2003 Pilot

Consumer Reviews

2003 Honda Pilot

$1,846 - $8,002  MSRP Range
2003 Honda Pilot

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

56 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Honda Pilot?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 56 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Purchases with lots of miles, hoping tranny holds

by NW Indiana from Highland, IN on Wed May 08 2013

picked up used with 160,000 miles since I just need something to haul stuff and kids with. I like the vehicle a lot, but the transmission does slip from time to time. I'm praying it won't need a new one dropped in anytime soon. Otherwise a nice vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Forever Customer

by Honda lover from Chandler , Arizona on Mon Aug 12 2013

We had to recently purchase another car due to an accident that totaled our Honda Odyssey. Unfortunately they had only given us money to purchase another vehicle similar to ours and we had a 2004 Odyssey van with 119,000 miles but in great condition. We could not find any similar used models in the area like ours. We were told it was because they are a great car. Of course that made us worried that we would not be able to find another reliable vehicle. We were wrong. We looked and looked and found our Honda Pilot at the dealer. It was a year older but it had 30,000 miles less than our van. When we looked at the car fax we knew this was the car we needed to purchase. Incredible clean Carfax. The vehicle looked brand new and we really love it. In the past I would never buy a used car that had more than 40,000 miles but my Honda purchases has changed my view on that. They go forever! You Can't lose owning a Honda!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Lmess from Medina, Ohio on Sun May 14 2017

This car is a great car. We have 181,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. For being 14 years old and in the shape that it's in I would consider it a great car for a busy family like mine. And with third row seating up there is still a large trunk and the kids can take friends with them wherever we go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Steve from Denver, CO on Sun Jul 23 2017

It was my very first car after getting a drivers license. It was 4wd so very good in the snow. I drove it till it had 245,000 miles on it and it would've outlasted me if I kept driving it. I just wanted a newer, shinier car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Truly the Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Silver rabbit from Orlando, Florida on Tue Aug 22 2006

I've never had any problems with this car for the 3+ years that I have used it. It provides very steady cruise on highway. You do not feel the high speed such as 80 miles/hour when it does the smooth cruise. The interior's leather seats are very comfortable, and, of course, very roomy. Driver seat has power adjustments -- very convenient for all shapes of drivers. Automatic temperature control makes the car feel like home.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car!

by Alicia from Elmhurst, Il on Mon Sep 04 2017

This car was great for commuting and transporting all my needs back and forth to school. I was a teacher and had to move many boxes often plus wood working supplies. It was perfect. When I wasn't using it for work, the family enjoyed riding in it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

one of the best money spend suv's

by alex p. from los angeles on Sun Apr 13 2008

It's a good truck, but FUEL economie for the city is 13 mpg and 23 for the highway. I live in LA and 13 mpg at $3.75 its not a bargain. Brakes do not last at all, they always have some issues. Replaced all tires at 30K miles. That the major issues i see with this suv. On the other hand, Pilot is GREAT!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

still love it

by robby d from atlanta on Sun Jun 16 2013

like everything about this truck that I bought used in 2010. good choice for anyone looking for inexpensive, reliable and good in gas SUV

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It was a refreshing experience in car buying

by Jilly from Keene,NH on Thu Dec 07 2017

Has been great! Inspected and got great reviews by mechanic after purchase. Pictures were spot on. Interior was excellent. All luxery options worked including dvd in the rear.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Runs like a champ, excellent car

by Blount4479 from Boise,ID on Wed Apr 12 2017

I've only had very minimal problems with this car. It gets average gas mileage for its size as well as has quite a bit of power off the line!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2003 Honda Pilot

Not that champagne corks will pop or cone-shaped pink hats be passed around, but Honda has officially joined the SUV party. For all Honda owners out there, there is joy in Mudville. Finally, a true family off-road or on-road option for all the families that have made the Japanese automaker such a winner. Finally, their own legitimate sport utility vehicle.

It's been a lonely last decade for Honda, having to sit on the sidelines and watch as the rest of the world drove by in its brand-new sport utility vehicles. Honda is just about the last of the major manufacturers to get into the wildly popular mid-size SUV market. With the 2003 Pilot, Honda's saying it's well worth the wait.

Larger and... Read More