Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2002 Yukon

Consumer Reviews

2002 GMC Yukon

$1,660 - $9,376  MSRP Range
2002 GMC Yukon

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

20 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 GMC Yukon?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Nice reliable SUV

by SUV Enthusiast from Indiana on Mon Jan 02 2012

Nice dependable vehicle. Only problem is I got one of the 6.0 liter engines that the cylinder skirts were too close to the cylinder wall and they clattered. At certain slow speeds it sounded almost like a diesel. I got tired of hearing that and traded it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV

by Mary Kay from Massachusetts on Wed Aug 09 2006

Reliability-Always Reliable Value for the Money-Excellent Features-Needs nothing Interior Design-Great/Roomy Exterior Styling-Bulky but nice Handling-Awesome/The best by far Performance-Powerful Comfort-Extremely Overall Rating-Highly recommend this SUV Have owned since new-4 years

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sweet SUV

by GM Fanatic from Brick NJ on Mon Oct 01 2012

Last of the American made full size truck..lots of room, great styling and nice features..not much glitz and glamour...just a tough truck..love it...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable

by Brutusdog from Dallas, TX on Thu Aug 15 2013

I bought this SLE 4.8L SUV in August 2002 and it now has 102200 miles, about 50% highway. It is well maintained and we just completed a 5000 miles trip without a problem. The brakes on this vehicle are excellent and an honest dealer told me with our driving habits we could easily go to 150000 without a brake job. Mileage is bad, but comfort, ride and handling are great. As retirees we are not anxious to buy a new car even though mileage would be better. If you have one of these and it is without problems you can drive it for 200000 miles easily. Just maintain it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I'm Lovin It

by Big Boys Family! from Northern California on Sat Apr 13 2013

We have seven boys and they are Big Boys, Our GMC Denali fits them all comfortably! The ride is smooth! The Denali is a ride they are happy too be seen in! I personaly love every thing about our Denali!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A PLEASURE TO OWN.

by SILVER STREAK from GRANTS PASS, OREGON on Sat Jul 29 2017

PROUD TO BE SEEN BEHIND THE WHEEL. LOW MAINTENANCE COST. PLENTY OF POWER FROM 6.0 LITER ENGINE !!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this truck

by Coco from St Peters MO on Tue Feb 20 2018

I bought this truck new, I have had it 15 years. I change the oil & tires, very little other maintenance was needed. A fuel filter and 1 set of brakes. I have the 6 liter V8, while it is a big heavy SUV, it moves quite nibbaly and picks up speed nicely.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MOST RELIABLE CAR

by Erick from Dallas on Mon Jun 18 2018

This Yukon has been in my family for over 14 years and the car has never giving us any major issues. I would recommend any Yukon .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First big SUV we owned

by just because from Turlock, CA on Sat Feb 16 2013

I was not shopping for a big car, but my boyfriend fell in love with a GMC Denali. I really didn't want to purchase such a big car but after driving it I fell in love with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GMC

by trucker from New York City on Tue Jun 29 2010

The 2002 Yukon, I have had it for over 7 years. I have well over 100k miles. Gmc know how to make a truck. The only thing I dislike is the radio and batteries stay on when you shut off the truck. It will go off when you open the door.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 2002 GMC Yukon

One of the biggest hassles of driving a full-size pickup truck is parking. Swinging into parking lot spaces, or parallel parking, is a bit of a challenge because the long wheelbase compromises the turning radius.

GMC's luxurious Denali pickup, however, is now standard with Quadrasteer, a four-wheel steering system that gives this truck carlike maneuverability and enhanced towing safety.

At walking speeds, it turns the back wheels opposite to the front, and that tightens the turning circle by 21 percent. This big truck turns as tightly as a Saturn coupe.

At higher speeds, the rear wheels turn the same direction as the fronts, enhancing stability in crosswinds and lane-change maneuvers. Four-wheel... Read More