2018 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2018 GMC Terrain

$16,888 - $29,832  MSRP Range
2018 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

255 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 255 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Sporty. Fun to drive. Excellent on gas... chick ma

by Dannyboy from Michigan on Sun Jan 21 2018

Plenty of leg room... spacious for golf clubs And other large sports equipment...quick smooth ride and handles the snowy roads well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Absolutely do not like the auto/stop feature.

by Skinner70 from Perrysburg oh on Thu Jun 13 2019

Auto stop feature needs to be disabled. My car rolled backwards when accelerated from a stop. Does not give a smooth start up. Passengers think that my car stalls all the time. Will this also have me purchase numerous starters?

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

LEAVES ME STRANDED

by Tarheelcat24 from Virginia Beach, Virginia on Mon Oct 14 2019

This past Saturday, 10/12/19, my 2018 (less than 25,000 miles) left me stranded. Once again, trouble with going into gear. I am driving on the highway, it starts revving, and won't move. I managed to get off of the highway and into a parking lot, thank goodness. Then it wouldn't go into any gear at all - message on dashboard said "conditions not good for changing gears." (Or something to that effect.) This shouldn't be the case for a 2 year old automobile with less than 25,000 miles. Pretty sure I am stuck with a lemon.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

TERRIBLE! Rust, electrical failure, etc w/in 2 yrs

by Reka from Canada on Tue Mar 24 2020

Got a lemon. It had rust within 1 year of driving it, which needed to be repaired over wheel wells (probably elsewhere too but I just can't see it). Has a serious electrical issue that power cuts to vehicle completely for a second or two when trying to come out of autostop and then several error messages regarding steering, brakes, traction - which tells me those components probably temporarily lost power as well. Tried to fix it no less than 5 times - replaced fuse block, replaced steering gear, fixed a bunch of plugs etc etc... problem still won't go away. Went for a drive on a typical winter day, a wheel well panel shifted back towards the front passenger door, which then buckled when the door opened (warranty won't fix that one). Been talking to GM head office for FIVE MONTHS. I call them constantly. They are doing absolutely nothing. Offered to trade in at GMC they are giving me rock bottom offer "because the vehicle has issues" - and yet its only halfway through warranty. Worst experience ever. Do NOT spend this kind of money on this piece of garbage and such awful customer service. Apparently this is built to their factory standard.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GMC TERRAIN All that and more!

by GM fan from Clifton NJ on Tue Jun 25 2019

This SUV gives you a lot of bang for the buck. It looks tough on the outside, and sleek and rich on the inside. Ride is smooth. Lots of features. Absolutely love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love My 2018 Terrain SLT!

by Leenie from Douglassville, PA on Sat Apr 28 2018

Absolutely love the new design inside and out......side rear window definitely sets it apart. Turned in our 2016 Terrain SLT as lease expired, which was a very reliable car. Decided to purchase this one. The 2.0 turbo engine is great. Has a smooth ride and great acceleration. Adjusted to the new electronic shift buttons/toggle quickly and love the feature. Heated leather seats are very comfortable. Power adjustable passenger seat much more comfortable than the Outback or CR-V. Apple Car play a must for me from here on out! Love the panoramic moon roof! Appreciate the full size steering wheel as opposed to the tiny ones in most foreign models in this category.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Love Love

by LilyMommy from Waltonville, IL on Tue Oct 16 2018

This is a perfect midsize SUV! Lots of room in the back seat, lots of room up front too. Many small storage spaces since the gear shifter is underneath the climate controls. I love the way the car looks on the outside also. I opted to pay extra for the skyscape sunroof and I love that too. The cargo area is roomy and the back seats and front passenger seat all fold flat if you need extra room. Excellent gas mileage too. I have a small family of 3 but this vehicle could accommodate 4 easily. 5 USB ports.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A Definite Step-Up From My 2015 GMC Terrain

by STACYB from Wofford Heights, CA on Thu Feb 08 2018

I've only had my new Terrain for a month, but I love it. It is definitely smarter than I am, which it demonstrates every time I do something silly like leave the car running by accident. (That's easy to do because the engine is so quiet!) I didn't like the styling as much at first because it looks much like its Chevrolet cousin, but I've grown to like it also. Paint job and interior looks are very classy. And, the new up-graded engine is a dream to drive on the mountain roads where I live.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it!!

by Sitter on Thu Jun 14 2018

Love it, thus far!! Feel sure this will meet our needs, when we start our travel adventures!! It is very roomy and room for all the extras!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

LOVE MY GMC

by Jenna from Edmonton, Alberta, CANADA on Wed Feb 21 2018

I have never actually LOVED a vehicle, but this SUV makes even the worse traffic jams bearable. Lots of room for my two dogs, super easy to put the seats down. Love all the options that came with my vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 26

Our Take on the 2018 GMC Terrain

The verdict:

The redesigned 2018 GMC Terrain is a refined and comfortable compact SUV, and it gives shoppers plenty of choices, including an optional diesel engine and an upscale Denali trim.

 

Versus the competition:

The compact SUV class is crowded, but the Terrain’s available tech features, modern drivetrains and impressive roominess help it stand out.

 

Most vehicles get larger when redesigned, but the 2018 GMC Terrain is one of the rare ones that’s smaller than the SUV it replaces — at least externally. The Terrain and its sibling SUV, the Chevrolet Equinox, had long been two of the larger compact SUVs available, but the 2018 models are now closer in size to competitors like the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4. (See these four SUVs’ specs compared here.)

The new Terrain starts at $25,970, including a $975 destination charge, for a base, front-wheel-drive SL trim with the standard turbocharged gas 1.5-liter four-cylinder. I tested three versions of the SUV to experience its three available engines: an all-wheel-drive SLE with the 1.5-liter engine... Read More