2002 Accent

Consumer Reviews

2002 Hyundai Accent

$238 - $5,294  MSRP Range
2002 Hyundai Accent

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

22 Reviews
82% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.1 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Hyundai Accent?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Overachieving Midget

by lprocter1982 from Ontario, Canada on Tue Feb 27 2007

When thinking of small econoboxes, a number of names comes to mind - Toyota Yaris/Echo, Honda Civic, Chevy Aveo. Add to that list the Hyundai Accent. While it may not be great at any one thing, it is good at everything. From the outside, the Accent is small. It's about 3/4 the length, or less, of a Ford Crown Victoria. And the styling is bland. But inside is where the smallness disappears. There is enough room inside a Accent hatchback to fit enough gear and supplies for a 6 week trip across western Canada - believe me, I've done it! As for the driving experience, it leaves something to be desired. The 1.5L inline 4 engine, making about 92hp, can push, eventually, the car to a decent speed, all the while buzzing loudly. If you accelerate quickly (well, try to, anyway) it sounds like the engine's gonna grenade on you. Handling, too, is not that great. Understeer galore, and the thin 13 inch tires make taking sharp corners at speed a practice in prayer. The Accent, while not great on the highway, due to the aforementioned lack of power and agility, is quite effective for driving around the city. It can keep up with city traffic (barely) and it returns decent gas mileage. Combined highway and city driving has proven to yield a consumption rate of around 35 miles per gallon, hardly a gas guzzler. Reliability is a huge plus for my Accent. Aside from routine maintenance (which can be done easily by any backyard mechanic), all that's gone wrong is a broken radio tuner (replaced under warranty) and nonworking dashboard lights (replaced a cheap 'diode' in the fuse box.) Also, the transmission had been acting up during my trip across western Canada - a tranny fluid change fixed that up. So, after owning the car for 2 years, I've put about 60,000 relatively trouble-free, efficient, spacious kilometers on it. It is great for urban commuting, not so great if you like speed, or turning. Overall, though, it certainly has a right to play with the big boys in the compact scene.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car

by JD The Lead Foot from Indianapolis, IN on Wed Mar 24 2010

I bought this car used at 123,000 miles and it is currently at 189,000 miles with absolutely NO problems. I drive it pretty hard, daily, and I have never had an issue. It has been SUPER dependable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Accent: a very under rated car

by Car guy Paul from Toronto,ON on Mon Jan 21 2008

I've had two of these accents, My son has one and we find them a terrific value for the money-reliable, easy to work on, well designed, great winter car. Love it. Paul

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Econo-box That Rocks

by accent lover from Smithtown, NY on Mon Apr 09 2007

slick shifting 5 speed mated to a small, yet smooth running engine. Wonderful fuel economy yet good power. Its rare to find a small car such as ths which still lets you overtake with ease, but this is one of them. Drove it for 5 years, and traded it for abrand new 06 accent

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by chopper from west virginia on Tue Jan 19 2010

I love my Hyundai accent. Great car, great value. I bought mine new off the lot with AC for $9650.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable & inexpensive

by Sixty2unibody from Eugene, Oregon on Sat Aug 06 2011

I bought this car with a broken timing belt. Repaired it with around $140 in parts and a few hours labor. Other than a few small problems caused by the previous abuse, the car runs like a champ and with 250,000 miles, still gets an average of 35.75 MPG between city & highway. I really like this car and since fixing the few problems, never fails to start.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hands down the most reliable car I ever owned

by jaymans from NY on Fri Apr 21 2017

It is a 2002 that I bought used in 2005, 5 spd with ac and all other standard equipment, 12 years later I have over 205,000 miles on it and still use it everyday it just keeps going with little servicing, still looks and runs great...will absolutely look for another hyundai product whenever this one finally gives up...Great Car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Economy Car Ever Made

by 100Mi a day commuter from Fairfield, CT on Sun Apr 01 2007

Better than the Honda Civics I've owned. I Loved this car, it got an avg of 30 mpg. It hadled very well for a vehicle in its class. 5-speed was smooth and easy, never gave me a problem. Engine has great torque, and ran smooth as silk. I would definately buy another hyundai. And with a 10yr/100K Mi warrenty, they always take great care of their customers. True leader in this segment

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Transmission problems & Door Handles Break Easily

by A Guy From Louisiana from Shreveport, Louisiana on Sat Mar 08 2014

I'm on my third transmission for this car. I have replaced every door handle on the car multiple times because they break very easily. Cabin noise is a major problem. If you take this car onto the interstate, expect to hear a lot of the outside noise. The car has only 105 Horsepower to begin with but after a few years the car becomes down right sluggish. It's hard to overtake on a highway because the car doesn't have a lot of get-up-and-go power. That said, I have found that if you drive slowly and stay off major highways, the noise and speed issues are not a problem. Just don't buy this car if you are looking for a performance vehicle.

1 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is the best Car!

by HomerT6 from St. George Utah on Sat Jan 14 2012

I had a 2002 Hyundai Accent for about a year and it was the best car! I spent the past six months traveling back and forth between Utah and California and it handled like a champ! Did regular work on it and it worked like a charm and always let me know when things needed to be done it and it got great gas mileage. (29 in the city and 35 on the freeway) I sadly rolled my Accent back in December but I was able to walk away from the accident unharmed and in good condition thanks to the wonderful design that is the Accent! I am on the hunt for another car and another Hyundai Accent is for sure on the top of my list to replace the one that was wrecked!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3