2017 Compass

Consumer Reviews

2017 Jeep Compass

$9,905 - $22,525  MSRP Range
2017 Jeep Compass

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

139 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Jeep Compass?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by T in TX from Plano, TX on Sat Jun 03 2017

My second one... Love the ruggedness because my husband is ruff on our cars and JEEP seems to hold up to him!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best newer car I've owned

by V.Helton from Kingston, IL on Tue Mar 12 2019

This car has a great radio, heated seats, comfortable seating. Cup holders in the back seat. Plenty of space my kids and I. 4wd all the time. And buttons on both sides of the steering wheel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great truck for the money

by jeep fan from chicago il on Mon Apr 17 2017

i love it, great truck it has a sporty feeling to it. its also good on gas. one of the cheaper suvs on the market

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value

by Craig from Wadsworth Ohio on Tue Apr 25 2017

Steers well, great tech, good design, good space, great value . I love driving this car. The stereo for the radio provides great sound!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Cute vehicle

by Shanna Jeep owner from Middletown De on Thu Nov 15 2018

Well I had to drive it home in the dark and today it’s a mixture of snow sleet and rain , so I’m excited to be able to enjoy it when the weather clears up

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a spacious car and a smooth ride

by AngieB from Seaford on Mon Mar 20 2017

I love my new Jeep Compass. Interior is very room and outside is so nice. I would definitely recondite the truck to anybody

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In love

by Angiednel from Cheshire, CT on Fri Apr 14 2017

My Compass is exactly what I've been looking for in an SUV. It's not too big or small, looks fantastic and is so makes it easy to load and unload my work boxes and materials and the kiddos.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Bang for your Buck

by GBPhoenix1 from Green Bay, WI on Thu May 25 2017

This Jeep is exactly what I was looking for; something small but with enough room to move something that won't fit in a car, good price point, decent gas mileage, etc. I am highly impressed with how smooth of a ride the Jeep Compass provides and the quite engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent SUV value for 2018

by Detroit Native from Michigan on Fri Dec 22 2017

Better ride than most SUVs. Quieter than the 5 others I owned or test drove. Electronics are great. Spacious enough, great handling, rear cargo mat is reversible, 4x4 great in snow, rain, and off pavement. I get a new car every 3 years and I can already tell this going to be a fun and functional favorite.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The All-New Compass is the best new Jeep model!

by dharper from Grande Prairie, AB on Mon Jun 26 2017

Extremely comfortable and smooth ride, the UConnect touch screen is user friendly and so cool! Fuel-mileage is next-level for a jeep. Only been driving it for a month, but I'm super impressed so far!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14

Our Take on the 2017 Jeep Compass

The verdict:


The new 2017 Jeep Compass is worlds better than the old one. It spanks its competitors off-road, but its underpowered engine, sloppy handling and quirky automatic transmission keep it from being competitive on-road.

Versus the competition:


Nothing can touch the Compass in the dirt, but nearly everything else is bigger, quicker or handles better.

The old Jeep Compass is dead. An unloved creation birthed from the DaimlerChrysler days, it was based on the Dodge Caliber and shared showroom space with the equally reviled Jeep Patriot. Now in its place is a shiny new 2017 Compass, slotting in Jeep’s lineup above the diminutive Renegade and below the V-6-powered Cherokee. (The Patriot remains dead.)

The new Jeep Compass is nothing like the old one — only the name is shared. The new Compass rides on a Fiat-derived chassis that has a lot in common with other Fiat Chrysler Automobiles products. Jeep wants to put the Compass up against successful compact SUVs like the Honda CR-V, Toyota RAV4, Nissan Rogue, Ford Escape and Chevrolet Equinox. The... Read More