2017 Civic

Consumer Reviews

$12,847 - $22,123  MSRP Range
2017 Honda Civic

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

722 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Honda Civic?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 722 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2017 Honda Civic Coupe

by MY HONDA VETTE from Brooklin, Ontario Canada on Wed Apr 26 2017

Been driving all kinds of Honda's since 1988 and my 2017 Civic Coupe is the best looking, best performing, best economy and most comfortable one I've ever driven.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All my 7 Honda's since 1990

by Schrudds from Calgary, AB on Mon May 01 2017

Never had a maintenance issue except for brakes, batteries, etc. On top of this good gas mileage and excellent resale value.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned!

by Raph from Quantico, VA on Sun Aug 12 2018

External is sleek and trim; looks absolutely fantastic. Acceleration is on point and the vehicle handles extremely well. Has a very tight turn radius as well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Toni from on Mon Mar 13 2017

Great design, style and overall performance. It handles beautifully in all types of road conditions and traffic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best fuel efficentcy vehicle I've owned!

by John O. from Gardendale, AL on Sat Apr 08 2017

Everything I ever wanted in one vehicle! I really love this car! The handling is great! No extra road noise! I can pass the gas stations also!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

It has Air Conditioner problems.

by Ali from Chicago, IL on Wed Aug 14 2019

This my second summer and my Air Conditioner already broke. That too in Chicago summer. My owners have shared this problem about civic on internet. Now since the car is new, it is very difficult to find a repair shop which has the diagnostics machine. Even the honda dealer from which I bought the car does not have it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

The single biggest disaster of a car I've ever had

by JonInAtlanta from Atlanta, GA on Thu Mar 14 2019

Civic EX-Turbo Right off the bat I had problems after buying it new. First the front grille fell off overnight in the driveway. Dealer said a plastic retainer was broken, probably during assembly. Their fix was to superglue it back together (this should have been a warning). The onscreen climate control/stereo system would randomly re-boot itself without warning, shutting down the defroster with it (this was great in the winter). Dealer could never fix. Apple CarPlay would crash the system when connected. Walk-away-locking system would randomly send alert beeps and fail to lock, or, it would lock itself and set off the alarm while driving. Dealer could never fix. Finally the windshield rattled. Started rattling a week after purchasing. You could stop the rattle by pressing on it while driving. Dealer said it was the headliner so they replaced it. It wasn't the headliner. Didn't give them another shot because by this time I was too fed up with spending literally every other weekend back at the dealer. Traded it in for another make after 6 months. My first Honda was my last Honda.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First new car in 28 years

by jilleanaz from mesa az on Thu Apr 13 2017

I looked and looked for a new car and wanted a coupe .The Honda Civic was super cute and oh so sporty. knew that was the only car i wanted and of course had to have it in blue little bit of purple tint to it. I love everything about the car .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love our new auto!

by Juan&Stephanie from San Diego, CA on Mon Apr 24 2017

Purchased the exact model/color auto after a long search. Loving our new auto!! Loving the style & ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car we've owned

by Diana from Warrior Mark on Fri Apr 28 2017

This is our second Civic and Honda keeps making upgrades. Altoona Honda is worth the drive if your looking for a great dealership. From the moment you walk in, the experience is like no other. You are treated like a friend with no pressure to buy! The entire process was more than pleasant. Our salesman -Ken Lingenfelter, sales manager - Matt Mallery and the finance manager were wonderful to work with. Altoona Honda is the place to go!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 73

Our Take on the 2017 Honda Civic

The verdict:


Criticized for an austere redesign of its Civic compact car a few years ago, Honda has responded with an all-new 2016 Civic that's entertaining to drive, has a premium feel and offers advanced active safety features.

Versus the competition:


The 2016 Civic rides on an all-new platform that will be used for all Civics sold around the world, and the U.S. version is powered by two new four-cylinder engines, including a turbocharged one that's available in uplevel trims.

Editor’s note: This review was written in October 2015 about the 2016 Honda Civic sedan, but little of substance has changed with this year’s model. To see what’s new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

The sedan hits dealerships first in November, and it will be followed by coupe and hatchback body styles. Eventually, performance-oriented Si and Type-R trim levels will be offered. I tested three versions of the sedan: the base LX with the standard six-speed manual transmission ($19,475), the midlevel EX with a continuously variable automatic transmission ($21,875) and an EX-L version with navigation and the available turbo 1.5-liter... Read More