2008 Azera

Consumer Reviews

2008 Hyundai Azera

$3,011 - $9,751  MSRP Range
2008 Hyundai Azera

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Hyundai Azera?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

First Hyundai

by Impressed from Kansas on Wed Jan 12 2011

My wife and I bought the 2008 limited used from a dealer as a certified car with 18,000 miles on it. wasn't sure until making several test drives in multiple cars. It won us over and now has about 33,000 miles. Not a hiccup. It is loaded with great features. The fuel mileage on trips is about 26 mpg, mixed driving about 24mpg. It has plenty of power. at first I didn't like the level of road noise but over time found out the original Michelin tires are a cheap version. They became nosier until I replaced at 30,000. Dealer mech noted they wouldn't last long. Now has Bridgestone Turanzas and is finally a quiet nice machine. So far no reason not to like it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best bang for the buck

by Longhauler from Lexington, NC on Thu Apr 09 2009

I did about 6 months of research before test driving the Azera, and found that on paper, it was the best value. Once I test drove it, I found it met my expectations to the tee. I bought a Azera Limited with the Ultimate package that was just under 1 year old and less than 9k miles, and it used to be a rental car. I was driving a low mileage 98 Cadillac Deville because I commute a total of 105 miles per day, and need something comfortable. The Azera can best be described as something in between a Deville and a Camry, which is the market it is aimed at. Pros: Good handling but still a soft enough ride for highway comfort. (reasonable compromise) Excellent interior design and comfort. Infinity sound is very good. It is less tiring to drive than the Deville, mainly because it tracks better, thus I spend less time "correcting" when steering. Not quite as much low end torque as the V8 in the Deville, but has better mid range grunt and is MORE than quick enough for passing and merging. The trunk is at least as large as my Deville's, although you wouldn't guess so from looking at the car. Engine is very quiet, even when punching it into traffic. Brakes feel solid. Price can't be beat. Cons: A bit more wind noise at 75mph than I like. Steering is a bit touchy/sensitive at mid speeds. Seat could slide back just a notch more, although it is about the same as the Deville. Window tint could be darker. Warranty on powertrain goes from 100k/10y to 50k/5y if you buy it used, which is still competitive. Exterior styling is a bit bland but pleasant enough and similar to competitive cars. I would recommend getting the Limited and the Ultimate package, which offers the bigger engine, sunroof, Infinity stereo, and all the extras that you could expect in a full luxury car, such as seating memory, telescoping steering, etc. If you are buying used, the price difference is minimal. If you are looking for a simple luxury car (entry level luxury) and/or do a great deal of daily driving, it really does offer the best value, as you would have to spend thousands more to get the same quality and features from any other brand.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Big Mack from Palm Desert, CA. on Mon Mar 01 2010

This is our second Hyundai. My wife and I have owned Cadillac's, a Mercedez, and high end SUV's but she still likes driving our Hyundai the best. We both feel that you get great "bang for the buck".

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Bang for the buck can't be beat.

by New2Hyundai from Yonkers, NY on Fri Jun 13 2008

I paid $13000 LESS for my Azera Limited than a new comparable Lexus ES350. I have an 06 Lexus ES and I like driving the Azera better because of the engine response difference between them...read on. Make no mistake it IS the pricing compared to other cars that makes this car a best buy. With the Hyundai $2500 rebate I paid less than $27K. It has EVERY option available (except the Bluetooth) including the Navigation/DVD player and upgraded 600 watt 12 speaker stereo. The 3.8L V6 engine performs like a V8. It is the FIRST Asian/American/Japanese V6 that responds like the Germans...torque everywhere without having to spin the motor at 6K RPMs. Acceleration is strong. The Azera gets about the same gas mileage as my Lexus although it's a .5L bigger motor... 28MPG or better on the open road most of the time. The only down side so far for is the suspension, it's a little too soft for me. I would have perferred it a little firmer than the soft wallowing ride. They say they improved it in 08 but mine is an 08 and it's still too soft. Having said that, after all it is in the "entry luxury" market and not a sports sedan. But a $13000 savings makes the ride very tolerable! And the 5 year bumper to bumper and a 10 year 100K miles power train warranty puts a big exclamation point on the value. Before you lay more of your money out for a Camry, Maxima, Buick, Lexus or Infinity take one of these out for a ride. I know there's people who would never put a "Hyundai" in their driveways. Hynundai may be making a mistake by not introducing a new car line like Toyota/Lexus and Honda/Acura.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best I've ever owned

by regular guy from mrytle beach,sc on Sun Dec 02 2012

this is my second azera the first being a 2007 I can honestly say these cars cars are a great vehicle not only do they get terrific gas milage but they are very dependable, my first has over 100,000 miles with no problems my second has had a switch replaced with 31,000 miles

