NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2018 Civic Type R

Consumer Reviews

2018 Honda Civic Type R

#8 Most Popular Wagon/Hatchback
$30,485 - $38,221  MSRP Range
2018 Honda Civic Type R

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

31 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Honda Civic Type R?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I’ve ever owned!

by Teddster12 from Houston,Texas on Mon May 14 2018

I really like this vehicle. I own a 2015 BMW M-4 convertible, 2015 Corvette Z51 Stingray, it’s just something about the Honda Civic Type R that I enjoy more than my other vehicles. It’s a fun to drive car that you’ll never get tired of.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Revelations...

by FIAChamp on Thu Oct 11 2018

Wow! I had read all of the reviews and heard all of the hype about the US Civic Type R. I was originally considering a Tesla Model 3 RWD to offset my raucous basically race prepped DC5 daily driver. The Model 3 has ungodly handling for a huge sedan and I would have gotten it over everything else at its price point except... the Type R. I don’t know how they pulled off 300whp with no torque steer and a featherlight clutch. The steering feel is better than my RSX Type S on Progress coilovers. The unique front suspension design in the civic is working serious magic. So fun to drive while being totally practical. If you have qualms about the styling, I get it. I literally said it looked ’absolutely ridiculous’ when I first saw it at the dealer. A week later, I’m in love. Can steering wheels release oxytocin’ Worth the test drive if you want a practical track beast. Nothing under $50k touches it. Looking forward to track days!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I was surprised at how well it performs.

by Lucky from Chelmsford, Ma on Fri Oct 26 2018

This little car is amazing. The shifting is as smooth a silk. For a car to perform as good as it does you would think the sell price would be at least double what it is.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unique Car

by Benjamin from Orlando,FL on Sat Mar 17 2018

This car met all my needs unique car has great performance Best car so far in 2018! Dont hesitate on looking for one like this one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Car! I love it!

by GundamTypeR from New Jersey on Tue Jul 10 2018

It an Amazing car from the looks to the comfort, performance , and value! It handles like an Indy Car! I plan on enjoying it for years to come!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun daily driver

by Joyous1 from Philadelphia PA on Wed Feb 27 2019

I love driving this car. Plenty of power at the ready but also reliable and practical. I can fit my mother's wheelchair in the trunk easily.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2018 Honda Civic Type R

by turbo king from Tippecanoe on Thu Sep 05 2019

The Type R with it's 306 HP turbo engine has been a great car to drive. More fun than my Honda S2000, Nissan 300 twin turbo and as much fun as my C7 Z51 Corvette. One of the best 6 speed manuals available. Handling is very tight and fun in the curves. Very good in longer trips and gas mileage was over 30 mpg.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Simply Amazing!!!

by Honda_Rob from Riverview, FL on Tue Aug 14 2018

This Car is everything you read about, its Fast and in every gear when you need it, shifting is very smooth and with the different settings for the suspension there's one for all conditions. Put it in Type R mode and take corners at 90mph (only for truly experienced drivers), myself I've been driving a Manuel for over 30 yrs and try to push the car to the limits and truly drive it everyday and it out performers in every way. I like the fact that you can ride 4 people in it and they get to experience the rush of a semi-super car for its class. I'm looking forward to taking it to the track and testing its limits! I highly recommend this car to someone who is loves driving and 6 gears!!!! Big Smile!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car!!!

by Streamfever from New Mexico on Mon May 21 2018

Always enjoyed hatchbacks and wanted one of the best. Very impressed and happy with my purchase. Will have to swap out the tires this winter but everything else is what I hoped for and more. I use it as a daily driver; has great power and can put lots in the hatch.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most performance you can buy for $35k

by Z06_Pilot from Columbus, OH on Thu Jul 05 2018

What a fantastic performance machine. All of the awards and 1st place shoot-outs are well earned. This car handles like it is on rails, and the brakes are outstanding. The linear power delivery of the turbo makes it feel like a normally aspirated engine. The way it can make power so low in the power band is incredible. And the transmission shifter-well, there is none better except the dearly departed S2000 ragtop. The racing seats seriously lock you into a performance driving position. You aren't going to lounge in the driver's or passenger seats, that is for sure. it's a serious cockpit for serious driving. I cannot wait to get this car on the track.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4