1995 XJ6

Consumer Reviews

1995 Jaguar XJ6

$2,995 - $2,995  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

11 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 1995 Jaguar XJ6?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 11 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Better and more reliable than Subaru and Toyota

by exfvracer from Arlington WA on Sat Nov 13 2010

1995 to 1997 XJ6. Great car, more reliable than either of the Toyota or Subaru I've owned and much, much better than either of our two Mercedes. Parts when neaded are no more costly than any other quality car. Even my wife tells me how much more comfortable our 1995 XJ6 is compared to our 2007 Honda Odyssey or our 1999 Mercedes. All in all a great car, and it may be the best Jaguar sedan they ever made. 5 Stars, would put my Mom and Dad in one and my kids and know they would be safe, have fun, get to where they are going without issue.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Amazing. Underrated.

by Alex from Indiana on Fri Feb 06 2015

First off, most people will scoff at the idea of owning a jaagggg due to reliability. My 1995 has 110k miles and in the last 20k since I've had it, there has been maybe $150 in maintenance. Thermostat took 20 minutes. There are electrical issue however as I had a hickup that (knock on wood) fixed itself? Great drive, more comfy than an old man Buick. Fast! It amazes me how a 4000 lb car can so easily do 120mph with only 245 HP. I've been spoiled. May never enjoy another car. And if something major breaks, they are so cheap now I'll get another.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice ride!!!

by shawn from RI on Sat Jul 11 2009

This car is amazing everything about it I love aside from the cup holders in the center arm rest very poorly designed. The car is still fairly fast for today. This car draws alot of attention greatly because off the color combination black with tan leather interior. How fast this car getup and go surprises quite a few people on the road. This car is pure classic jag.I was taiking to the Jaguar dealer near my house last week an he said to keep this car the engine is so much better then the v8 he also said the car ingeneral is a better style then the new xj. I would love to add the new xk to my collection but have not found the wright one yet at a good price. overall great car fun to take on trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Jag XJ6 can be a great bargain!

by happy Jag owner from Central Illinois on Thu Jun 01 2006

The 1995 Jaguar XJ6 is a beautiful car to drive--quiet, smooth, and handles wonderfully well. As they depreciate a great deal in the first year, the value of buying a one or two year old Jaguar makes it possible to actually "get a deal", but to really get full value you should figure on owning the car for a number of years and the Jaguar styling means that you are never "out of date"! I found that the upkeep and maintenance was in line with most other cars so not a bad experience at all--much better than my first (1978) Jaguar XJC6 which had problems galone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability, Style, and Comfort

by musicdemarshall from Fort Myers, FL on Wed Mar 01 2017

Great car for the money. Love the classic styling; loaded with leather and wood. Quite a roomy interior; passengers appreciate this. The Vanden Plas is a bit roomier. Had the car for around 4 months and have put 8000 miles on her with no problems. Only done a bit of basic maintenance. Seriously great car that can be had for cheap in great shape! When this one quits, I'll have another. The X300 were the best years. If you are considering the car, find one in good shape. You won't be disappointed!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever

by Fabby from Hobart Australia on Wed Dec 27 2017

I have owned my late 1994 X300 Sovereign for 10 years (bought it for next to nothing). It is bullet-proof, luxurious, and cheap to run (even petrol consumption is good, especially on open road trips). This model is so sublime, I can never update, nothing 'modern' comes close. In fact, so good, I just bought an as new 1996 Sport for peanuts and am storing and using for special outings only, before everyone else finally discovers the secret.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The last real Jaguar

by Jagowner from Fredericksburg on Mon Apr 24 2017

The best inline 6 ever Jaguar finally made before Ford substituted it's V8. The engine already pulled like a V8 and was very under rated.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

95 XJ6

by Black jag from Mobile Ak on Thu Mar 12 2015

Just purchased this vehicle. It has so much power and I need the leg room. Sold my C230 Mercedes. Loved it but was to small for my long legs. I am truly enjoying my Jag. It is a solid car runs great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Possibly the greatest car ever

by Tony McPhatt from London on Mon Nov 06 2017

This car is the most beautiful car and is the epitome of the word "car". It is just gorgeous. The engine is the culmination of decades of development. It'll basically last forever. And they say it isn't a classic- which is great cos it means they are cheap to buy and run. Get one!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Peppy, Classy, and Cheaper to Run Than My Volvo

by XJ6 lover from Sacramento, CA on Fri Aug 31 2007

For long trips, this car cannot be beat! At interstate speeds (80 mph, 2800 rpm) it's stable, smooth, and gets about 28 mph! I trust this car to take me anywhere, and it's pure eye candy. Any of the X300 cars (the XJ6's from 95-97) are the best XJ cars Jag ever built -- your mechanic will agree. Aside from the factory rear differential that typically needs work at about 100K, there's not a single issue I've had with this model year, and it's not my first Jag. If you use good 20-50 oil, and keep it maintained, you can even get 23-25 mpg around town. It's a sweet ride that I've have on the road 20 years from now, without herioics. I highly recommend!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2

Our Take on the 1995 Jaguar XJ6

Jaguar cars have gone from standing joke to sitting comfortably at the feet of Cadillac and Lexus in surveys of the reliable and satisfying.

And these were the spit-and-spackle cars, cobbled by new parent Ford, who prayed dignity and genealogy would sustain sales while Anglo-American management treated Jaguar's primary infections: Dickensian production facilities, a joyless work force and vehicles that usually died shortly after being born.

Ford is now five years into its $3-billion purchase and equally expensive rewhelping of Jaguar.

Behind the British scenes, leaner assembly teams are working with motivated supervisors in a more modern plant of aerospace cleanliness. The primary passions... Read More