2001 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$1,241 - $7,065  MSRP Range
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

47 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 47 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

158,000 and still going

by Long Haul from NC on Mon Mar 22 2010

I drive approx 130 miles roundtrip to work everyday. It has 158,000 miles on it and still runs great! I got this car new in 2001 and it has been a very dependable car. I have replaced the water pump, alternator, and a few engine sensors here and there and that is it. I got the I-6 4.0 liter engine and it is a very dependable motor. The best part is the roominess of the engine compartment and the ease of access to everything since I do a lot of maintenance and all repair work myself unlike other foreign cars that cram everything in a very tight space.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jeep - Grand Cherokee; 10 year owner w/ 177,000 +

by KT from Overland Park, KS on Sat Jun 26 2010

I bought this Jeep w/ 40 miles on it and love it! Have had it for 10 + years and have 177,000 + miles. Been a great investment and will likely own another one at some point!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Having a hard time letting go.

by Ramama57 from Lakeside on Fri Mar 31 2017

I bought my 2001 Grand Cherokee Limited used. It had about 18,000 miles on it. It is a beast. V-8, 4.7L engine with a tow package. It can climb any hill in any heat without a problem. It has 138,000 miles on it now and is starting to show some signs of aging. The computer tells me the door is open when it's not. Have had the check engine light come on three times in the past 6 months (always something small........but still...). My kids say get a new car but I will never get an engine like this again!! So conflicted.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

grand cherokee is great!

by the jeep man from philadelphia, pa on Tue May 03 2011

great suv for the money, these suvs last forever if taken care of. IF something goes wrong in it, then they arent too expensive to fix either.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

199000+ miles!

by Carlos from Arlington Tx on Wed May 19 2010

My family and i have driven this baby cross country several times. Its been thru floods, blizzards, you name it. but it still runs as smooth as when i bought it. Great engine. 4.0 6 cylinders.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car i ever bought!

by jeep fanatic from on Thu May 28 2009

in 2004 i purchased the jeep grand cherokee columbia edition and i have been pleased with it ever since. its probably the most comfortable car i've ever owned and handles curves well. i live out in the country where there is always alot of snow and dirt roads and i have never slipped once with the jeep. i never have had to use the 4 wheel drive because it handles so well. i just bought a brand new grand cherokee limited edition and so far i've been pleased with that as well!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Purchase Ever!

by AllAboutTheJeep from Brantford, ON, Canada on Sat May 31 2014

As people will tell you, the gas milage could be better, but that's the only flaw I can find. I drive a 4.7L V8 60th Anniversary Grand Cherokee and I have brought this Jeep with me through blizzards, to being tire-deep in mud and it still pulls through every time. To those who love off-road and adventure, with comfortable seats and a flawless 4x4 system; this is the jeep for you. My baby is 13 years old now with over 200,000 kms and it s running just as strong as when I first bought it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. 274,000 Mi.

by Frank R from Chicago, IL on Fri Dec 29 2017

I've owned my 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited since 2004. It has the 4.7 V8 engine, 4x4 with Quadra drive suspension. I bought it used with 26,000 miles on it and it now has 274,000 miles and going strong. Best vehicle I've ever owned. I've traveled east and west coast, as long as several trips to Florida and no problem. It has seen some brutal winters and no issues what's so ever. Will own another Grand Cherokee at one point.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome vehicle!

by red from Clarksburg, WV on Wed Nov 03 2010

I bought this jeep in 2003 with 23k on it and now have 110K and still love it. My wife drives it daily and LOVES it. When we decide to replace it in a couple of years she insists on a new Grand Cherokee. I do most of my own work/maintenance and aside from the warped front rotor issue (which I repaired myself with the updated calipers) it has had needed very few repairs. Original engine and transmission work flawlessly. I live in a salt state and use it exclusively during winter driving and it has absolutely no rust anywhere, especially underneath, which I feel is amazing! The vehicle is easy to maintain yourself. Compared to 2 previous ford explorers (which were absolutely the worst vehicles I've every owned) this jeep is awesome! My wife and I definitely plan to buy another one in the future!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by jeep owner from Atlanta,Ga on Mon Dec 10 2012

Out side of oil changes and tires , this car has been the best i have ever owned ,i am 71 and have owned a lot of vehicles and i hate to part with it but it is time for a new car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5