2004 Sonata

Consumer Reviews

2004 Hyundai Sonata

$950 - $6,594  MSRP Range
2004 Hyundai Sonata

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

27 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2004 Hyundai Sonata?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

sharp looking and a great value

by Diesel Man from Sacramento, CA on Wed Jan 10 2007

By far the best value in its class, sharp looks, lots of amenities, lots of safety stuff, excellent warranty, great highway ride. Very refined engine, nice stereo, nice fit and finish, totally satisfied with my purchase

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Except for the color

by Bernie from Tampa, FL on Tue Dec 28 2010

This week we traded in this Sonata for another one- only reason: my wife was never crazy about the color of the first one and thought it was time for a change. The car was great- never had ANY problems or repairs: routine maintainence only. Gas mileage was great, quiet ride (we did replace the tires with a touring grade, softening the ride a bit). City and long distance highway driving. Only complaint: there was always a slight pull on the steering to the right that could not be corrected by realignments, balancing, etc. Returned it to the dealer a couple of times but was told that it was "the nature of the beast".

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Two Sonatas and No regrets

by Love cars from Rhode Island on Mon Mar 12 2007

I've had two Hyundai Sonata's a 1998 model and then a 2004 model and a few cars in between and I have to tell people who are considering a vehicle from Hyundai....do your own research don't let people who are hung up on stupid ideas about Hyundai talk you out of buying a great car. What I tell people about life can be applied here as well and that is you don't have to be great to get started, but you do have to get started to be great, and none of these car companies were great when they got started. What Hyundai has done in a short amount of time in this market in the face of consumers who over look their accomplishments is simply inspirational. The Ultimate under dog story...here's an idea for Hyundai advertising executives. Hyundai talks to Toyota, Honda and Nissan - "I may have started out last, I may have started out behind but I am in your rear view mirrors and soon you will be in mine."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2004 LX 2.7 Great Car

by Dann_cann from Bethel Island, CA on Sun Mar 23 2014

Bought new for cash well under MSRP; best value; 2004 Hyundai Sonata LX V6- 10 yrs old next November and currently with 194K miles and no loss of power (mobile 1 since 99K). Only warranty repair was the water pump at 58K. KYB gas struts at 100K. First break set lasted 100K. Gets a consistent 27 avg. mpg still. Profile handles stormy weather great! Every 60k timing belt, etc. regular maint. Not expensive. Odd that so many reviews' media want(ed) to leave Hyundai out?? Time for a paint job, all new hoses, and new tech radio head unit now. Shopping for a aftermarket front strut tower brace and CARB legal chip. Also own the 2005 Tucson same engine and 4x4 with over 100K on it too. Got my money's worth many times over. Want to see Hyundai get diesel SUV into this country & CA. for my next car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice inexpensive car!

by BMW Owner from Fort Worth, TX on Fri Sep 19 2014

I was looking for a cheap car that I could use as part of my year-long commute (down to Dallas during the week, back home to Pittsburgh on the weekend) and I found this 2004 Sonata for less than $4K. 95K miles and it still runs great. It's a little dinged up on the outside but it stills looks pretty good (Like the styling on it). Everything mechanical works and works well. Good power and acceleration for freeway driving. Bad stuff - suspension not the best, gain on the power steering is pretty high and turning radius not great. Drab interior didn't hold up well with time but seat covers took care of that. All in all - a lot of value for the money and one month in, I'm very pleased. If I avoid the mechanic I'll be thrilled.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My XG350 Experience

by Hyundai Lover from Dunedin, FL on Wed Jul 02 2008

Traded my 3rd Cadillac for a new Hyundai. Because it had more comfortable seats (softer), less engine noise, less road noise and softer ride than the 1997 DeVille Delegance with 45000 miles on it at trade. Had a few minor repairs under warranty except driver armrest wear-through. Biggest mistake was Hyundai's choice of sport car tires with only 30,000 tread wear. Discovered at 35,000 miles fot 4 new Goodyear 80,000 mile tread warranty at a cost about $100 less than 3 new Michelins at local discount chain. Car then rode like a limo! Also, Hyundai dealers don't offer spray touchup paint, only sticks. Wish it had daytime running lights-the current system which turns all lights on is not good and causes other issues. Also why not go all the way and get computer to report mpg, not just distance left in tank. Hyundai should work to get better service facilities. Many are more like back shop operations. Oh yeah-please make the car chirp when locking the first time, not just at second push of lock button on future cars. Would I buy another Hyundai? In a heart beat. But only when they finally produce a hybrid or fuel cell vehicle. Better hurry--I'm 74!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

FAST & COMFORTABLE & RELIABLE

by SONATA FAN from MONROETON, PA on Sat Aug 04 2012

I HAD A 2006 SONATA WHICH I LIKE THE MOST BUT THIS ONE I HAVE IS 2004 AND ALSO DRIVES JUST AS WELL AS THE 06' BUT IT'S V6 SO IT'S FASTER THEN IT!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

for the price, best performance .

by Marty from Los Angeles on Sun Feb 24 2008

while I only have 18000. miles in 4 years, i AM COMPLETELY HAPPY WITH THE PERFORMANCE,& GAS MILAGE and have had only one problem, changing the battery after 4 years. A friend who drives only Lincoln Continental town sedan, was excited about the comfort, sitting on the rear seat of my Sonata on a long drive, which averaged 27 milres per gallon from Los Angeles to Las Vegas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car of 23 I've owned

by Doughco from Aurora, CO on Mon Jul 09 2007

Ok, only bought 5 new but... I've owned the Sonata (my only car) for 3.5 years and driven it throughout the West for over 50,000 miles. Mostly Colorado (mountains, backroads, etc.) with runs to the West Coast and Midwest. Shifting is a bit sluggish at times. The only issue has been the outdoor thermometer which was warranty-covered. I do oil changes at 3,000 miles instead of the required 7,500 and usually at Hyundai dealers. At 63 years old and 6'3" the leather power seat is good for 4+ hours of driving; that's never happened before-it's usually been a max of 2 hours that I could drive without stopping to uncurl. The price was great and the warranty is even better. The car has been mistaken for a Jag (I'd never have one) often. The only car I might consider trading for in the next 5 years would be a 2-seater for fuel economy and maneuverability.They're all over Europe and a real fun car to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Does everything well

by KCRob from Kansas City on Mon Jul 30 2007

Best car I've ever owned. Terrific gas mileage w/ 5spd man. Comfortable ride. Quiet on the road. Performance is fine. Looks nice. 10 year warranty. Great price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3