2002 Gmc Sonoma
1-8 of 8 reviews
Test drive review

No frills luxury

by from St. Cloud, MN on September 1, 2011

In 2WD it rides like a luxury car. In 4WD it slices through 10 inch snow covered roads while other vehicles get stuck. The only drawback is the short pickup bed.
In 2WD it rides like a luxury car. In 4WD it slices through 10 inch snow covered roads while other vehicles get stuck. The only drawback is the short pickup bed.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Best Small Truck for the Buck$

by from DFW, Texas on February 15, 2013

I've owned other small trucks and the Sonoma out performed them all. The 4.3 V6 gives plenty of power and torque. Hauls heavy loads and can pull 2900 on the bumper hitch or 5000 with an equaizer hitch...
I've owned other small trucks and the Sonoma out performed them all. The 4.3 V6 gives plenty of power and torque. Hauls heavy loads and can pull 2900 on the bumper hitch or 5000 with an equaizer hitch. If you buy one with the ZQ8 factory suspension package, it will be fun to drive when empty, with a 2" lower stance, improved handling and minimum body roll. It's very reliable and on the rare occasion it needs repair, the parts are inexpensive and easy to find. The interior controls are well placed, with no hiiden or hard to reach buttons. Seats are comfortable,even on long trips. I recommend the extended cab model. better seating adjustments and you have room to keep items out of view behind the seats.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Good reliable truck

by from on September 10, 2010

good performance & maintenance history. Roomy interior; good instrument panel; good manners in snow with 4WD.
good performance & maintenance history. Roomy interior; good instrument panel; good manners in snow with 4WD.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Does recommend this car

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

no problems in 65000 miles

by from Ville Platte Louisiana on December 3, 2009

I have not had anything beside normal maintence in over 65000 miles.17-20 MPG tires lasted 62000 miles.
I have not had anything beside normal maintence in over 65000 miles.17-20 MPG tires lasted 62000 miles.
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Best truck I've ever had

by from CA on April 4, 2013

Super reliable. 165,0000 miles and running like a champ. All it wants is oil changes and gas. My next truck will be a gmc. I highly recommend this truck.
Super reliable. 165,0000 miles and running like a champ. All it wants is oil changes and gas. My next truck will be a gmc. I highly recommend this truck.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

2002 GMC Sonoma

by from Mantua, NJ on April 9, 2010

this is a 4 door 4 wheel drive that performs well in snow and rain Gas is about 16 MPG and is a 6 clyinder my son has no problem handling it in all weather and he is a 1st year driver
this is a 4 door 4 wheel drive that performs well in snow and rain Gas is about 16 MPG and is a 6 clyinder my son has no problem handling it in all weather and he is a 1st year driver
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Love those 4.3 engines

by from missouri on January 6, 2007

This is my 7th gm vehicle with only minor mechanicals if any. High on torque, very strong, 20mpg highway, cruise all day at 75...I'm high on these engines,
This is my 7th gm vehicle with only minor mechanicals if any. High on torque, very strong, 20mpg highway, cruise all day at 75...I'm high on these engines,
Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Does recommend this car

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
Test drive review

Great on gas

by from New York on June 28, 2017

It's a solid daily driver for anyone on a tight budget. It's not a real show stopper, but it gets me from point A to point B. The fuel economy on the 2.2l 4 cylinder is great, but the power is non-ex...
It's a solid daily driver for anyone on a tight budget. It's not a real show stopper, but it gets me from point A to point B. The fuel economy on the 2.2l 4 cylinder is great, but the power is non-existent. Having the 4x2 model the rear end can get really squirrelly in the snow. Putting on a good set of winter tires and weight in the bed helps remedy tatt nicely. It's a relatively cheap truck to fix as long as you are up to date with maintenance. The downside is replacing the fuel pump can be a real hassle due to rust. Rust on the body of these trucks is inevitable (especially on the wheel arches) and probably impossible to stop. Overall the GMC Sonoma is dependable, solid, and a fuel efficient truck.
Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car

0 out of 0 people found this review helpful. Did you?
See Model Details

Similar Models

Select up to three models to compare with the 2002 gmc sonoma