2016 F-TYPE

Consumer Reviews

2016 Jaguar F-TYPE

$28,602 - $85,026  MSRP Range
2016 Jaguar F-TYPE

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

21 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Jaguar F-TYPE?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous looking, exciting to drive.

by Mountain Matt from Colorado on Fri Oct 30 2015

The car is gorgeous from any angle, and is an attention grabber; people stop to look at it, take photos, and talk if you have the time. This car is all about driving, and the thrill of a willing car. It's a 2-seat sports car, but we plan to use it as a GT; by packing lightly the trunk is adequate. I love the cockpit but it is tight, and there is little interior storage space save for a few small cubbies. The first thing you notice is a loud engine note, but it is not obnoxious. When cruising it is docile, but when you demand power the engine makes it's presence known. The supercharger generates plentiful power instantly in the Base model. The steering is very precise and tight, I love it. The 8-speed automatic is the finest shifting I have experienced, and with 3 driving modes and paddle shifters, it is a joy to drive on any road. The ride is a little stiff, but that's the sports car element. I bought the Base model with just a few upgrades. The vision+lighting pack provides: rear-view camera, side-assist, parking sensors, etc. Visibility is limited to the rear and I highly rcommend those features. However, the MMI with the touch screen and navigation/mapping is behind current standards; it does not support Google Earth maps. The car comes with a 5-year, 60,000 mile warranty plus 5 years of service included. I had the car out for a full hour of test drive, and would recommend that to anyone. You need to confirm that you fit comfortably in the cockpit, are satisfied with the interior space, and are happy with the handling, suspension, and seats. This is not a sports sedan. I've driven my car for 2500 miles and gas mileage for highway driving is consistently about 30 mpg, which surprized me. You can use the car as a commuter, but you do need to worry about where you park it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredibly Fun !

by Capt. Phil from Long Island, New York on Wed Sep 06 2017

I found this lightly used (4800 miles) one year old F-type on the local Jaguar-Land Rover lot on a Sunday afternoon in February 2017. Test drove it on Tuesday and bought it then and there. Since then I've put 3000 miles of local, back road driving and all I can say is INCREDIBLE FUN. It's stunning to look at...British Racing Green in deep metallic finish and an interior that simply wraps itself around me...every control falls to hand perfectly and top drawer materials everywhere. Driving...how to describe how this car feels and handles on my mostly two-lane twisting hilly blacktop rides; it's such a "hoot", and the Jaguar "snarl" just a joy. I will admit on my brief driving on a four lane concrete highway with expansion strips it's a rough ride...this is no car for long drives. It was never designed to do anything except sports car style driving. To sum up: you can't have more fun than this with your hands in a "10-2 O'clock" position and expect a lot of comments when you stop for fuel or park at your favorite lunch place. Expensive to buy, expensive to drive but worth every penny.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

An Exhilarating Automobile

by Vapiper from Colonial Heights, VA on Sat May 13 2017

I purchased a 2016 Jaguar F-type, S, new. The car is a sheer pleasure to drive. It makes you feel like you are a part of the car. The handling is superb. The car seems to grip the road and does not sway or throw the driver or passenger around the interior. The stopping power is phenomenal and the brakes take some getting used to. The power from the supercharged V-6 is equally incredible. The electronic systems in the car are amazing and work great. When driving the car, I highly recommend to set all of the electronics before proceeding to drive. This is to absolutely minimize any distractions as the car will require your full attention to drive. Do not be lulled into complacency by the leather interior and automatic climate control. This is a high performance vehicle. You cannot feel the speed. You can be into triple digits and not know it. To me, the only draw back are the paddle shifters. I wish the manufacturer would not allow them to engage unless you shift to the "sports " mode. If you touch the paddle shifters the car automatically goes to manual shift. You may over tach the engine if you hit these accidentally. Otherwise this is a great automobile!. A true heir to the Jaguar name and British sports cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2016 F Type S AWD Coupe

by Finally - a JAG from NJ on Fri Apr 01 2016

The car is just plain old awesome. Looks and performance in a great package. Looks good and drives great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceeding Expectations, BIG TIME

by skiier from Colorado on Thu May 18 2017

Have driven most of the exotics before selecting the F-Type R. Most had some aspect that was disappointing; not the Jaguar. It's an incredible package. I had planned on buying the S version, but after taking the R out for a test drive my mind was changed. I'm looking forward to five years of driving a luxury exotic without repair bills. Only thing I'd like to see is easy passenger/driver access to the hatchback area while seated.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fun car to drive, the sound of the muffler is beau

by . from Dana Point,Calif. on Thu Nov 05 2015

The car is more solid than I expected. My 500sl Mercedes feels slugiish after driving the F type. The stylish body is very understated,that's what I like. Overall. It is the car I adore...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It's an aluminum bullet with 550 hp

by Blackwidowgone from Fresno, CA on Mon Oct 23 2017

The cabin was very cramped. The car itself, is too small. Over steering problems (too sensitive). No ceramic brakes as standard equipment. A trunk that can only handle an overnight bag. The exhaust sounds like a child's pop gun, instead of guttural.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does not recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Cramped interior

by corvettom9 from Trinidad, TX on Tue Nov 28 2017

I currently own a Ferrari, 2 jags, Mercedes SLS, 3 corvettes and a Porsche 911. Jaguar makes a good car, but we found the interior to be a little claustrophobic, and no place for my wife to put her purse. We compared a new 2018 Corvette Grand Sport 3LT side by side to a 2016 F-type R with 6000 miles. Both cars were roughly the same price, so it came down to performance, similar; looks, both very good; finish, a little edge to the Jag; and interior space and comfort, which we decided went to the Vette by a big margin, and in the end we got a new car vs. a two year old car. Another factor for us, being in a rural area, is the availability of Jaguar dealers, only one over an hour away.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my F Type

by Kevin from West Palm beach, Fl on Thu Apr 05 2018

Perfect for all of my needs. It handles well. This is my third F-Type and have loved everyone of them. Have owned 12 Jaguars and keep coming back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

by jdowdle from Indianapolis, IN on Sun Apr 23 2017

I have never owned a car that I didn't find a flaw with. I have owned this car for nearly a month, and I'm totally in love with it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2016 Jaguar F-TYPE

New all-wheel drive gives a welcome dose of sure-footedness to the 2016 Jaguar F-Type, a stylish performer that any luxury sports-car shopper should consider.

The two-seat F-Type comes in base, S and R trims, as a coupe or soft-top convertible. Compare them here. The base and S have a supercharged V-6 good for 340 or 380 horsepower, respectively. Last year’s 495-hp V-8 S convertible is now the R convertible, and it gets the same 550-hp, supercharged V-8 as the R coupe. A newly available manual transmission on V-6 models rounds out the major changes. Stack up the 2015 and 2016 F-Type here.
Exterior & Styling
It’s a testament to the F-Type’s styling that the car, entering its... Read More