2019 Accent

Consumer Reviews

2019 Hyundai Accent

$11,057 - $19,703  MSRP Range
2019 Hyundai Accent

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

29 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Hyundai Accent?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 29 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Good value, as with my last 2 Accents (2000, 2010)

by Mel from Pewaukee on Wed Apr 17 2019

I initially had trouble with the TPMS light malfunctioning after buying the car in winter. It has been OK lately and may be due to the dealer over-inflating the tires. I take it to Firestone now. There is also speculation about using Android products in the car--I don't know if they need to be plugged in to cause the TPMS problem or if just their use triggers it. I have stopped using my phone in the car just for now. But the car is really nice. I have driven it on several long-range trips and through a lot of weather (heavy snow). It defrosts pretty well so you can see when you are driving through snow storms. Comfortable on long trips. Able to accelerate getting onto freeway, safely pass cars. The highest MPG I have seen is 47 MPG on 70 MPH highways. Yesterday I saw I was getting 44 MPG on 55 MPH highways. Trunk holds a lot.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money

by JorgeC from Wheaton Md on Sat Oct 27 2018

Great value for the money. Just what I was looking for. Peppy little car. Comfortable and reliable. Good looking car for a base model. great PRICE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is my 6th accent. Never any major problems.

by James trucker from READING, PA on Mon Aug 05 2019

The 2019 accent is the best one i've owned. Runs good-great gas mileage-not overloaded with options that i don't need . It's a good reliable car !

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I have had

by Amy from Bernalillo Nm on Fri Nov 15 2019

This car met all our needs love the leg room and performance of the vehicle it is an amazing car that fits our family’s needs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Affordable comfort

by Gramma's buggy from Milford area on Tue May 14 2019

I really enjoy driving this car. It handles well, it's comfortable, and the price is right. According to online research, Hyundai has a high level of reliability so I look forward to experiencing that for myself.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable transportation

by Pam B from Fall River Mass on Thu Sep 24 2020

This car is just what I need. My first new / used car I ever had. 😎😀😀😀😀😀😀💗💗💗💗💗. Definitely would suggest for anyone that needs a car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the price!

by MichaelCNJ from Red Bank, NJ on Fri Jul 31 2020

This is a perfect car for me. I use it to commute to and from work and occasionally for longer distance travel. It's a very peppy little car. The design of the dashboard is outstanding - very intuitive and easy to read. The rear passenger section of the car is quite tight. Better for children than adults. Overall, a great value for the price I paid.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable so far

by Madison from Gresham, OR on Thu Nov 22 2018

It has everything I need and all the safety features you could ask for. Very smooth ride. Comfortable. Good speakers. Connects to phone easily. Seamless transitions for stario

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by Kleslie4 from Buckeye, AZ on Wed Oct 31 2018

I have owned Hyundai Accents in the past. I keep coming back to them but this is the best one that I have owned so far. The upgrades are finominal!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun Manual Option

by Jon from phoenix, arizona on Thu Aug 15 2019

I bought this car after my old 1990 ford probe GL's engine started going. I haven't driven the automatic version of the Accent yet, but as far as the manual goes, it has really get get up and go. When timed rightly, you can definitely reach 0-60 in about 7.5 seconds. Nothing extreme, but when you factor in the small engine, small amount of HP and torque coupled with still getting 30+ mpg when driving hard, it's a wonderful fun vehicle that even looks pretty good! I have no problems getting in and out of the vehicle. As reference, I'm 6'2" and have had people in the back seats that were 5'10/5'11 and they fit comfortably.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2019 Hyundai Accent

The verdict:

Affordable subcompact cars are seldom a class consumers want to shop, but if budget or size constraints land you there, the redesigned Hyundai Accent is a prudent, if unexciting, choice.

 

Versus the competition:

By competitive standards, the Accent’s design, quality and roominess all underwhelm. But it drives quite well — something shoppers who aim to put serious miles on it will appreciate.

 

Hyundai gave its fifth-generation Accent sedan the green light for U.S. dealers, but a hatchback variant that’s available elsewhere won’t make it stateside. Hatch-o-philes can consider the redesigned Kia Rio, a platform sibling that’s available as a hatch. Compare the Accent and Rio here, or stack up the 2018 and 2017 Accent here.

The Accent comes in SE, SEL and Limited trim levels (compare them here), all with a 1.6-liter four-cylinder engine. The SE has a standard six-speed manual transmission or optional six-speed automatic; the SEL and Limited have only the automatic transmission. We evaluated a Limited and an SE manual.

Outside and In

The redesigned Hyundai Accent wears its... Read More