1998 Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

1998 Jeep Cherokee

$32 - $11,444  MSRP Range

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

22 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1998 Jeep Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 22 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Well-kept - Solid Running Cherokee

by Richm3i from Charlotte Hall on Sat Jul 21 2018

Great first vehicle for my son. Very reliable and well maintained. Not taken off-road while we owned it - plenty of trips to school and work. Off to college on the other coast and have to part with it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a shame they stopped making them

by Pieface from Jarrettsville, Md on Fri May 07 2010

I bought my Sport in 1997 and it is still running today with 207,500 miles on it. It is a greet vehicle that never let me down. It runs through snow like it was a sunny day and have never been stuck. The only problem that I have had is with the air conditioning. It is always breaking down and has been fixed three times. Great vehicle Chrysler should be ashamed of itself for stop producing such a great vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned...I wish it could be cloned

by LOVE MY JEEP! from Woodbine, MD on Fri Feb 14 2014

I own a 1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport...this exact model. I have been contemplating for years buying another car, but I have a very hard time giving this one up. It has 200,000 miles, and hasn't given me a lick of trouble (except of course for the normal things that fail after a number of years..e.g. water pump/radiator, etc.). I wish that the current Jeeps had the roominess and reliability as this one does. I have hauled more things in the back of this Jeep than you could imagine (like a queen size bed!). I can't say enough about his vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

work horse

by fisherofmen from on Fri Oct 31 2008

I bought my Cherokee sport 4.0L with about 65,000 and now have 149,000. There has been no down time. I've used it to pull a car from OK to ND, and a 20ft boat all summer. Not made for pulling but still have a tranny and no slippage. I run in third gear and never over 65 while pulling. For the abuse it's still going strong and doesn't use oil even though when I first start it it runs a little rough.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck

by John Thaddeus from Port Saint Lucie, FL on Thu Oct 05 2006

Great truck that doesn't go down in value. Always dependable and this thing never dies. Great body design and very enjoyable to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Value for the money

by pimped out ghetto car driver from portsmouth ohio on Sun Jun 02 2013

Really like the jeep! Great power, great turning radius!!! only had 1 problem and that was an alternator. Not and expensive fix, had mine rebuilt for 60 bucks! And they aren't the best for gas mileage but who really worries about that when your family is riding with you? Very dependable and would recommend to every1!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Worth the Money

by Big Guy from Marietta GA on Mon Jan 12 2009

Bought it new in '98 and have not been disappointed. Intend on driving it for at least another 3 years, then buy another Jeep.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best value for the price

by Desperate dad from Worcester, MA on Mon Apr 23 2012

extremely reliable vehicle, outstanding in bad weather, gets you where you need to be. safe for young drivers but uses lots of gas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Daily Driver

by Frequent Trail rider from Atlanta, GA on Mon Oct 24 2011

I picked up a used XJ with a 4.5" lift on it and 33"s and have been hitting the trails constantly. Then when I have to go home, I unfold the seats and move my gear to the trunk and can fit more people for the ride. It's not the prettiest car, and sure ain't the comfiest, but it gets the job done, and stays together. Excellent SUV.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I miss mine!

by Jeeper from New Hampshire on Wed Nov 04 2009

I had so much fun with my Jeep! It's spacious, I've loaded my entire dormroom in it for 3 years in a row with no problem! I've driven through some rough snowstorms with no problems and it's great off road. Mine was actually stolen from me recently (guess it really is a hot item!) otherwise I would have never given it up! I had to put alot of repairs into it around 115,000 miles but it was still going strong at 151,000!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1998 Jeep Cherokee

A no-frills, four-cylinder Jeep Cherokee SE has all the appeal of a well-worn pair of hiking boots: Fancy it isn't, but when you hit the trail there's nothing else like it. Plus, it won't wreck your wallet.

It's somewhat ironic that the original Cherokee, which bowed in 1984, has been engulfed by the sport-utility vehicle (SUV) boom it helped create. Today's SUVs are bigger, softer, more civilized; as cozy as a campfire and as comfy as your favorite chair. Most live in suburbia where they serve as family transport, and few turn a wheel off-road. The Cherokee, while updated last year with a new dash and other refinements, remains true to its roots as a rugged, functional vehicle that puts... Read More