2005 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2005 GMC Sierra 1500

$2,785 - $15,873  MSRP Range
2005 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

32 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck

by Tony from tempe, az on Sun Jan 11 2009

Bought this 4x4, 1500, regular cab,off the lot. Has the 5.3 v-8, engine, with plenty of power and gets decent gas mileage. The inside cab is a little tight, not much room. The ride is great, and the style is fantastic. Best truck, around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You Get Your Money's Worth

by larry from Fallbrook Ca. on Mon Dec 22 2008

Bought this truck used 3 months ago, and do not have one complaint. Handles will and has the power i need to get past slower traffic. Real tight, frame and body, looks great. This is a fun truck to drive. Best one I have owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't beat it

by FitDoc from Dayton, OH on Sat Jan 03 2009

Bought 1500 Sierra extended cab new with the employee pricing offered at that time. Got all the bells and whistles and have not been disappointed. Best ride I've had in a truck, all the features have been better than expected, appearance is good, and even loaded the price was better than competitors. First problem just appeared at about 36K miles with a bad fan blower motor noticed as defrost failed. Worst things I could note would be minor rust along bottom edge of extended cab doors and some "uneven shifting". Very happy overall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hopeful

by Satisfied for now from Utica, New York on Sat Apr 14 2012

GMC tends to keep its value more than many other trucks in its class. I owned this same vehicle previously and it made a believer out of me then, so I had to own one again and hope that I'm as fortunate once again. God willing !!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I've owned

by Chuck Long from Fresno CA on Tue Jun 26 2018

This is the 2nd crew cab I've owned. Interior is spacious and comfortable. Gets good gas mileage for a truck it's size. Very reliable and plenty of power. Easy to maintain and work on, if needed, plus parts are readily available. It's no wonder these trucks are a blast to own and fun to customize. These trucks have come a long way from the old days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Slp00bluess from Michigan on Wed Jul 31 2013

This truck is everyhing I could want ina good used rig! I would recomend this vehicle to everyone!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable as it gets.

by dacannon from Ball, Louisiana on Mon May 08 2017

Absolutely love all the vehicle u get for the price. Excellent power, unlmited accessories and modifications at reasonab pricing. Just a great all around buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My 1st Truck and My Last Truck

by 2K5_SierraB4V on Fri Jan 19 2018

I enjoy my truck, but I wish it got better MPG like my old 1992 Toyota Corolla. I just hit 90K miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Diesel Powered

by Distillate from St. Louis, MO on Fri Oct 12 2007

2500HD W/T 4WD with the Duramax Diesel and the 6-speed (ZF-6) Manual transmission. I have owned this truck since Dec. 2004. 50,800mi on it. It has been very reliable. Engine runs strong and is quiet for a diesel. Transmission is car like, but you know it is HD. Ride is smooth for a 3/4 ton truck. "Fit and finish" of truck is a 3.5 out of 5, but has held togeather. Tows very well. Truck gets +/-22.5 mpg with 25% city driving (hand cal. - empty - keeping speed under 65mph). I would recomend the HD line of Pick-Up's with the Duramax (Auto. or Man. transmissions) to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable Rugged and Ready

by Charles from San Antonio on Mon Apr 16 2018

I will only drive GM trucks after having such an awesome experience with my 05 Sierra. It does everything I need and more. I highly recommend these over all other full size brands.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2005 GMC Sierra 1500


If GMC is going to expand the premium Denali brand to its Sierra pickup, why is the company being so stingy with the truly advanced equipment it has developed? Is GMC afraid of the dreaded $50,000 price point for half-ton pickups? Or is the truckmaker saving a little something special for 2006 when the Sierra Denali will be going heads up with the new Lincoln Mark LT? It’s not like GMC can’t afford to splurge now.

GMC Sierra sales for 2004 were up almost nine percent over the previous year, according to data from Automotive News. (All GMC was up 3.2 percent while all General Motors was down 1.2 percent.) Chevy Silverado and Dodge Ram sales were down while Ford posted a record year with... Read More