2017 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2017 GMC Terrain

$14,225 - $25,785  MSRP Range
2017 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

130 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, Roomy, efficient and comfortable !!

by jfergusfl from Lutz, FL on Sun Mar 26 2017

The terrain is an excellent vehicle, comfortable and roomy, plenty of room inside for all the errands around town, more than enough space for luggage and stuff for road trips, great fuel economy and looks great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

42 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Family Vehicle

by Amiee from Lansing, MI on Tue Mar 21 2017

This is a nice family vehicle for when living in Michigan where you never might know the weather. It has good gas mileage and AWD -- a nice combo to safety and savings.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Also great in the snow

by Rsmith on Thu Feb 01 2018

This vehicle drives awesome and the feature a great as well! There is also plenty of room and a great family vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Family Vehicle

by Cartero on Thu Feb 08 2018

This vehicle is perfect for our family of 4. The features are modern and the vehicle rides smooth. Although it is a smaller SUV, it is very roomy inside.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This has a comfortable ride and roomy SUV

by TracyH from Harpswell on Thu Mar 30 2017

Love my new Terrain! Spacious interior and so comfy I feel like I am in a luxury vehicle. I tried a couple of different SUV and this one was it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

First SUV I've owned

by Trish from Lancaster, TX on Fri Dec 01 2017

Just bought the Terrain. We really like the Terrain's comfort. We are in our late 50's so it is easy to get in and out of the vehicle. One of us is 6'4" and there is plenty of knee room in the front and back seats. Our son a certified GMC technician says they rarely see problems with the Terrain and that was a factor in our buying one plus we always buy GMC.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, great ride!

by tonyayfree from Waterford on Mon Apr 10 2017

Love this car! I was ready for something new and fun and this is it. The car has all of the latest features and technology. Roomy and comfort was at the top of my list and I got both along with style. I glad I choose the Terrain...it is just the right size, not too big and not too small.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 terrain

by Catterrain from Bryan on Wed Apr 12 2017

Love love love I have never enjoyed a car more. Can't wait to drive it on the highwway. It is the perfect family vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Annoying noise from plastic rear bumper on highway

by Retirement Purchaser from Memphis, Tn on Wed Nov 07 2018

Wish more attention was given to comfort of cooling and heating rear passenger seating. No rear vents in back at all. This was overlooked during my purchased but became very apparent when I was a back set rider during a hot summer day being transported home from surgery.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I wanted a SUV with all the features I need.

by Kathy & Chris from Avalon NJ on Thu Mar 21 2019

I like the way I feel while driving it. I used to own a Chevrolet Avalanche, I wanted an SUV, but I wanted a sturdy vehicle with the name recognition of GMC. I got comfort and features far above what I had been used to.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13

Our Take on the 2017 GMC Terrain

The verdict:


Despite a supposed update for 2016, this year's GMC Terrain compact SUV hasn't caught up with the competition.

Versus the competition:


A compact SUV that could almost be considered a midsize, the Terrain pays off with a large cargo area and a roomy backseat, but most competitors simply get up and go more quickly and are easier to park when you're done.

Editor’s note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 GMC Terrain, but little of substance has changed. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. The Terrain was redesigned for the 2018 model year, and you can read our First Drive here.

It’s also fallen behind the class with a multimedia setup that had me relying on my phone more than I should in a $40,000-plus SUV. And its safety options aren’t as advanced as others in the class.

Exterior & Styling

The Terrain is related to the Chevrolet Equinox, but where the Chevrolet has more curves and angles, the Terrain is much blockier. It’s a... Read More