2002 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2002 GMC Sierra 1500

$1,676 - $11,908  MSRP Range
2002 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

21 Reviews
90% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Terebo "GM Excellence" from norwcih,ny on Sun Aug 02 2009

GM really knew what they were doing when these trucks were built. The body style is attractive, extremely reliable, and very roomy even for a regular cab. The 5.3l engine is very strong. I can see myself putting 300,000 miles on the truck no problem! Thanks again GM for hanging in their and building these amazing trucks!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good work horse with a comfortable ride

by hoarder from westland mi on Mon Mar 01 2010

has performed everything i've asked it to do. wish the milage was a little better but 17 mpg at 80 isn't bad. around town i can get 425 miles out of a tank.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NO Problem

by American Soldier from on Wed Sep 09 2009

I have always owned a 2500 or bigger, but I give it up to the 1500's as well. I have not had a single problem with this truck and I tow and put it trough rough paces often. I am glad to read the mileage people are getting out of these good ol american trucks. Inside and out it has style and it continues to show me it was worth my purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2002 GMC Seria

by Needed a new truck from South Bend In on Mon Apr 04 2011

The 2002 GMC Siera used truck was a good buy for the price I paid. There uas little I had to do to it after the dealer made a few repairs. I have had somme problems with the check engine light comming on ,so that is somthing I need to look at. The Ride is good for a truck and the seats are good for the trim level SLE. Of course with a used vehical there is a look of little things that need attetion . The power windows motor will need replaces along with the power review meaors (aperantly they had been broke early and are taped in to place). The tailgate latch will need to be cleaned and relubericated due to it not fully locking when open. I had to replace the interdome light bulb. While using this past few monthes the driver side rear door open latch broke so it also needs to be repaired.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck Ive Ever Own

by Nik from Plano, Texas on Wed Feb 28 2007

I love this truck! Its comfy, stylish and never let me down. It now has just over 130,000 miles on it and its still running awesome. I haul horses a couple times a month, and have never felt bogged down or as if I'm lacking power for the haul, unlike other trucks I've hauled with. Gas mileage isn't too great, but any vehicle this size isn't. I love this truck, looks great and runs great, def professional grade!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Car Crazy Guy from GA on Fri Oct 19 2007

this is a great truck that i personally love. i have had it for a while and havent had a problem with it. it performs well. it handles ok but after all this is still a truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

From a Lady's Point of View -- Head over Heels!!

by LoveMyGMC from Lorain, OH on Tue Oct 01 2013

I am a 4'11" pregnant woman (currently in my 3rd trimester). I purchased my truck from my Aunt when my Uncle (always took very good care of his vehicles) passed away a cpl yrs ago. Not only does the fact that he owned it (he was never a person to jump into anything without researching intensely) but this has by far has been one of the best vehicles I have owned (My Dad & step-Dad were both mechanics....us girls got to own a LOT of cars growing up - ford, chevy, bmw, cadi, gmc - ....one of the perks)! Though in my condition right now, it's not very easy to get in or out of, I have no concern of driving this winter with my newborn buckled in it!! I look forward to purchasing another when it comes time to retire this beaut......which will probably be MANY years down the road considering the durability of its frame & engine. First truck.....first love!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

not worth it

by why by new from on Fri Dec 17 2010

the trcuk is nice overall but as it sits book value on this truck is 13,000 so this is over priced by 1600 dollars but overall nice truck

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

loved the truck BUT

by Cheryl from McConnells, SC on Sat Feb 24 2007

Transmission went out at 49,000 ordinary miles. Probably will buy Toyota next. There is no excuse for that kind of warranty issue for those miles. no wonder gmc is biting the dust.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

6 months search worth the wait.

by Acadianlion from Morrill, Maine on Mon May 22 2017

Downsizing to one vehicle meant a truck. A long search out of state. Perfect choice but hard to find. Most trucks of this age are long rusted to pieces due to the brine the state sprays on ice in winter. This truck, a loaded example, is virtually rust free as it has never been exposed to our environment. It was well treated by the previous owner. The 5.3L V8 is excellent for moving this truck at really good fuel mileage in our normal use. I expect five or six years of service from this GMC and believe I may well get many more than that. Highly recommended.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2002 GMC Sierra 1500

There's no argument: The most popular vehicle in America is the pickup truck. The perennial top seller is the Ford F-150, followed by the Chevrolet Silverado. But driving trucks has drawbacks, not the least of which is the fact that they are long and not particularly easy to maneuver.

New technology is changing that. Like a lot of new technology, it's expensive, but how much would it be worth to you to make an extended-cab pickup, with an overall length of 227.7 inches, turn in the same space required by a Saturn sedan, which is just 178.1 inches long?

That's exactly what Delphi Corp.'s Quadrasteer does for the 2002 GMC Sierra Denali pickup. The Denali, probably the most deluxe pickup truck available... Read More