2000 XJ8

Consumer Reviews

2000 Jaguar XJ8

$2,612 - $9,404  MSRP Range
2000 Jaguar XJ8

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

9 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.9 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.2 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Jaguar XJ8?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 9 of 9 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

amazing but tricky

by youknow from chicago, il on Wed Sep 08 2010

Overall it is a great car. The restricted performance issues were a bit tricky to work out but after figuring out what it was doing it all makes sense. Only runs on 93 octane and needs the plugs and gap to be exact. I don't like the plastic timing chain guides but haven't changed them yet. AJ-27 engine and read 365WHP on a dynojet

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

warning lights

by fortunekuve from Bronx, NY on Mon Aug 16 2010

restricted permission light, abs and check engine light that's quiet tough to configure or narrow down. But otherwise, wonderful car and demand respect on the road.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Unrivaled Elegance, Surprisingly Affordable

by Woofy from Nashville on Tue Jun 26 2018

For over a decade I drove a 2000 Maxima, which I thought was the best-balanced sedan on the market. Until 2009, when I got a Jaguar XJ8 in excellent condition for a lower price than an equivalent Maxima. Zowie, what a jump in class and performance. The 2000 Jaguar XJ8, especially the Vanden Plas version, is not only a timeless beauty that attracts compliments from everyone, but also smoother and more powerful than the Maxima. Reliability is just as good, and even fuel economy is basically the same (17 mpg city, 24 mpg highway). The only slight complaint, believe it or not, is a fairly shallow trunk, although it is slightly deeper and wider. Ride and handling are superior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very good example of an older car

by Jerry from Woodstock, Va. on Fri Dec 01 2017

The vehicle is very nice for it's age. It has low mileage, it is comfortable, everything works and has plenty of leg room.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable

by monte from trenton nj on Mon Oct 04 2010

i would ask a family or friend to buy one,because my car is strong. The car is a good value for your money

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

This is my 5th Jag....what else is there to say.

by Jaguar Enthusiast from Belleville, MI. on Sun Feb 27 2011

I searched long and hard for the right deal to come along and it did. Thanks to Car.com (and others) for providing me with so many options to cloose from. I am very satified with the outcome.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Car

by Rob from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan on Wed Aug 27 2014

Had this car for 3 years now. It just hit 160k. The only major repair was the knock sensors. Would recommend this car to anyone. The best highway car I have ever owned. Have taken it to Banff numerous times.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Hello

by WFP from HOOKSETT NH on Mon Jul 31 2017

Magnificent !!!! Wonderful engineering....A well built automobile that really moves for its size and weight..... well appointed dashboard and easy reach to get to just about any accessory...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

$70,000 piece of junk

by Garza 1 from Chicago,IL on Thu Dec 02 2010

Do not buy this car until you read the horror stories regarding the problems with the timing chain tensioners total engine failures at barely 20,000 miles and no warranty coverage at all by ford who bought Jaguar. My jaguar had 41,000 miles on it when the tensioners got weak and started making noise it would cost me more to fix than it was worth so I had to trade it in.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does not recommend this car!!

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1