2017 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2017 GMC Terrain

$16,062 - $36,237  MSRP Range
2017 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

82 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 82 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, Roomy, efficient and comfortable !!

by jfergusfl from Lutz, FL on Sun Mar 26 2017

The terrain is an excellent vehicle, comfortable and roomy, plenty of room inside for all the errands around town, more than enough space for luggage and stuff for road trips, great fuel economy and looks great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Family Vehicle

by Amiee from Lansing, MI on Tue Mar 21 2017

This is a nice family vehicle for when living in Michigan where you never might know the weather. It has good gas mileage and AWD -- a nice combo to safety and savings.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Christina D from Hanna, Wyoming on Tue Mar 28 2017

I am in love with this car. It has plenty of room for me and my husband and two big dogs! It's very comfy for a long trip!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving my new Terrain

by SherrysTerrain from Whitefish ont on Sat Dec 09 2017

I love my new Terrain , I love all the features it comes with and I love the Color I chose plus the gas mileage is fabulous and it has a rockin stereo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving my new Terrain

by SherrysTerrain from Whitefish ont on Sat Dec 09 2017

I love my new Terrain , I love all the features it comes with and I love the Color I chose plus the gas mileage is fabulous and it has a rockin stereo.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Family Vehicle

by Cartero on Thu Feb 08 2018

This vehicle is perfect for our family of 4. The features are modern and the vehicle rides smooth. Although it is a smaller SUV, it is very roomy inside.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This has a comfortable ride and roomy SUV

by TracyH from Harpswell on Thu Mar 30 2017

Love my new Terrain! Spacious interior and so comfy I feel like I am in a luxury vehicle. I tried a couple of different SUV and this one was it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car, great ride!

by tonyayfree from Waterford on Mon Apr 10 2017

Love this car! I was ready for something new and fun and this is it. The car has all of the latest features and technology. Roomy and comfort was at the top of my list and I got both along with style. I glad I choose the Terrain...it is just the right size, not too big and not too small.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Also great in the snow

by Rsmith on Thu Feb 01 2018

This vehicle drives awesome and the feature a great as well! There is also plenty of room and a great family vehicle!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2017 terrain

by Catterrain from Bryan on Wed Apr 12 2017

Love love love I have never enjoyed a car more. Can't wait to drive it on the highwway. It is the perfect family vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2017 GMC Terrain

The verdict:

Despite a supposed update for 2016, this year's GMC Terrain compact SUV hasn't caught up with the competition.

Versus the competition:

A compact SUV that could almost be considered a midsize, the Terrain pays off with a large cargo area and a roomy backseat, but most competitors simply get up and go more quickly and are easier to park when you're done.

Editor's note: This review was written in June 2016 about the 2016 GMC Terrain, but little of substance has changed. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. The Terrain was redesigned for the 2018 model year, and you can read our First Drive here.

It's also fallen behind the class with a multimedia setup that had me relying on my phone more than I should in a $40,000-plus SUV. And its safety options aren't as advanced as others in the class.

Exterior & Styling

The Terrain is related to the Chevrolet Equinox, but where the Chevrolet has more curves and angles, the Terrain is much blockier. It's a good... Read More