. Little things have gone wrong, but Ive never needed to stick my thumb out. The $WD selector (Lucas:), rubber seal around back door window has slipped out of place giving a little wind noise in an otherwise quiet cabin, and a fuel regulator gave up. Not much considering the utility Ive recieved. The Auto 4WD system is effective, useful if there are drivers not used to quirks of 4WD. Mileage could be better, 16mpg generally, but it is a full size pickup that is quite capable of pulling a 7000# trailer. Trade-offs

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my truck

by robi8 from north adams ma. on Mon Feb 28 2011

was looking for a work truck under 10,000. tried all makes and models. found a 2000 siarra loaded for 8,000. got it in oct. extreamly happy. would have paid 12,000 no problem

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2000 GMC Sierra

by Ken R. from Wyoming, Michigan on Thu Nov 15 2018

Good reliable vehicle for getting back and forth to work and handles like a dream, ride a like a Cadillac, Towing is not a problem, and the 4-wheel drive comes in handy

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable gas truck out there

by Teeg_5.9l from Frederick, CO on Sun Nov 04 2018

I've owned my truck for the past 5 years it's got 87,000 miles on it. The truck has never let me down it start up and goes everyday everytime I start and drive it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Gmcchick from Dallas, tx on Mon Jun 18 2018

Best vehicle I've owned my entire life and it's great for everything. Would recommend it to everyone I know by far. I love it to the death of me

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Most reliable truck I've had

by Breanna from Benton harbor, Michigan on Mon Jun 26 2017

I like my truck, it gets me to where I need to go. Seats 4 people plus the driver. Has brand new rear brakes and a brand new pioneer radio with Bluetooth. Overall good truck! Just looking for something newer.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good truck

by Sports fan from Azle tx on Tue May 09 2017

I think that this is a very good vehicle. It's a very nice truck and I would not be getting rid of it if I wasn't in a financial bind. Very kept up

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1