2014 Ridgeline

Consumer Reviews

2014 Honda Ridgeline

$17,809 - $32,133  MSRP Range
2014 Honda Ridgeline

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

27 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2014 Honda Ridgeline?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Overall Everything

by Honda Girl from Gibraltar, MI on Mon May 12 2014

Bought the first year out 2006 and now the last year 2014. Loved my truck and was going to wait for the 2016 Model. But decided didn't want to wait. Most reliable, low maintenance, comfortable and just plain great looking. I looked at all the other makes and models and just could not beat with I already knew I loved. On top of all the luxuries it has a trunk!! Really I cannot believe that every other makers has not caught onto this idea. I get all the storage and privacy I need with it. This makes our 7th Honda between me and two of my girls. I think that make says alot for a company that cares about what they produce.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Runner from on Thu Jun 05 2014

No the Ridgeline is not made for hauling heavy RV's etc. What a great truck! Smooth ride like a luxury SUV, very comfortable and great for everyday needs whether going to the performing arts center or to the hardware store. Love this truck! Highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle for the money

by Ryder from Las Vegas, NV on Thu Sep 03 2015

I have had 2 Ridgelines and never owned a vehicle that I enjoyed so much. Such a classy, sexy look for a truck. If Honda hadn't changed to the design, I would have waited to trade in for a 2016. The mileage could be better, but overall never had a problem with the Ridgeline. Very dependable, roomy, and felt like you were driving a luxury car rather than a truck. Saving up for if they ever go back to the original design. I miss my Ridgeline.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Good.....and bad

by TRuss from Saskatoon, SK on Tue Jul 01 2014

Truck is underrated by manly men that feel a 'truck' can only be rear wheel drive and have a separate cab and box. It does what it does very well and is an excellent option for people that do not need a 1/2 tonne as a daily driver. The Ridgeline is built on a ladder frame has numerous storage areas due to the, god forbid, column-shifter. Positives *Four wheel drive is excellent for a Canadian winter *Real world fuel economy is excellent *In bed trunk is very handy *Tailgate opening two ways is very innovative *Very comfortable ride and seats are supportive *Solid built truck with no rattles, squeaks or shakes *Easy to park *Lots of power (unloaded) for merging, accelerating, etc. *Engine is very smooth, never overheats in summer, and handles -30/-40 winter conditions well. *Low step-in makes it easy for the kids, pets, etc. Neg *Unfortunately mine is a lemon and is in the shop on average once a month over the past 1.5 years, mostly electrical. *Torque peak is too high. When towing tranny is always shifting into 3rd and 4th on highway. Fuel mileage drops like a rock. *Do not get a flat with a full load in the bed. The spare is in the trunk. *Brakes are too weak for pulling any real weight. *Sight-lines when shoulder checking is like throwing the dice if there is someone in your blind spot. *No rear seat heaters *Dash lights are too bright makes it easy to forget to turn light on at night. *Interior dash design needs a major re-think.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fits every need I have for a vehicle.

by Grandpa from Colo Springs,Colo. on Sat Aug 02 2014

I love all the features this car-truck has . The in-bed trunk,The 49" wide bed for hauling material. The fold-up back seats.All the storage compartments inside.The ease of handling,and the very comfortable ride...I would recommend this vehicle to anyone that needs an all-purpose vehicle. I would also recommend Freedom-Honda as a place to buy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Better than I expected

by First time Honda Ridgeline Owner from Connecticut on Sat May 03 2014

I work Construction, driving on Job sites, just getting to where you are working can be a challenge. I have always driven All Wheel Drive vehicles great in snow or rough terrain. The Guys at work convinced me that the Honda Ridgeline was a great truck for winter driving as well as on the job site. I have been driving a 2014 RT Honda Ridgeline for two weeks now I can say I am very happy with this vehicle.. Lots of room inside ,Great storage area under the bed. There are a couple blind spots that take some getting used to beyond that it is a great SUV Truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good all around vehicle

by hank from florida on Sun Sep 21 2014

traded a f150 super cab.wanted a smaller truck.wanted car like features but a car like ride.the ridgeline fit my needs.all the features of a truck.and the features of a car.could have better milage.17 mpg now .it should improve with more miles.have only500 miles.i love it so far.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2nd Time Around

by dually754 from Odessa, Tx. on Tue Apr 22 2014

Have a 2007 Ridgeline-gave it to my son. The comfortable ride, roomy interior, trunk beneath the pickup bed... It rides and drives like a luxury car but with the pickup bed you can haul things when you need to. Love it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Second Ridgeline

by Not a big truck guy from Cape Cod Massachusetts on Tue Sep 30 2014

This vehicle is a great compromise between a family SUV and home handyman's pickup. Cab is very comfortable for a large man, but low enough for my wife to get in with a skirt on. The rear seat is adult-sized, and the truck bed big enough for most home projects. If you need to carry a full sheet of plywood you can do it with the tailgate down. It's perfect for our driving/camping vacations! Mileage has improved since my 2008 model to 18/21. 2014 version has locking tailgate and better instrumentation too. Bottom line: same solid vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Own a 2009 and I?m not sure a 2017 will replace it

by Hammerdak from Hamilton, Ontario on Sat Nov 18 2017

I have a 2009 RTL( top trim ) that I bought with 73,000 km on it in 2012. The review above is spot on. That being said , when I look at the 2017 model with its new look and suite of safety nannies ( CMBS, FCW, LDW, ACC, RDM, LKAS, ABS, EBD, TPMS, TSA, VSA) , it?s poor infotainment interface and it?s somewhat unmasculine look , I am actually wondering if a used 2014 will be a better choice for me. If you?re considering an original Ridgeline you should know this. I?ve driven all the 4x4 midsize pickups of the same era and the Ridgeline is unbeatable in snow and winter highway driving. My Ridgeline has never failed, gotten stuck, not pulled what I asked. It?s 9 years old , driven every Canadian winter, always parked outside and it doesn?t show a single rust mark( even at the stone chip coverups ). It?s required nothing but one set of brakes and tires in its life. It literally has never been in for an unscheduled service in 160,000 km. Now the bad stuff you will need to live with. Guys seem to hate the looks, woman seem to like the looks...go figure. You can get a 2? suspension spacer but that the limit for lifting it. Tire size options are very limited, so no mudder look in your future. Gas mileage is average. Highway wind noise is bad , especially with the roof rack. You get Bluetooth phone paring and an aux port on the dash above the glove box. So the Twitter generation will be annoyed by its lack of connectivity. But in my opinion it is this generations inability to disconnect while doing the task of driving that has necessitated the addition of the aforementioned suite of electronic driving assistants now standard in the new Ridgeline. If you want to drive your truck and not have it drive you, or at least interfere every time you plan on changing lanes or pass in traffic , then don?t have any reservations about buying a used original Ridgeline. It will be the most reliable, most useful, best handling truck you will ever own. NOTE: Those with 5th wheel trailers, 4 horse trailers or regularly tow a caterpillar need not apply.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2014 Honda Ridgeline

Offering some pickup truck utility with the ride, handling and fuel economy of a minivan, the Honda Ridgeline sounds like it should be a hit, but its awkward styling and an embarrassingly outdated interior have kept it from being one.

A Honda pickup truck always sounded like an oxymoron, like something that couldn't or shouldn't exist. But the Ridgeline has been around since 2006, a boxy, four-door crew cab that's always seemed like the answer to a question nobody asked: What if Honda built a pickup? The truck itself is built off Honda's minivan/SUV platform — it's essentially a beefed-up Odyssey underneath, with standard all-wheel drive and a 3.5-liter V-6 engine. The company has announced that... Read More