2017 CR-V

Consumer Reviews

2017 Honda CR-V

$17,905 - $28,117  MSRP Range
2017 Honda CR-V

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

785 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Honda CR-V?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 785 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Like night and day from the previous models

by Honda Firefighter from Fall River,MA on Mon Apr 10 2017

I previously owned a 2013 CRV which is why I looked into the new style 2017 CRV. I have owned the car 2 weeks and I love al the new features. I own the EX model which comes standard with many new features. The keyless entry and start is the best feature along with the individual heating and ac temps controls and the electric parking brake They also come with heated seats and remote start. The EX offers tons more than my 2013 EX did which I was very satisfied with. I drive a lot of cars working for a funeral home that parks cars. Honda out did them self this time with the 2017 CRV. Thumbs up!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

60 out of 60 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle

by Butch from Terre Haute, Indiana on Sat Apr 22 2017

The fit and finish on the CRV are outstanding, quiet inside and the moon roof is awesome. The back up camera is top flight and fun to use. IT FEATURES SENSING WINDSHEID WIPERS which work nicely and don't bug the driver. Cargo space is exceptional and the rear seats fold down flat without having to remove the headrests. The sound system beats the theater hands down while navigation system is supuerb. It comes with sirrus-xm radio free for three months. This my second CRV and it won't be my last.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

48 out of 48 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Avoid buying CRV with the 1.5L turbo 4

by SteveColorado from Florence, CO on Sun Nov 04 2018

Have been smelling gasoline in the cabin after starting the car for the last few months. I read about problems with this engine---gas diluting out the oil and entering the oil system. Turns out my 2017 CRV with the 1.5L turbo 4 now has the same problem. Oil levels run high due to the oil being diluted with gas. So, there are major health issues---hydrocarbons in the passenger compartment and a major risk that the engine will fail prematurely due to gas being mixed with oil. There are also reports of the car stalling at high speeds. What an absolute waste of money on a car that is hardly over a year old. An no solution from Honda at this time. None. No help from the dealership. Only suggestion was that you need to change the oil very frequently to get rid of the gas contamination. No offer to help pay for that. Apparently had a major recall in China for the same problem......but here in the United States---nothing but silence. Avoid this vehicle with this engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

41 out of 41 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Gas found mixed with oil during oil change

by CRV-EXL owner from Pittsburgh, PA on Sun May 20 2018

Just bought a 2017 CRV-EXL with 6000 miles on it. Read threads of gasoline mixing with the oil in the 1.5 liter turbo motor. I checked my oil and the oil level was way over the top limit. The dip stick had a strong gas odor. Took to Honda dealer to get my oil changed and they reported problem to Honda. Waiting to hear back. Looks like a serious problem. Very worried.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

CR-V EX-L Navi

by Localizer from Spring Hill, FL on Fri Mar 24 2017

A great vehicle for the money. Not a Caddy, but super nice. A tad bit of road noise, but very comfortable. It has everything I wanted and more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Wanted something with good mileage

by carolnewcar from reno, nevada on Wed May 24 2017

Love the excellent mileage - great power - easy to see out of windows - good leg room in back. Low's: loud road noise, but I don't think the tires are the best brand that comes on the crv - head rest on driver's and passenger seat should be able to adjust a lot better - gas lever in the car is in a stupid spot, way too lowt (have to almost get out of the car to flip it)

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

The turbo is leaking gasoline, Bypassing the pis

by JC BIGSKY from Tucson AZ. on Wed Jan 23 2019

Check the oil dip stick and check for gas in the crankcase. Big problem potential !! Can cause damage to the cylinders and main bearings, posabley Complete loss of the engine.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by T and D from on Thu Apr 27 2017

The best car we have ever purchased. The 2017 is comfortable with all the latest technology. Plenty of performance when you are out of Econ mode but is a gas miser with Econ engaged and only a slight drop off in performance. The turbo has plenty of get up and go. The styling definitely is an eye catcher. No reliability rating yet as the car is too young. However, I expect the usual excellent Honda reliability. Overall, we found the CRV to be an excellent value especially when compared to the Audi and Acura we were considering. Very happy with our purchase!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

OMG. I love this vehicle!

by artsygrl7 from Raleigh, NC on Sat Feb 17 2018

I just purchased the 2018 Honda Touring AWD CRV a couple of weeks ago. After driving a BMW 5 series for 11 years, I was worried I'd feel shortchanged moving to a Honda. Not so! Honda has really stepped up their game with the new CRV design. I wasn't a fan of the old body style, but this design is downright attractive. I bought the pearl white with the ivory interior and it's very sharp looking. Just in the past week, I've had two people approach me to admire my CRV. I think the interior is very comparable to luxury models in its class. The touring trim level features nice leather upholstery, a leather wrapped steering wheel, and leather/faux wood trim on the dashboard and doors. To get those touches in a non-luxury vehicle is really nice. I'm also really enjoying all the new technology and safety features. The economy of this vehicle is a nice bonus -- my insurance dropped $90/year (due to the safety features) and a tank of gasoline is running around $30 (got to love the switch from premium fuel to regular). All that aside, I LOVE driving this car. It's a comfortable ride and the turbo charged engine is surprisingly peppy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Tops in small SUVs

by E&G from Aberdeen, NC on Fri Jul 21 2017

Touring package offers great safety and convenicnce features. Particularly like hands-free lift gate activation. Concerns about 1.5 engine being undepowered, but with turbo it gets the job done. Interior room and comfort is excellent. Flared front fenders do limit visibility when parking. Enjoying our new ride!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 79

Our Take on the 2017 Honda CR-V

The verdict:


The 2017 Honda CR-V's redesign addresses some of the things that held the previous generation back, resulting once again in a very well-rounded model.

Versus the competition:


Though the CR-V is still not as fun to drive as some of its competition, its excellent usability and plenty of comfort and safety features make it a family-friendly standout — the most complete compact SUV you can buy today.

Compact SUVs are constantly playing leapfrog. Models change and add new features to jump ahead of the pack, only to be caught again in a year or two. The Honda CR-V is a prime example of this: The 2015 version won our 2015 Compact SUV Challenge, then just one year later, the 2016 CR-V slipped to third in the same contest. It finished behind the 2017 Kia Sportage and the 2017 Ford Escape, both of which got big updates for the 2017 model year.

But the wheel keeps turning, and now Honda has struck back with a redesigned 2017 CR-V that might put it back on top. The CR-V competes with the two aforementioned models and its eternal rival, the Toyota RAV4. Compare them all here and the 2016 and 2017 Honda... Read More