2017 Compass

Consumer Reviews

2017 Jeep Compass

$10,622 - $32,439  MSRP Range
2017 Jeep Compass

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

106 Reviews
99% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Jeep Compass?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

1 Month Review

by VG from Worcester, MA on Sun Jun 25 2017

2017 Jeep Compass Limited 4X4 ? 2.4 L w/ 9 speed automatic transmission I purchased the redesigned Compass about a month ago. I have driven it over 1700 miles so far and have been very impressed. The Compass is very easy to get into although there is a slight step up. Driving position and forward visibility are very good. Rear visibility is average but the backup camera makes backing up a breeze. The seats both front and back are firm and comfortable. Rear leg room is good even with the front seats pushed all the way back. The driving position is very good with all controls within easy reach. The cabin is roomy, but not spacious. The Compass drives and handles well on local roads and highways. Not surprisingly, it handles well in heavy rain with excellent front/rear defrosting and wipers. The climate control system is excellent. Fuel economy is surprisingly good. I have averaged 25.9 MPG (1757 miles/67.9 gallons) in primarily city driving. The best MPG seen was 30.5 MPG (all highway). Worst MPG was 22 MPG (all city with AC on). The Auto Engine Stop supposedly helps with fuel economy, but I keep it disabled since it does take some getting used to. Regarding the engine and transmission ? the Compass does not have a lot of power from a stop. However, I find acceleration acceptable and consider it a good compromise since I am averaging 25 MPG in mostly city driving. The Uconnect system is excellent. It has a very logical layout and is easily customizable. It is very responsive to the touch but does show a lot of fingerprints when powered off. Apple CarPlay works flawlessly. [Note: Initially, I had an issue with CarPlay losing connectivity with the Uconnect system. Turns out problem was with the sync cable. I purchased a new cable and have not had any connectivity issues since.] The build quality of the vehicle is excellent. I have yet to encounter a squeak, rattle or knock. The Compass does have a very solid feel and the quality of materials in the cabin is very good. So far I do not have a single issue to report. Overall, I am very glad I purchased the Compass. Everyone who has been in the vehicle or driven it was impressed. I expect it will handle well in the snow and in poor road conditions as we approach winter. If the initial build quality is any indication; reliability should be very good. I did purchase the extended warranty since it truly is a first year model. Likes: 1. Ride/Handling/Forward visibility 2. Quiet interior 3. Technology/Support for Apple CarPlay and Android Auto 4. Fuel Economy 5. Interior and Exterior Styling 6. Build Quality Dislikes: 1. Uconnect display is off by default whenever the vehicle is started. You need to turn on the radio to use GPS, Climate controls, etc. When I don?t want to listen to the radio, but see the controls. I either mute the radio or set it to an unused AUX port. 2. No HomeLink system for garage door opening. 3. No option for Tonneau cover to hide contents behind rear seats. 4. Limited storage space in center console and arm rest. Need a place to hold cell phone when connected to AUX jack for CarPlay/Android Auto. No compartment for sunglasses. 5. I would prefer that the center controls and Uconnect screen were angled toward the driver. Requested Firmware Updates: 1. Create a Uconnect screen preference option to enable/disable Auto Engine Stop. Personally, I would like it off by default. 2. Create a Uconnect option to turn on Uconnect screen whenever the car is started ? I would prefer the screen be powered on whenever the car is turned on. To Be Determined: 1. Reliability 2. Handling in snow 3. Off road

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchase I've ever made!

by Ggtstick from Havelock, NC on Thu May 25 2017

From the first time sitting in the vehicle everything felt right. The style, accents, interior, everything looked sleek and a sense of poshness to it. Then I test drive it and from the starting of the car to finish it was the best ride I've ever had in a Jeep before. Without a doubt I would buy again without hesitation.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by T in TX from Plano, TX on Sat Jun 03 2017

My second one... Love the ruggedness because my husband is ruff on our cars and JEEP seems to hold up to him!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Not what I thought...

by Not a Jeep Compas Fan from Detroit MI on Sat Jul 21 2018

I've had this car less than a year and its been in the shop twice and going on 3 times due to mechanical issues. I've driven Jeeps all my life and this is the worst. Never had any issues like this with my other Jeeps .

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a spacious car and a smooth ride

by AngieB from Seaford on Mon Mar 20 2017

I love my new Jeep Compass. Interior is very room and outside is so nice. I would definitely recondite the truck to anybody

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Totally Changed for the Better!.

by Sueme from Queens NY on Tue Jun 06 2017

Having driven a 2016 Compass for the past year I was wowed by the 2017. The entire car has been revamped, and WOW! The interior is more spacious and the control panel is much larger and way more advanced. The body is also smaller more compact and sportier. Looks and feels amazing.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value

by Craig from Wadsworth Ohio on Tue Apr 25 2017

Steers well, great tech, good design, good space, great value . I love driving this car. The stereo for the radio provides great sound!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great truck for the money

by jeep fan from chicago il on Mon Apr 17 2017

i love it, great truck it has a sporty feeling to it. its also good on gas. one of the cheaper suvs on the market

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

NEW Compass Trailhawk - Keeping Jeep Great Again!

by MyTtrailhawk from CO on Wed Jun 07 2017

About a month in, and I absolutely love this thing...the interior is awesome, bells and whistles are great, and it does all that you'd expect from the Jeep brand. Only gripe is the engine/power, which I knew going in. If they ever put one out with a V6, I'd seriously consider upgrading, but other than that, this one will probably be in my garage for a long time.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for your Buck

by GBPhoenix1 from Green Bay, WI on Thu May 25 2017

This Jeep is exactly what I was looking for; something small but with enough room to move something that won't fit in a car, good price point, decent gas mileage, etc. I am highly impressed with how smooth of a ride the Jeep Compass provides and the quite engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2017 Jeep Compass

The verdict:

The new 2017 Jeep Compass is worlds better than the old one. It spanks its competitors off-road, but its underpowered engine, sloppy handling and quirky automatic transmission keep it from being competitive on-road.

Versus the competition:

Nothing can touch the Compass in the dirt, but nearly everything else is bigger, quicker or handles better.

The old Jeep Compass is dead. An unloved creation birthed from the DaimlerChrysler days, it was based on the Dodge Caliber and shared showroom space with the equally reviled Jeep Patriot. Now in its place is a shiny new 2017 Compass, slotting in Jeep's lineup above the diminutive Renegade and below the V-6-powered Cherokee. (The Patriot remains dead.)

The new Jeep Compass is nothing like the old one — only the name is shared. The new Compass rides on a Fiat-derived chassis that has a lot in common with other Fiat Chrysler Automobiles products. Jeep wants to put the Compass up against successful compact SUVs like the Honda CR-V, Toyota RAV4, Nissan Rogue, Ford Escape and Chevrolet Equinox... Read More