1998 Cherokee

Consumer Reviews
1998 Jeep Cherokee

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

19 Reviews
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
4.5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.7 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.8 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

It's a shame they stopped making them

by Pieface from Jarrettsville, Md on May 7, 2010

I bought my Sport in 1997 and it is still running today with 207,500 miles on it. It is a greet vehicle that never let me down. It runs through snow like it was a sunny day and have never been stuck. The only problem that I have had is with the air conditioning. It is always breaking down and has been fixed three times. Great vehicle Chrysler should be ashamed of itself for stop producing such a great vehicle.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I ever owned...I wish it could be cloned

by LOVE MY JEEP! from Woodbine, MD on February 14, 2014

I own a 1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport...this exact model. I have been contemplating for years buying another car, but I have a very hard time giving this one up. It has 200,000 miles, and hasn't given me a lick of trouble (except of course for the normal things that fail after a number of years..e.g. water pump/radiator, etc.). I wish that the current Jeeps had the roominess and reliability as this one does. I have hauled more things in the back of this Jeep than you could imagine (like a queen size bed!). I can't say enough about his vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

work horse

by fisherofmen from on October 31, 2008

I bought my Cherokee sport 4.0L with about 65,000 and now have 149,000. There has been no down time. I've used it to pull a car from OK to ND, and a 20ft boat all summer. Not made for pulling but still have a tranny and no slippage. I run in third gear and never over 65 while pulling. For the abuse it's still going strong and doesn't use oil even though when I first start it it runs a little rough.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Truck

by John Thaddeus from Port Saint Lucie, FL on October 5, 2006

Great truck that doesn't go down in value. Always dependable and this thing never dies. Great body design and very enjoyable to drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Value for the money

by pimped out ghetto car driver from portsmouth ohio on June 2, 2013

Really like the jeep! Great power, great turning radius!!! only had 1 problem and that was an alternator. Not and expensive fix, had mine rebuilt for 60 bucks! And they aren't the best for gas mileage but who really worries about that when your family is riding with you? Very dependable and would recommend to every1!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Daily Driver

by Frequent Trail rider from Atlanta, GA on October 24, 2011

I picked up a used XJ with a 4.5" lift on it and 33"s and have been hitting the trails constantly. Then when I have to go home, I unfold the seats and move my gear to the trunk and can fit more people for the ride. It's not the prettiest car, and sure ain't the comfiest, but it gets the job done, and stays together. Excellent SUV.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Worth the Money

by Big Guy from Marietta GA on January 12, 2009

Bought it new in '98 and have not been disappointed. Intend on driving it for at least another 3 years, then buy another Jeep.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

best value for the price

by Desperate dad from Worcester, MA on April 23, 2012

extremely reliable vehicle, outstanding in bad weather, gets you where you need to be. safe for young drivers but uses lots of gas.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I miss mine!

by Jeeper from New Hampshire on November 4, 2009

I had so much fun with my Jeep! It's spacious, I've loaded my entire dormroom in it for 3 years in a row with no problem! I've driven through some rough snowstorms with no problems and it's great off road. Mine was actually stolen from me recently (guess it really is a hot item!) otherwise I would have never given it up! I had to put alot of repairs into it around 115,000 miles but it was still going strong at 151,000!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most awesome car ever owned

by Shanah1411 from Marion nc on August 4, 2017

I loved my jeep would love tohave another one i recomend everyone to drive one at least one time they are awesome

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2
Our Expert Review: 1998 Jeep Cherokee