Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2001 Insight

Consumer Reviews

2001 Honda Insight

$706 - $4,378  MSRP Range
2001 Honda Insight

Review Score

5.0 out of 5 stars

5.0

7 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Honda Insight?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 7 of 7 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Nice little commuter

by SilverBullet from Cottonwood AZ on Sun May 15 2011

I fail to see why they can?t design an automobile in 2011 that mirrors the Insight line of 2001 thru 2006 in efficiency. This is old technology beats any thing out there, If you can find one with low miles, get it. I use it for too and from work 82 miles a day, over mountians averages 57.8 mpg

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

a well kept secret

by Oldie but goody from Sacramento County, California on Tue Jun 14 2011

All show, no talk - delivers economy while hunkering down with a sports car feel with over 110,000 miles. A well kept secret.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A hidden gem among sub-compacts

by countryjeep from Mobile, AL on Sun Jun 30 2013

My 2001 Honda Insight currently has 178,000 miles and a battery that was replaced under warranty all the way back in 2007. I'm the umpteenth owner of this little Insight that has been handed off multiple times for multiple reasons, but I am here to say that not only is this one of the most reliable vehicles, one of the more comfortable sub-compacts, and one of the most unique looking cars on the road, but it is also what it is: the world's most fuel-efficient gasoline-electric hybrid to date -- I average right between 58mpg and 65mpg between city and highway travel. And with a 120-mile round-trip work commute, I honestly need it. It's never once let me down, and what failures that I have encountered (such as a bad idler wheel) have given me warning before completely failing (e.g. a very loud and distinct roar when the idler wheel was going out). This is the ultimate work commute vehicle and long-distance traveler, and even after being swapped around so much with no previously known service records (save one well-kept receipt for the battery replacement), it's still running like a champ. Suffice it to say that I've been caring for it as much as possible since I purchased it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001 Honda Insight 5 spd

by Doug from Phila, PA on Tue Jun 25 2013

High winds and high water the only concerns with this car. Icredible combination of gas mileage and responsive performance. Has been extremely reliable, and durable. Looks good and is very comfortable. Can't figure why they stopped making them.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new commuter!

by Heatherp768 from Lynnwood, WA on Fri Nov 01 2013

Just bought a used Honda Insight. Plenty of room for a tall girl like myself, feels like a sports car when driving, and gets over 50mpg! Took it to Honda for a diagnostic and look over, and at 211,000 it is in great shape. I am looking forward to putting another 200,000 miles in this car! Save my SUV for when I really need it. Very happy with my "new" car!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Do i see 52mpg average?!

by Big Insight Fan from California on Sun Sep 07 2008

This was my first highschool car and boy was i lucky! We found one cheap enough and we bought it. I am now 18 years olds 6"2' and 399pounds and it is hard to drive in it now with me taking up more than one seat(sort of) =( and my belly on the wheel but when i could easily drive it it was fun to park!, sporty looking, always got the great gas mileage, and had plenty of horses on the highway when i took it. It is also very reliable but all hondas are!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2001-2006 Honda Insight Fan

by 2001-2006 honda Insight Fan from Los Angeles, CA ( City of Glendale) on Thu Mar 03 2011

Great Car, Good Value, Great gaz mileage Pretty simple and easy car Futuristic looks, conversation piece Very reliable, great commuter car Powerful enough to leave GT's and Mustangs trailing behind Quiet drive, easy to maintain Great everyday car/commuter car

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1