1999 Civic

Consumer Reviews
1999 Honda Civic

Change Vehicle
4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

50 Reviews
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 50 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect Teenager Car

by bduff from indianapolis, in on January 16, 2010

i baught it used with 200k miles on it. drove it for 10k miles before it got totaled, not my fault, and i was very sad to watch the tow truck take it away lol. i loved the car it was reliable and good on gas still goin strong at 210k miles

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Simplicity at its finest

by Honda man from Sarasota, FL on January 21, 2013

Honda Civic 1999 was the first car I have ever had. Got it at 222k miles. Yeah I know that's a lot of miles. Must of been a piece of junk right? Wrong. Most reliable car I have ever driven. This cars gas mileage was made it even more attractive, to my wallet I mean, and it ran like a champ. 0-60 in little over 8 seconds with no modifications as long as you take good care of this vehicle it will last you 200k miles or more. Showing her a little love but there was rarely anything wrong with her. Best car I've owned so far.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best used car I've ever bought

by Out of state buyer from Norwalk, CT on December 29, 2010

Excellent handling and safety. Very reliable and expect it to go over 200K miles. Peppy yet great on gas mileage (about 35 city). Wonderful purchase for young drivers just getting started.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by CDRob1950 from New Orleans, Louisiana on April 10, 2011

Purchased new on April 15, 1999, this vehicle is the most reliable car that I have ever owned. It has 138,000 miles on the odometer and is still strong. I have replaced maintainance items, like timing belts, spark plugs and brake pads. Oil change every 3,000 miles. I had to replaced the radiator at 130,000. I still get about 24-25 mpg in the city and 30-32 mpg on the interstate. I wish I could a brand new 1999 model. I would do it in a heartbeat. When this little car finally dies (which I don't anticipate anytime soon), I will buy another Civic.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Car

by Civic Gray Ghost from Charlotte on August 3, 2009

I had my Civic LX 5-speed for five years before it was stolen and it was a wonderful car. I bought it with over 40,000 miles and at the end it had 125,000. It was gone before its time. The biggest repair I had to make was the catalytic converter. The only draw back is that a lot of people steal the cars for parts to trick them out.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My green Civic rocks

by Super Mom from Los Angeles, CA on October 27, 2010

100000 miles still going, I love this car and I have been driving it for the last 8 years. Civic will be my next car again...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle

by NK from Lansdale, PA on August 23, 2010

My family and I love this car, we had an unfortunate accident with a Toyota Camry, but the civic still held up. I love this car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A great seller and car.

by Car Guy from on January 1, 2014

Great seller. Good cars. I was pleased to deal with this individual. Kept his word which is quite rare.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Honda Civic is awesome!

by BostonBoy from Boston, MA on July 20, 2006

I have a 99 Honda Civic EX 4-door Sedan... it's a great car! I have about 177k miles, and it's still running great. Would love to get another Civic when (if??) this Civic dies... but I need a bigger car, so it'll be an Accord or Camry.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

by G8trsrgods from Gateway, FL on February 23, 2007

Very reliable car. Small but with good pickup to get in and out of traffic. Smooth ride. Very fuel efficient.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5
Our Expert Review: 1999 Honda Civic