2009 Elantra

Consumer Reviews

2009 Hyundai Elantra

$2,823 - $8,907  MSRP Range
2009 Hyundai Elantra

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

41 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2009 Hyundai Elantra?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable Compact Car

by hyundai owner from Minneapolis, MN on Tue Jun 02 2009

The Elantra SE is a great car. It is wisher quiet at a stop sign and rides very smooth for a car of its size. It is the roomiest "small" car I have ever been in. I average 33 mpg. The worst I have ever had was 27 mpg in winter and best was 39 mpg on a long trip. The driving experience is good, it's not a sports car, but I have never not had enough pep. It is a wonderful value, great construction, good interior design and thousands less than a civic or corolla. Overall I have loved this car and would recommend it to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Almost 2 weeks wil our 2009 GLS

by Myohokid from Philadelphia on Tue Sep 29 2009

Actually went to the dealer looking for a used car but we test drove this car and were really impressed. The gas mileage is outstanding as well as the trunk space. XM satellite radio is cool as well as the Ipod interface (must puchase the cable from the dealer). All and all it's a great car!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Hyundai Lover from Washington State from Washington State on Tue Sep 21 2010

This is the 3rd Hyundai I've owned and the 2nd Elantra. It is the most dependable and low maintenance car I have ever owned. I recently traded a 2008 Accent for the 2009 Elantra only because it had a manual transmission and I prefer an automatic. It is comfortable on long trips and gets great mileage. I expect to trade this one for another Hyundai when the time comes. They are a great value for the price and hold up well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

by ChiliDog from Nashville, Tn. on Wed Aug 05 2009

I purchased a Elantra SE. I have owned it for approx 6 months now. The only problem I have had is when the dealer installed the sun roof wind deflector they cracked it at one of the mounting screws. They replaced it in 3 days.I use it on the highway approx 70% of the time. The trip computer says that in the 21,000 miles I have driven I have averaged 30.6 MPG.The Leather seats are very comfortable. The car fits a 6'4" driver well. The air works good.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A little bit of everything we needed in a car.

by Hyundai for the win.. from Erie, pa on Mon Oct 17 2011

Purchased our 2009 Elantra in the same year and haven't looked back since. Great gas milage. Comfortable to drive. Comes with all the perks for less money. Had one issue at 20k miles, transmission seal started leaking, (probably caused by one of the huge potholes around town I hit) the dealership nearby happily installed a brand new transmission and it only took them a few hours at most to replace it. I love when replacing a tranny is more cost effective than replacing one of its seals alone. All in all, my family is very happy with our Hyundai Elantra. Over the years my immediate family has owned around 5-6 Hyundais total. Perfect car for anyone concerned about value for your money and reliability.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable and efficient car!

by klspeed from Arkansas on Sat Dec 24 2011

We helped our daughter get a '09 Elantra while she was in nursing school. We bought it new and have been VERY pleased with it. She has put lots of miles on it commuting to and from school. Now she's a R.N., married and 60,00 miles later we are buying the car off of her. Great gas mileage, (between 35-38 on the hwy) dependable, comfortable, great warranty and nice looking for a nice price. Pleased and satisfied is an understatement!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Ara from Norfolk VA on Sun Apr 02 2017

I have had my car since 2009 it runs great. I have out miles and it's like new. Love my car Recommen this car

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most reliable car ever

by hyundia lover from brooklyn ny on Fri Sep 10 2010

this car is amazing the reiablity is unbelievable i had the car for a year and a half and it runs perfectly with no problems

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Nice Car

by CJHH from on Tue Sep 24 2013

I just recently bought an Elantra, and haven't been disappointed yet. It's a very nice car. I has a smaller engine and gas tank then other cars, but I'm usually paying between 40 and 50 dollars for a full tank of gas. It's a very good car. I was lucky to have leather seats with my Elantra, but everyone is seated with comfort.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Happy to be back in a Hyundai

by Nissans are nice, Hyundais are better from on Mon Dec 10 2012

The Elantra is a good car. I am very pleased with this purchase. Plus, gotta love those Hyundai warranties.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5