2011 XJ

Consumer Reviews

2011 Jaguar XJ

$13,691 - $30,079  MSRP Range
2011 Jaguar XJ

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

21 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Jaguar XJ?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Stunning

by DJH from Springfield, IL on Fri Apr 01 2011

Drive this and you will give up on BMW 7-series, Mercedes S-class or E-class, and Audi A8, not to mention the dowdy Lexus. I did, in fact, test drive the above. Aside from the fact that the styling of those cars comes nowhere close to the stunning look of this Jaguar. Not only that, it costs many thousands less and performs better. I have the XJ-L. Right off the bat, none of the above cars has anything close to the interior rear seat leg room of this Jag, nor do any come standard with the yards of gorgeous leather (including, yes - even the headliner) in the Jag. The heated and cooled seats adjust infinitly (even the side bolsters) and come with a massaging feature. Behind the wheel, this thing is is as lithe as a sports car. It weighs 500 pounds less than the lightest competitor and it shows when you drive and run in the curves. Put it in dynamic mode and it will knock your socks off - even the naturally aspirated engine goes to 60 in 5.5 seconds. The supercharged one must snap your neck off! Plenty of English style that is far beyond the german auterity, but it is subdued and refined by the techno wizardry - a virtual dash, for example. The 1200-watt B&W stereo is the finest I've ever heard in any car. Rated at 16/23 mpg, I have averaged 28.7 highway and 22 in town. I even double checked. Other folks report similar mileage. Jaguar has defeated the competition with this. The fit and finish is perfect and no problems at all to date. The shopping, sales, and delivery at the dealer were hands down the easiest deal I ever closed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fine automobile this Jag-u-ar

by josephus-carnut from Dallas Area on Tue Aug 02 2011

Bought the XJL even though we initially planned on the XJ being our car of choice, presuming we were adequately impressed after a test drive. We were; and then we drove the "L" and it was even more impressive than the XJ. For the money, compared to it's competition, this seemed virtually, "no contest." Fantastic looks both inside and outside (with the exception of some very wide gaps at fenders/doors/hood/trunk). Interior comfort is excellent for all, including those in the rear seat (except for the rear cup holders being virtually useless they're so poorly placed). The looks of the interior is 2nd to none (but for the fact that the wood trim where the door trim meets that on the dash is a very different shade and finish). The driver's position is excellent (and would be even better with the addition of a dead-pedal). The seats are supportive and comfortable (but sure do wish the controls were more intuitive. i.e. You must "look" at them in order to be able to make the intended adjustments. Jag should take a lesson on this from Mercedes whose controls are shaped like the seats so making adjustments is a matter of simply, "feeling the shape." The performance in terms of handling and engine responsiveness is VERY strong (although the various independent road tests consistentently show mediocre braking/stopping distances. Can't comment on this inasmuch as we've had no occasion to make a panic stop). OK . . . so given the Pros and the Cons I've shown above, would I buy this car again? ABSOLUTELY! (That is, presuming it's dependability is superior to Jags of the past. Hard to tell inasmuch as we have only 5K miles on the odometer). Have owned 3 Lexuses, Two Mercedes and a few other luxury cars and this big sedan is, so far, the best yet! If Jag adequately addresses those few niggles shown above the competition will be rendered NON-competitive. Fine car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beast of a Car

by Tom from on Fri Feb 11 2011

The XJ SS is wildly fast, but also luxurious. Great car for all driving occasions. Comparable cars with this hp cost 10's of 1,000s more (Mercedes AMG, Porsche Panamera Turbo). Instant power and decked out to the extreme. Electronics are very fun - who knows whether they'll break down the road, but they're great now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car

by hot for jags from west palm beach on Tue Jan 25 2011

wonderful car ,smooth riding, the interiors can't be matched in this class. wold recommend the xj to anyone.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever

by pb jag from palm beach fl on Sun Jan 23 2011

for true comfort and luxury you beat the new jaguar xjl. its truly a custom auto in terms of finishes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Night and Day transformation from earlier Jaguars.

by Momma's Jaguar from New Mexico on Fri Apr 03 2015

This car moves Jaguar into the realm of truly world-class vehicles and, for the money, handily bests the vast majority of its competitors. My wife and I have had numerous Jaguars since our first XJ in 1982, and this car really puts Jag firmly back on top of the pile. It has everything.....style, class, quality, reliability, luxury, performance and on an on, and at the same time, doesn't try to fit into the modern-day "mold" that virtually every other car out there does. This is unquestionably the finest sedan Jaguar has ever produced. I'd buy another in a heartbeat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very very Nice

by RONBO from Cape Cod,Ma. on Thu Feb 02 2012

Wonderfull looks,great power(super quick). So far a real LOOKER,people always do a neck turn to look at the car. Very nice change from the BMW,Mercedes that are everywhere.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very dependable

by Lil fella from Chi town on Wed May 15 2013

This car is remarkable and the team at integrity auto is the best.... Kudo's too integrity. I drove this jag and didn't want too get out of it...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Ride

by CJ from NJ on Tue Apr 11 2017

This car is amazing. When I took it for inspection, the man inspecting it got excited! It is a perfect combination of style, class and functionality for a surprisingly reasonable price.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beauty and a beast

by Timea from Europe from Niagara Falls on Mon Sep 18 2017

Gorgeous and powerful, amazing ride, good price for all the luxury you get. I was shopping for other type of cars when i ran into the XJ , and now i cant get it out of my mind.Definitely buy one , nothing else measure up.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 2011 Jaguar XJ


If you've ever wanted to try the flying car found in the Hammacher Schlemmer catalog but don't quite have $350,000, you might consider trying the $79,900 base-priced 2011 Jaguar XJL. While it doesn't go so far as sporting foldable wings, my daughter said riding in the back of this Jag is "soooo cool; it feels just like a private jet." She should know since at age 8 she's clearly an expert in private jets. Ahem.

She's right about one thing: The 2011 Jaguar XJL, the long-wheelbase version of the flagship XJ sedan, is luxurious with a capital L.

As lux as the backseat accommodations are you might be inclined to hire a driver to chauffeur you to and from the grocery store and the yoga studio. Don't be... Read More