Find out if this car is the best match for you.
1998 XJ8

Consumer Reviews

1998 Jaguar XJ8

$3,382 - $5,114  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Jaguar XJ8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Smoothest, most comfortable care I've ever owned.

by unfortunately, we need a minivan! from San Diego on Fri Jan 06 2012

I bought my 1999 Jaguar Xj8 Van Den Plas used from a private seller, so I saved big time on the depreciation aspect. This car runs smooth, shifts flawlessly. the gas mileage is good for a heavy car. But the heaviness is nice and really make you feel safe around all of these big SUV's and Trucks. The kids like the trays in the back seat. The sound system is great and I was able to install custom tires and stereo. It has only required minimal maintenance. I would definitely recommend this car to a friend or family member!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car i have driven.

by Naka from Elgin on Wed Jun 27 2018

Good every day driving car, Smooth comfortable ride, Not bad on Gas mileage,Plenty of leg room front and back, Big Trunk space and Leather Interior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most driver satisfied car.

by jaguar enthusiast from Sungai Buloh, selangor on Tue Jun 21 2011

I have had many continental cars, to name a few:- 1. Volvo 244 gl 1983 model 2. Mercedes Benz 230 e 1985 model. 3. Peugeout 405sri 1997 model. 4. Opel vectra 1998 model 5. Mercedes benz e220 1994 model. 6. BMW 523i 1997 model. But the most satisfying has been the jaguar xj8 longwheel base 3.2 cc 1998 model. I picked up a low mileage second hand unit and been having it for 4 years now. It has been a shher pleasure , especially on long distance trips, I have covered nort , south , and east malaysia and she has not disappointed me at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb classy ride

by Jagg from springfield, IL on Sat Nov 06 2010

I had a 1998 VDP and ran it over 85,000 miles. Everyone stared and everyone loved the back seat, but that's because I hogged the driver's seat. Flawless 5 speed on this one. The supercharged version is amazing. It lacks the pure performance of a BMW but is far more classy and far more comfy, without the squisy boredom of other luxury cars. Perfect mix of performance and class in my opinion.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible Car to Own and Drive

by janet54 from Huntington Beach on Wed Dec 06 2017

This 1998 Jaguar with under 100K miles was beautiful, well loved and cared for. The interior was a comfortable soft smooth tan leather seating in perfect condition. The engine, being a V8, had great pick up and go power. A very smooth handling car to drive also giving you that extremely safe feeling of a great vehicle. A large trunk to be able to hold your spare tire, accessories with additional room for all your personal item needs.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Don't Do It

by Luxury Man from on Tue Nov 09 2010

We purchased a 98 Vaden Plas in 2005 used with 65k miles. The car was beautiful inside and out and ran great for 2 years and the 100k mile point. After that came the timeing chain and a litney of other problems. This car is the gift that won't stop giving headache after headache. Just had the transmission go at 139k miles. Bottom line is this car is a money pit, stay away!!!!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best car i`ve had the pleasue to own

by Webb from Sullivan, Missouri on Sun Oct 22 2017

Beautiful, awesome, sexy. I find myself smiling every minute i drive this car. It is very dependable and i find, easy to maintain. When repairs are needed, shop around, Jaguar parts are no more costly than anyone else.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

For Comfort and Reliability

by janet54 from Huntington Beach on Wed Nov 08 2017

This Car met all my needs. Reliable, Seating offers nice Comfort, Love the Sunroof, Large Trunk Space, GREAT Power, Secure Safe Feeling , A/C has various speeds and runs very cold.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Neautiful anf most comfortable I have ever owned

by Betty's baby from Friendswood , TX on Wed Oct 11 2017

I love this car and is the easiest and most comfortable car I have ever driven. Am now 84 years and cannot find myself giving it up. Have 8500 miles on it. I really Hate all the new cars designs. They are so boxy and cumbersome looking. This Jaguar's overall viewing field is so much better than any other car I have tried to drive. I keep hoping JAGUAR WILL REDESIGN THEIR CARS MORE IN THIS FASHION. Until than I keep praying my JAGUAR will hang in there with me.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

Did you find this review helpful?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1

Our Take on the 1998 Jaguar XJ8

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario - The three letters from Jaguar owners all leveled the same criticism of the car's heated seats: They don't work in hot weather.

This poses a particular problem after an afternoon at the local hunt club and a vigorous horseback ride. It seems that even in scorching weather, working backside warmers would be a welcome touch when you're spending upwards of $70,000 on a luxury car.

Alas, a thermal cutoff renders the heater in the seats useless when the weather outside gets above 70 degrees.

Years ago, that little nugget might have made its way into an F. Scott Fitzgerald story (he did point out that the rich are different from you and me). But it only seemed to... Read More