2001 Yukon

Consumer Reviews

2001 GMC Yukon

$1,782 - $8,722  MSRP Range
2001 GMC Yukon

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

14 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 GMC Yukon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

One helluva truck- tough yet refined

by Yukon lover from Michigan on Sat Dec 29 2007

I've owned this truck for several years after purchasing it from a family member. After 6 years and over 150,000 miles, I can honestly say this is a very well made vehicle. It rides like a Cadillac, has a commanding presence, has hauled anything I ever threw at it, got me through countless rain and snow storms, yet still seems so refined when driving it around downtown. Its big, but if you don't dog on it (drive like a 16 year old), it actually gets respectable gas mileage- as good as my Trailblazer, believe it or not!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good big SUV

by rrodes from Bowling Green, KY on Mon Jan 17 2011

I bought this used with 36000 miles and now has 186000 miles. Tough SUV. Pretty good reliability, comfort on long hauls, will carry a big load, and trailer big loads. Just a very good American work horse.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable, good for 300,000 miles

by Must drive a truck from Michigan on Wed Dec 19 2007

owned this vehicle for 7 years, just bought another new 2008, great for towing, general transportation, very few problems even after 200,000 miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best suv in the business

by rilesmen from BALTIMORE on Fri Mar 27 2009

I absolutely love this vehicle. this is my second one and just like the first i have had no issues with this truck,JUST regular mainenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Yukon

by MOM of 3 from Fresno, CA on Sun May 15 2011

I have owed this vehicle since new, 140K miles later my Yukon still feels like new. The drive is smooth, the room and comfort is incomparable. My kids love our car and even after buying a smaller SUV as a second vehicle they prefer to ride on the Yukon. I have had no major issues with this vehicle, and get many compliments on how nice it still looks and rides.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Tough Truck

by rrodes from on Mon Jan 09 2012

Good for the long hall. I have 200000 miles on it and still going. Seats are not good, interior space is good. Minor mainteance. Good towing.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle... sorry to trade in.

by elixir2 from Southwest Colorado on Sat Aug 05 2006

I bought my 2001 used in 2003 and have driven it hard in the snow and rain and mud ever since. Maintenance has been low, and gas mileage is as advertised or even better. In the snow, this vehicle is stable and safe and makes other drivers seem inferior. The other review is right on, saying it being an ideal road trip vehicle. We've taken the Yukon from California to Florida and it's a true joy to travel with. We had the third row seats but rarely used them on road trips, favoring to use the storage room for bags rather than people. The legroom is adequate and will be hard to replace in today's vehicles. The only downside, is this a large wagon, heavy and that makes it harder to get good gas mileage. Insurance costs are also in line and even favorable if you have a good record. ;)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It Keeps on Running!

by OnlyBuyU.S. from South Mississippi on Thu Jun 16 2011

I purchased my Yukon new in 2001 and I have always run synthetic oil in it. It now has 174,000 miles on it, burns no oil, and it will outrun any econo-car at the red light. I get 17 miles to the gallon driving to and from work with the 285 hp 5.3 motor (and I keep my foot into it...jack-rabbit starts and racing every other car on the long bridges!). I love the way this car drives. Yes it drives like a car and NOT like a truck. It is now 10 years old and the only repairs I have had are the passenger window motor and a transmission rebuild at about 110k miles (too much racing I suppose!)--Great vehicle and I plan to keep it for many years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

this car is perfect for a family

by joe from dallas tx on Wed Sep 12 2007

this car is very reliable when you need somthing that will last along time it is perfect it will replace the modern minivan it is also super fun to drive!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best out of the 3 cars i have had

by trux369 from Minnesota on Sat Aug 12 2006

I love this suv more than any other vehicle i have driven. I also put my system in there and you cant even hear the vibration on the outside of the truck. It is very comfy when i am cruisin down the highway. Now i just cant wait til it snows!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2001 GMC Yukon

Somewhere between the massive mainstream of its full-size sport-utilities -- the Chevrolet Tahoe and Suburban and GMC Yukon and Yukon XL -- and the prestigious pinnacle of the Cadillac Escalade, General Motors sees an opportunity.

On that narrow ledge stands the 2001 GMC Yukon Denali and the GMC Yukon XL Denali. They're upscale, full-size SUVs that neither dabble in the mainstream nor wade in the luxury stream.

Launched about three years ago, the Denali SUVs have found their niche, reaching about 35,000 customers so far. And the all-new 2001 versions, on sale shortly, should extend that recognition, said Denny O'Donnell, the Yukon brand manager for General Motors' GMC division.

"The Denali's been... Read More