1999 Prelude

Consumer Reviews

1999 Honda Prelude

$846 - $9,750  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

16 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Honda Prelude?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Never owned anything but a Prelude...

by Liz from Philadelphia PA on Tue Nov 23 2010

My first car was a 1988 Prelude - bought 3 years used and drove it to 150K and into the ground - the body was falling apart yet it still ran like a dream. My second car is a 1999 Prelude - bought 3 years used with 27K on it -- which I pray never dies because Honda's biggest mistake was discontinuing this model. I now have 100K and it still runs like the day I bought it ... on nothing but regular maintenance. I've never had a problem! It accelerates like a beast and hugs corners like a high performance sports car. I know I can accelerate on a dime, quickly change lanes and take tight corners like a pro and this car makes me LOVE to DRIVE! I love the look and performance of this car and I pray mine goes to 200K miles! The only complaint is the same as others - the interior is cramped, but it's meant to drive, not to transport passengers and stuff. My dog fits on the backseat and my groceries fit fine in the trunk and I've managed to even get a few things home from IKEA by putting down the back seat. If the car were any larger it would lose it's sportiness. If you love to drive, this car is one fun car! I have no idea what I'm gonna do when my Prelude finally dies (hopefully not for another 10 years), I can't imagine ever driving anything else!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the best cars I've had.

by Mr. Barto from Iowa on Fri Dec 04 2009

The car is a great performer. It gets good gas for its age as long as you stay off the peddle. When taken to the track it handles like a dream I would recommend this car to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car!

by Sports car fan from on Wed Nov 12 2008

This car is sporty and fun to drive. I feel like a kid again! I would recommend a 1999 Honda Prelude to anyone who enjoys a great car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it, great ride

by honda nut from orange county,ca on Tue Jan 29 2008

great car , fun to drive, it looks like a mini nsx and feels like it. love the sporty feel and road hugin' feel,and the interior is great,ecxept for the interior room not good for a big person,but for an average like me its great. i love this car and i would recomend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Hard to replace this one...

by Honda Fan from Pittsburgh on Sun May 03 2009

I have had my 99 Prelude for 10 years... The only thing that had to be replaced was a brake caliper and radiator hose. This is an excellent car that has amazing front-end power..feels like a lot like a turbo. Not too many cars turn heads like this one at 10 years old.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

67 years old. Best car I have owned.

by Terry from Flint MI on Mon Nov 02 2009

This car is fun and fast. The automatic is a lot of fun. You can shift it like a stick. High revs. Good gas milage. I have owned many sports cars including a 1985 Lotus Esprit, MGs, TR4, Austin Healey, many muscle cars. This is the most fun to drive of all of them. Handles great. You can't go wrong with one of these.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

not sure on this car

by rockstarmuscleboxer from Virginia on Thu Apr 03 2014

It handles really good, best car to handle corners and curves! But dang ignition switch went bad, next leaking oil from every single gasket, radiator busted, right after the hose went 10min after replacing it. Trunk leaking water inside itself smh! the standard spark plugs and wires, weak! Had to upgrade them. around 145K check engine light came on! got it look at !! and cylinder 3 and 1 not firing or misfiring!! replace injector 1 and 4days later, reset the car, and its running like a champ. Changing the oil without a lift is almost impossible smh by design there! But it do run fast and handles the corners really well

2 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A little on the heavy side....

by Andrew from Toronto, Ontario on Mon Jul 09 2007

Bought this car used and had no problems with it at all. The car is a little slow from idle since is pretty heavy but moves well on the hwy. Handling was great during low or high speed. The interior design is a little dull and boring but pratical, cup holder is located near the gear shift and that was extreamly annoying and deemed useless since it interferes with gear changing. The thing l dislike the most about the 5th gen Prelude is the fact that it requires premium gas.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

by 1st time car owner from San Francisco, Ca on Wed Aug 03 2011

This is my first car that ive purchased, a 1999 prelude, i have driven integras, jettas but nothing feels like this car, the design will surley turn heads as well as the roar coming out of the engine. Excellent handles, when i was done signing the papers it felt like i just bought my super nintendo all over again, I will love this car until its done.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

'99 Honda Prelude SH

by lizellis151 from Orlando, FL on Mon Apr 23 2018

I purchased this car off a lease in 2002, and I have loved it ever since. It is has quite a bit of torque so if feels aggressive to drive. It also has the H22A engine - one of the best that Honda has ever produced. The interior of the car feels spacious for the size, except for the back seats. The rear bucket seats are more of a nod to seating, and don't really fit anyone over 5'8". With proper upkeep, this car can last forever.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1999 Honda Prelude

We have a female friend who worries that since her divorce and 40th birthday, she's fallen "off the foxy radar." So she's spending a good chunk of money on dating services and Botox injections to eliminate wrinkles. We thought about her while we were testing the 1999 Honda Prelude coupe - an effective way to get noticed for $26,454.

Guys will like it, too, because it gets a boost in horsepower this year, allowing it to hit that magic 200 number. In fact, one buyer's guide likened the sporty Prelude to a mini NSX, Acura's Ferrari fighter.

Bottom line with the Prelude: Like a race car; less invasive than liposuction.

She: I really do like the Prelude, despite the fact that I would bet no woman got... Read More