2000 Prelude

Consumer Reviews

2000 Honda Prelude

$26 - $9,474  MSRP Range
2000 Honda Prelude

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

10 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Honda Prelude?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The Best Handling for the Money

by Father of 2 (now) from Lexington, Kentucky on Sat Aug 09 2008

I bought this car (Type SH) brand new in 2000. Changed the brakes at 90k miles in 2008, and that's the only major repair expense I've had. Preludes will be too small for you if over 6'1", however, what a fun car to drive. Even at 8 years old, the engine's high-end torque and the car's overall handling is amazing. Downshifting on the highway from 5th to 4th can give you another 25mph in less than 4 seconds. And handling? Everytime I see a yellow curvy sign I smile; the Type SH just eats up bends in the road--it feels as if the car leans INTO the turns!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Value for the Money

by Love To Drive from Atlanta, Ga on Wed Jul 04 2007

Great car! Looks sporty and drives like a sports car. Lots of power. Very reliable. Great gas mileage. A real winner!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

excellent reliability

by Dr Bill from Michigan on Sun Jan 14 2007

I have had this car for over 6 years. By far the best value and quality. The tires had to be changed only after 84 thousand miles. The brakes were changed at 100 thousand miles. Unparalleled craftsmanship.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Fun to Drive

by PDub from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Dec 05 2017

I love this car. It is very fun to drive. It is not too practical since it is pretty small and not very comfortable. But this car is very reliable. Of course it is. It is a Honda. The gas mileage is not the best for such a small car and engine and it take premium gas. But it is well worth it. I wish Honda would design and manufacture another car like this.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned. Also a sport!

by Preludez Rule from Buffalo, Ny on Mon May 28 2018

This car over 2 years only required general maintenance, plugs and wires, and brakes. It was fantastically reliable, great to drive, stayed flat in the corners and had 200 horsepower stock as a 2 door. Best car I've ever owned

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Fun to Drive

by PDub from Indianapolis, IN on Tue Dec 05 2017

I love this car. It is very fun to drive. It is not too practical since it is pretty small and not very comfortable. But this car is very reliable. Of course it is. It is a Honda. The gas mileage is not the best for such a small car and engine and it take premium gas. But it is well worth it. I wish Honda would design and manufacture another car like this.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Japanese honda quality and reliability.

by JohnRico from Adelanto, CA on Fri Aug 25 2017

It reminds me of my 91 honda cry but larger, more powerfully and drives like it's on rails. Close to the best car that i ever owned.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pretty Diecent Car

by Istref (In2Lude) from Fargo,ND on Fri Oct 20 2006

I just bought my 2000 Honda Prelude Base 5-speed about 4 months ago. It runs pretty smooth. I enjoy driving it to work, and driving around with it also. I would consider it to be pretty reliable. I would recommend it to someone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a fun and reliable car

by Gearheadchick from New Jersey on Fri Oct 27 2017

I had the SH model and it was so much fun to drive around! Never had any issues. As with most couples, the back seat wasn't super comfortable for tall people but everyone else it was really comfy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Built to Last

by Need4Spd from Herndon, VA on Mon May 21 2018

You don?t see many of these preludes in stock condition anymore as the young generation loves to modify them. Just keep it maintained in its factory condition, and it will last forever. My preludes have never broken down on me. I wish they did not discontinue manufacturing them as these are awesome cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1