2005 Sierra 1500

Consumer Reviews

2005 GMC Sierra 1500

$3,905 - $15,761  MSRP Range
2005 GMC Sierra 1500

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

28 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 GMC Sierra 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Once you go truck...

by Kevin Truck from South Bend, IN on Fri Oct 21 2011

I purchased the black 2005 GMC Sierra 1500 Denali. This review is based on about six months of ownership. I used to have a red 2001 Chevy Silverado LT. I wanted to get all the options on the Chevy, plus more. The Denali is loaded with all kinds of goodies: heated, leather seats, sunroof, power retractable side rear view mirrors, etc. The leather seats become uncomfortable after awhile. The black finish is difficult to keep clean and it doesn't look particularly good in bright sunlight, but it's super cool otherwise, especially at night. Radio controls on the steering wheel are really nice, DVD player, 6 CD player plus a single CD player offers playing time during long voyages. I still haven't got used to the climate control. I wish they hadn't "improved" it. The FM radio brings in all kinds of stations. It gets decent mileage for a truck (the gas mileage calculator says I average about 14.5) and runs good, although a little rough. The all-wheel-drive transmission is smooth, but I'm waiting to see how it handles a northern Indiana winter. I haven't seen any other truck like it in my area, much better than the equivalent Dodge, Ford, Toyota, Nissan, or Honda. It's equipped with OnStar and satellite radio, but I don't have those options activated.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck

by Tony from tempe, az on Sun Jan 11 2009

Bought this 4x4, 1500, regular cab,off the lot. Has the 5.3 v-8, engine, with plenty of power and gets decent gas mileage. The inside cab is a little tight, not much room. The ride is great, and the style is fantastic. Best truck, around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

HD version is ideal family/work hauler

by Contractor in TX from San Antonio, TX on Tue Dec 11 2012

This truck handles everything I've thrown at it. Haul a ton and a half of sand, concrete, and bricks? No problem. Pull a skip loader while hauling that load? Sure. The 1500HD has a strong 6.0 V8 and stiff suspension along with a 4.10 rear end that isn't great on gas, but huge on payload. The crew cab I bought has plenty of room for five, with a sixth seat up front that I've used only once (when I was in a bind). I love that it has a full 6.5' bed as well even with the crew cab. Interior is pretty standard GM truck, and the ride is bumpy when the back is empty. It rides much smoother with 1000 pounds of stuff in the back. If you need to move lots of stuff or just want something a little bigger than a standard half ton, I highly recommend the HD.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hopeful

by Satisfied for now from Utica, New York on Sat Apr 14 2012

GMC tends to keep its value more than many other trucks in its class. I owned this same vehicle previously and it made a believer out of me then, so I had to own one again and hope that I'm as fortunate once again. God willing !!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Can't beat it

by FitDoc from Dayton, OH on Sat Jan 03 2009

Bought 1500 Sierra extended cab new with the employee pricing offered at that time. Got all the bells and whistles and have not been disappointed. Best ride I've had in a truck, all the features have been better than expected, appearance is good, and even loaded the price was better than competitors. First problem just appeared at about 36K miles with a bad fan blower motor noticed as defrost failed. Worst things I could note would be minor rust along bottom edge of extended cab doors and some "uneven shifting". Very happy overall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

You Get Your Money's Worth

by larry from Fallbrook Ca. on Mon Dec 22 2008

Bought this truck used 3 months ago, and do not have one complaint. Handles will and has the power i need to get past slower traffic. Real tight, frame and body, looks great. This is a fun truck to drive. Best one I have owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!

by Slp00bluess from Michigan on Wed Jul 31 2013

This truck is everyhing I could want ina good used rig! I would recomend this vehicle to everyone!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Diesel Powered

by Distillate from St. Louis, MO on Fri Oct 12 2007

2500HD W/T 4WD with the Duramax Diesel and the 6-speed (ZF-6) Manual transmission. I have owned this truck since Dec. 2004. 50,800mi on it. It has been very reliable. Engine runs strong and is quiet for a diesel. Transmission is car like, but you know it is HD. Ride is smooth for a 3/4 ton truck. "Fit and finish" of truck is a 3.5 out of 5, but has held togeather. Tows very well. Truck gets +/-22.5 mpg with 25% city driving (hand cal. - empty - keeping speed under 65mph). I would recomend the HD line of Pick-Up's with the Duramax (Auto. or Man. transmissions) to anyone!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Dependable as it gets.

by dacannon from Ball, Louisiana on Mon May 08 2017

Absolutely love all the vehicle u get for the price. Excellent power, unlmited accessories and modifications at reasonab pricing. Just a great all around buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

If they could only improve mpg - sierra 1500 crew

by jkhadley289 from Memphis, TN on Mon Nov 28 2011

I owned my 2005 GMC Sierra Crew for about 18 months and really didn't want to get rid of it, but it was just too much every time I hit the gas pump. Everything was very well put together, the truck would pull anything and everything I needed to pull, the ride was comfortable and it was overall a great truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2005 GMC Sierra 1500


If GMC is going to expand the premium Denali brand to its Sierra pickup, why is the company being so stingy with the truly advanced equipment it has developed? Is GMC afraid of the dreaded $50,000 price point for half-ton pickups? Or is the truckmaker saving a little something special for 2006 when the Sierra Denali will be going heads up with the new Lincoln Mark LT? It's not like GMC can't afford to splurge now.

GMC Sierra sales for 2004 were up almost nine percent over the previous year, according to data from Automotive News. (All GMC was up 3.2 percent while all General Motors was down 1.2 percent.) Chevy Silverado and Dodge Ram sales were down while Ford posted a record year with the F-Series line... Read More