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car for the Money

by First Time Hyundai Ower from Baltimore, MD on Tue May 26 2009

Bought a 2008 Azera with 30K miles. Paid $15.7k out the door. Still has 30k left on bumper to bumper warranty. Has every feature you could want, save nav and bluetooth (I don't need them). Beautiful inside and out. Had the cupholder fixed under warranty. Dealer was excellent and I didn't even buy the car from them. The 12 speaker Infinity sound system is amazing. While the 2008s have no IPOD inputs, you can burn your MP3s onto CDs and they will play on the 6 disc changer. As others have said the suspension is a bit soft but not too much of an issue once you get used to it. With the way Hyundais depreciate, (to me anyway) it's best to find a low mileage used one. Paid about 1/2 of the MSRP of new. Check out the consumer reports ratings. Stacks up pretty well against anything in it's class and predicted reliability is much better than average. Do your research and you won't be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

It was powerful and comfortable

by Kokol from Bethesda on Tue Jul 25 2017

This model is getting better every year and I want to buy a new ones as soon as possible. It is comparable with 5 series BMW or E class Mercedes Benz.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Classy with just enough punch.

by CELLINGTON from Danbury, CT on Fri Nov 11 2016

It's not a sporty car. If you're looking for an Infiniti G35 alternative, it won't directly replace that. However it will be just enough to keep the speeding tickets away. I purchased the 2008 Hyundai Azera Limited in black, with black leather interior and light wood trim. It has a very classy look on the exterior and just enough on the interior. The main dash console won't feel like a tech dream (even with the 6-CD disc changer, XM, etc), but it's not overbearing. Many cars I like have bulky, overly styled center consoles for my liking. This is just enough and feels clean. Comfort is good. Nothing to create a news story with, but the car is roomy without feeling too big. The seats aren't tight, you do have leg and arm room. On this limited version, there are quite a bit of adjustments you can make (seat, steering wheel, pedals). I also give props to the actual ride. It's smooth for the price and feels solid. Braking is a bit softer than I was hoping for (especially driving a 2015 rental prior to buying it), but you get used to it quickly. It does pick up for those who are wondering. You can pass someone without feeling you just put the car through training camp just to do so. The engine has a decent sound. A lot of people aren't familiar with the car, so when I got this nice black one, there were quite a few double-takes and "Azera-what?" however they were all impressed as many only expect this kind of look out of Audi/BMW/Jaguar, etc. That's not to say it competes, but if your wallet can't handle those brands, this can still make you feel good about parking in the same lot or next to one. I do wish this had some sexier control knobs for the dash, but all in all I am happy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

More car for the money...

by Pokyman from Bklyn, NY on Sun Sep 02 2012

Excellent automobile and a great deal for the money.Has the power and luxury to roll with anyone including Mercedes and Luxus. Nothing to be ashamed about. I just don't see enough on the road. Where are they? MPG not so great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

wonderful Car

by Prissy from Pittsburgh on Tue Nov 29 2011

My husband always wanted to own a hundia then my car brock down and I needed a car are a friend told him about the azera we took it for a test ride and loved it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2008 Hyundai Azera

With the faster, more luxurious Genesis grabbing headlines at Hyundai these days, some have openly wondered about the future of the brand's erstwhile flagship. That's a shame: The Hyundai Azera delivers the sort of comfort and quality a large sedan ought to offer — and, in typical Hyundai fashion, its price is hard to beat.


Introduced two years ago to replace the XG 350, the Azera comes in GLS and Limited trims for 2008. Hyundai has discontinued the midlevel Azera SE; click here to see a comparison between the '07 and '08 models. I drove an '08 Limited.

 

Exterior & Styling
Stately but forgettable, the Hyundai Azera's styling may be its biggest limiter. It follows Hyundai lineage... Read More