2017 Sierra 2500

Consumer Reviews

2017 GMC Sierra 2500

$24,409 - $69,264  MSRP Range
2017 GMC Sierra 2500

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

16 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 GMC Sierra 2500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Very good for work and pleasure.

by The GM from Toronto Canada on Mon Oct 16 2017

Out of all the other pick up trucks I have driven this one is the most comfortable. The outside starting of the vehicles very sharp, I get many comments at stoplights about how good the truck looks.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best option for a truck on the market today.

by Phil from Medina, Ohio on Tue May 16 2017

I am completely amazed with what this truck offers and what it can do. I have always been a Ford truck person, but they lost me with the F150 ecoboost problems (engine misfire due to condensate built up in the intercooler, and cold start rattles which indicated the cam phasers had failed), and the 2017 Super Duty (the overall height will not fit in a standard garage opening). This GMC also had more power than the 2017 Super Duty and was vastly more enjoyable to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE my GMC Sierra 2500HD Denali!!

by Denali Lover from Farmington, NM on Wed Dec 20 2017

This truck is heavy duty with a Duramax diesel engine and Allison transmission. It is very comfortable to drive and ride in as well as has many amenities - even a 110 AC outlet for my laptop! I would highly recommend, 10 stars!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

it's what i wanted and needed

by john b. from HAMBURG on Mon Nov 13 2017

has the power and room i need to haul and general use around home and business. has the power and room to get the job done. gas burner no need to worry about d.e.f . researched engine reliability and found out it is rated at the top for reliability. i also had friends to back that up. good price and good truck !

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

only owned about three weeks

by JL selfemployed from Manheim pa. on Tue May 09 2017

bought it new like the towing and hauling capacity.the fuel miles are not that great i hope that gets better.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Poor engineering

by ScottK from Milton, Vermont on Wed May 24 2017

I have a 2017 GMC 2500 with the new Duramax Diesel and Allison transmission. I have 1000 miles on it as of today. I traded a 2013 model with the same setup. The new truck is no comparison to the 2013. Here is why. The shift in the new truck has at times a harsh shift from 1st to 2nd. It stays in third and fourth gear to long. While traveling in these gears, you get a jerking motion as you step and let up on the accelerator pedal. It feels like there is a brake on constantly. There is a lot of slop in the drive train so you feel every movement of your foot on the pedal in the truck. It doesn't go out of 4 th gear until almost 50 mph. The rpms are high in both gears which will affect your mileage. Also, when its dark out side and you want back up either solo or towing the (what they call the infotainment center) lights so bright you can't see out you mirrors. It lights up the interior so bright everyone has to squint there eyes. GM never put a override so you can't adjust the light intensity. The only way to see is to through something over the monitor. GM says there is no fix. I have been a GM owner since 1966 and it looks like I hate to say time to look at Ford. My friend has a F-450 and I'm embarrassed to take him for a ride.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Could be the most reliable car I owned

by Ftblcoach for WHS!!!!!! from Fremont, Calif. on Tue Sep 12 2017

Car had all the room I needed. Looks like the seats were comfortable the and driving room was excellent! Looks like it has the same room as the truck I own and with that I really am impressed.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 GMC 2500HD Duramax

by Anna from Robins, Iowa on Mon Jul 30 2018

We just purchased the vehicle(used). So far, we are very pleased. It is nice to look at, inside and out. Mechanically, it runs real nice. Has quite a pick-up when you hit the gas. Mileage is awesome for a truck this size, @20 mph on the highway without towing. It has been quite a few years since we have looked at diesels and I have to say it looks like some of the typical diesel quirks I remember have been worked out.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not bad

by AWESOME from south dakota on Tue Jan 23 2018

Needs a straight axle in front for me to be considered reliable in all conditions. Independent front suspension is to weak for any real work of paved roads. Otherwise I really like it and will probably buy another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

dependable

by joekoz01 from carmichaels,pa on Thu Sep 21 2017

test drove both the 6.0 and the 6.6 diesel, and the diesel won hands down in performance and fuel economy. very impressive, I would recommend the diesel over the gas, very quiet running

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2