2001 Trooper

Consumer Reviews

2001 Isuzu Trooper

$413 - $3,937  MSRP Range
2001 Isuzu Trooper

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

10 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Isuzu Trooper?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 10 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

A very good roomy SUV with good reliability

by Golfer and boater from Florida on Mon Oct 01 2007

At 95,000 miles I have had to replace only the oil, tires and batteries. The ride is good and the seats are comfortable and firm. It pulls my 3,500 lb boat very good. The engine and transmission are like new. The interior and exterior remain like new. I wish they still made new Troopers. I have a 2003 BMW Z4 to compare quality to, so I am happy with this vehicle's quality.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Indestructible Jeeps

by chico bill from Portland on Fri Mar 19 2010

I drove a Trooper to Costa Rica and around Central America litter ally beating the heck out of it in stream beds and deep potholed roads, with never a problem - none. I have one now that I rolled in an accident in Colorado in the snow and after a new door and fender it was good as new with no effects 50,000 miles post accident. The transmissions are bullet tough and they stay tight and rattle free. My only complaint is the AC / Heater fan drag on slow speed

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful vehicle -- I miss it

by Sacramento gal from Sacramento on Fri May 20 2011

I am an original owner of a 2001 Isuzu Trooper. I had placed $190,000 miles on this vehicle. Never had any problems with it. Just changed tires & oil change. It's spacious and versatile for what I need. It can actually accommodate 2 adult bikes in the back. The exterior remained immaculate for the full 10-yrs I have owned it. I just wish they got a better gas mileage. Overall, this was a wonderful vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome SUV

by SUV enthusiast of CA from west covina, california on Mon Nov 03 2008

Purchased this SUV and its great! for a used vehicle I just had to change the tires, oil, had it detailed and it looks great!. The handling is good, very comfortable, the interior design and features fits me perfectly. its really the best value I got for my money. I have owned several SUVs before and so far this is the best!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

most reliable car I have owned

by trooper man from manchester, md on Sat Jan 20 2007

2001 95,000 and not one thing has ever gone wrong. Original brakes. Only tires and oil. I cannot say the same about my Ford truck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Trooper review

by driver from Atl on Tue Sep 04 2007

This car has been excellent and I've had very few problems. The 4WD works amazing and has not ruined the transmission.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV 2001 Isuzu Trooper If You Can Find One!

by loveMyCar from Oyster Bay, NY on Tue Apr 17 2018

This is the absolute best vehicle I have ever owned! Gas miles better then my jetta at about 20 miles per gallon. Lots of room. Smooth driving. Reliable and sharp looking classic.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

All terrain reliability

by Reliable SUV Seeker from Pearce, AZ on Sat Mar 03 2012

Most adaptable vehicle owned. Always ready to handle fast city traffic or steep rugged back roads. Plenty of room for 5, plus gear or luggage. Responsive turning and handling. Powerful engine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've owned

by Good SUV from Seattle, Washington on Sun Nov 18 2007

A pretty good SUV and very roomy and comfortable. Only needed to replace tires because it has over 90,000 miles and been through long hard driving miles.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable SUV I have ever owned

by Estoppel from SIlver Spring, MD on Wed Aug 22 2018

My trooper is now 18 years old and still runs very well. Acceleration is slower but vehicle is heavy. Gas mileage is not good but my commute is short. In bad weather this SUV will get you home in a Blizzard. I would buy this Trooper again in a heartbeat. Very comfortable to drive.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1