2014 Compass

Consumer Reviews

2014 Jeep Compass

$7,812 - $17,572  MSRP Range
2014 Jeep Compass

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

96 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2014 Jeep Compass?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great small 4x4 SUV

by caplking from Bastrop, TX on Mon Oct 27 2014

I purchased the 2014 Jeep Compass Sport 4x4 with the 2.4 engine and the six speed automatic at the end of July. This is one great small SUV. I added a couple of after market items that has turned this SUV into one of the best small 4x4's I have ever owned. The vehicle feels under powered when purchased, but as an engineer I knew immediately how to correct the problem. I added a performance intake and the under power issue vanished. I also added a two inch lift kit and I am extremely pleased with the off road performance of this little Jeep. If you want to forge rivers buy the Wrangler but for everything else this little guy will handle the load. The real plus, great gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

50 out of 50 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Everything I was looking for.

by Love it! from New London, CT on Sat Jul 25 2015

I'm in love with my Jeep. I love that it has a smaller SUV frame but has more room then my previous car. It has a smooth ride and from previous reviews I expected it to sound like a monster truck. It didn't. I can still hear my music and hold a conversation. My only 4 star come from the fact that there are no little nooks for the driver. No place to put my phone/iPod, coin or whatever little thing. There is a nice place for passengers though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this SUV

by LoveMyJeep from Duluth, MN on Sat Aug 02 2014

My husband and I just purchased a 2014 Jeep Compass Lattitude 4x4 four weeks ago, and I LOVE it! It's very stylish, has a smooth ride and great features. We live in MN and had a brutal winter, and with 4x4, heated seats, heated mirrors and remote start I am ready for winter!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Solid!

by JM in Central Cal from Modesto CA on Thu Feb 26 2015

I'm a Jeep guy for two decades. I finally decided to trade in my 96 Cherokee for a base 2WD 2015 Compass 5-spd. I was looking for an American, station wagon-type car with good gas mileage and a stick. I've only had it for a week, but I think the handling is tight/responsive for a vehicle in its class. The interior is very useful, the radio sounds good, and I can merge on the freeway just fine. I'm an old Cherokee guy, so I'll take function over form any day. I can fit musical gear in it, my family, camping gear... It does what I need it to do. Plus, it's (I think) the last year, so most of the kinks have most likely been figured out. If you're a Jeep person, I'm sure you'll like it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

My second Jeep Compass

by ml3 from Potsdam, NY on Tue Nov 25 2014

Glad I bought another one! Love the interior dimensions and layout. Love the heated seats and remote start. Great quality for the price.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Over all great SUV with one minor problem

by jd from lakeland, fl on Mon May 18 2015

This is a great SUV over all. It has great space in the inside and it is conferrable for long drives. Its also great on gas and not killing you at the pump. It costs me about $30 at the pump when its almost on empty. However there is one problem that really annoys me. When it comes to cabin noise I give it a 0 stars. When I'm on the highway it gets loud. Sometimes it sounds like there is wind coming in the car. It even sound like a whistle. They say that the windshield decreases wind noise but that is false. Other than that I am pretty happy except that one problem.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Compass is Great

by Jeep Guy Cincy from Cincinnati, Ohio on Sun Aug 25 2013

Nice space, handling, sporty yet 4 x 4 option. Classy, comfortable and styled as Grand Cherokee is really attractive look. Quiet, no highway noise what so ever. 30+ MPG

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Smooth riding car

by Family car from Easthampton ma on Thu May 21 2015

I love my new compass. It's a beautiful looking vehicle and my family fits comfortably in it. It drives very smooth and I love the sleek interior

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Happy with the purchase of a Jeep Compass

by DebK from Toledo OH on Tue Feb 06 2018

This car was perfect choice for my son. I know he will have pride in owning and driving the car. It was the right price and the right vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looking good!

by Smasseyx5 from Lexington,ky on Thu Mar 09 2017

Great car and great price! Ride is smooth and there is a ton of room. Great on the highway and back roads.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2014 Jeep Compass

Newly available premium leather and a proper six-speed automatic transmission make the 2014 Jeep Compass the best yet, but the compact SUV continues to struggle with its cheap roots.

Jeep's compact Compass was a hard sell in the burly off-road automaker's lineup — until a redesign in 2011 brought fitting styling that casual onlookers could easily mistake for its bigger brother, the Grand Cherokee. Sales thrived. Updates sprinkled throughout the Compass' history — in lieu of a major redesign — make the Compass you see today a mismatch between the good quality we've seen from Jeep in recent years and the old Jeep that lingers inside the Compass.

For 2014... Read More