Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2018 Civic Type R

Consumer Reviews

2018 Honda Civic Type R

#9 Most Popular Wagon/Hatchback
$34,700 - $34,700  MSRP Range
2018 Honda Civic Type R

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

23 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Honda Civic Type R?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 23 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I?ve ever owned!

by Teddster12 from Houston,Texas on Mon May 14 2018

I really like this vehicle. I own a 2015 BMW M-4 convertible, 2015 Corvette Z51 Stingray, it?s just something about the Honda Civic Type R that I enjoy more than my other vehicles. It?s a fun to drive car that you?ll never get tired of.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Revelations...

by FIAChamp on Thu Oct 11 2018

Wow! I had read all of the reviews and heard all of the hype about the US Civic Type R. I was originally considering a Tesla Model 3 RWD to offset my raucous basically race prepped DC5 daily driver. The Model 3 has ungodly handling for a huge sedan and I would have gotten it over everything else at its price point except... the Type R. I don?t know how they pulled off 300whp with no torque steer and a featherlight clutch. The steering feel is better than my RSX Type S on Progress coilovers. The unique front suspension design in the civic is working serious magic. So fun to drive while being totally practical. If you have qualms about the styling, I get it. I literally said it looked ?absolutely ridiculous? when I first saw it at the dealer. A week later, I?m in love. Can steering wheels release oxytocin? Worth the test drive if you want a practical track beast. Nothing under $50k touches it. Looking forward to track days!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing car!!!

by Streamfever from New Mexico on Mon May 21 2018

Always enjoyed hatchbacks and wanted one of the best. Very impressed and happy with my purchase. Will have to swap out the tires this winter but everything else is what I hoped for and more. I use it as a daily driver; has great power and can put lots in the hatch.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unique Car

by Benjamin from Orlando,FL on Sat Mar 17 2018

This car met all my needs unique car has great performance Best car so far in 2018! Dont hesitate on looking for one like this one

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I was surprised at how well it performs.

by Lucky from Chelmsford, Ma on Fri Oct 26 2018

This little car is amazing. The shifting is as smooth a silk. For a car to perform as good as it does you would think the sell price would be at least double what it is.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

?TypeRavishing?

by TypeRecinto from Norwalk CA on Fri May 25 2018

It?s like PAUL WALKER and GOD had the same idea to build this car in their garage in heaven! ? Having a Honda TypeR is a stress reliever! And it?s like having a lyken hypersport with a very affordable MSRP!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Car! I love it!

by GundamTypeR from New Jersey on Tue Jul 10 2018

It an Amazing car from the looks to the comfort, performance , and value! It handles like an Indy Car! I plan on enjoying it for years to come!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wow, this is fast.

by TomT on Sat Feb 24 2018

This Type R was actually a second half 2017 and had 5000 miles. Found it online and the dealer was Mazda so wanted to get rid of it. The Type R can go 170 mph but I liked the look. I bought a gray one with red trim so I get some looks from other cars. I expect this Honda to last awhile and the 6-speed is really fun.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The most performance you can buy for $35k

by Z06_Pilot from Columbus, OH on Thu Jul 05 2018

What a fantastic performance machine. All of the awards and 1st place shoot-outs are well earned. This car handles like it is on rails, and the brakes are outstanding. The linear power delivery of the turbo makes it feel like a normally aspirated engine. The way it can make power so low in the power band is incredible. And the transmission shifter-well, there is none better except the dearly departed S2000 ragtop. The racing seats seriously lock you into a performance driving position. You aren't going to lounge in the driver's or passenger seats, that is for sure. it's a serious cockpit for serious driving. I cannot wait to get this car on the track.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Type R

by 4-Car Guy from Ewa Beach on Wed Jan 24 2018

Amazing machine! Powerful, stylish, & economical. You feel like a king behind the wheel. You instantly know this is a special vehicle. Smiles per gallon are endless. A treat to own and drive such an incredible vehicle. I'm so proud of this purchase and the additional $10K didn't even phase me. Would do it again.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3