2002 Grand Cherokee

Consumer Reviews

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

$1,152 - $8,020  MSRP Range
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

72 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.2 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 72 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great all-around SUV

by AJ from Chicago Area, IL on Fri May 11 2007

This is our fourth SUV, and fourth different manufacturer. Its an 02 Limited with Quadradrive and the 4.7L HO engine. Very powerful and fast SUV, towing is no problem at all. It does required a deeper pocketbook to keep the vehicle in tip-top shape. Do all of your regular maintenance and plan to spend another $500-1000 a year on incidentals, especially as the vehicles ages past the 5 year mark. This is not a vehicle you can just ignore and only change the oil and drive and drive and expect it to not have any problems. For that matter, most larger SUVs aren't anyways. Compared to our other SUVs any common problems with these Jeeps are easier and cheaper to deal with. If you can accept the maintenance expense to keep it in excellent condition the vehicle will last you a long time. If you need a cheap day-to-day driver and can't afford the maintenance, you may be better off with a smaller SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Everything we were looking for...

by Jeeper from Wisconsin on Tue Sep 06 2011

We had decided to get a WJ-variant of a Grand Cherokee (1999-2004) for comfort during interstate travel, but still have the 4-wheel drive capability Jeep is known for during instances of off-road driving and severe winter weather. We also wanted other luxuries such as compass/thermometer and power windows. This 2002 Grand Cherokee Overland has everything we wanted, and has served us well on trips to Ontario, Michigan's Upper Peninsula, and all over Wisconsin. We have no complaints!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

126000 miles and going strong.

by Ada5 from Flushing on Sat May 05 2018

I bought this SUV 2 weeks ago for a very good price. 126000 Mi body still look good though there was the expected wear and tear. Had to replace a brake line and crankshaft position sensor right away. Once that was done car was in perfect running shape! Finding that a lot of the small repairs that are needed are pretty simple. Small vacuum hose under the battery needs to be replaced to get the cruise control working again, replacing the struts on the tailgate window Will take about 10 minutes and cost 15 bucks etc etc. Really great truck for the money. The only drawback is that my 4 liter inline 6 is guzzling gas like a plebe at a kegger.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

All around "just right" SUV, and long lasting

by Tech2001 from Phoenix AZ on Sat Nov 02 2019

Right size, utility, and comfort. Right economy, reliability, and quality. Can't find anything to buy today that measures up. Never expected it to be still running fine at 180,000 miles but it is! The Power Tech 4.7 V8 is strong contender for Jeep's historically best engines.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

In the shop !

by Mano D. from Dallas,TX on Wed Apr 04 2007

Don't get me wrong the jeep is very good SUV. just to many call back let's just try to do it right the first time. i got the car used with 57,000 mile it is 2002 Limeted Edition Love the body style to many problem 1. the Brake's 2. the fan on the motor 3. all kind of electrical problem 4. the Blower for the A/C

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

can't go wrong with a jeep

by jeep from new jersey on Mon Jan 30 2012

it's a reliable vehicle , great to drive , best feature for me is the easy of driving in snow. shifts easily right into 4 wheel drive and it's like magic. you'll drive off when everyone else is slipping and sliding. i like the different style rear hatch and ability to open just the glass for ease access. the locking mechanisms are on the sides compared to the older models on the bottom which was a problem with rust. I've always drove sedans until my first jeep now all i want is a jeep.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Really "want" to like it, but...

by GrumblyOne from Cincinnati OH on Wed Feb 22 2017

Whew... ok. In the 5 years I've had this, I've replaced 1 transmission, 2 front sets of calipers and rotors (because they flat out wouldn't let go!), ALL the front steering linkage, 1 alternator, 1 rusted out brake line, 2 rear u-joints, the "broken to pieces" driver seat base, and the weight that fell off the rear drive shaft. TO BE FAIR, I do like this vehicle. I expect issues with 175k. The motor is solid and smooth. However... I'm always chasing a phantom vibration, from someplace new, trying to keep it in a straight line, (yes, it's been lined up,) and saving for the next $1000 + repair. This is not the only one I've ever driven either, and they've all acted very similar. None were modified, and all were in reasonable shape. And yet everyone of them handled like a drunk pig on stilts! The last time I'd gotten under it, and had someone turning the wheel, I shuddered to see nearly the entire front end sloppily shifting around! Yeah, it's got some miles, but holy cow! I've had plenty other 4x4's that never jangled like that. Paid $1500 for it 5 years ago, and probably rebought 3 times. Maybe I'm gullible, but I'll keep working with it 'till I get some of this figured out. But if YOU aren't exactly "mechanically inclined," you may want to think twice. I have NEVER beat this thing, or even off roaded it for that matter. But it's got all the signs of being built to a budget... a very small budget. And I've not even mentioned the stack of Recall notices that came with this from Mopar. You've been warned.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

JGC 2002 Overland

by KeepOnJeepin from Santa Cruz, CA on Mon Feb 03 2014

I replaced two window motors, a noisy muffler, after market radio and two tire pressure sensors. All for about $1400. The burnt out seat warmer and moon roof motor was not replaced for a cost of $1000. The front plate was missing so that cost extra for new plates. I recommend buying from a car dealership rather than a used car dealer if you don't want to have all the extra expenses.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle, Had it for 17 years

by Margie123 from pittsburgh, Pa on Fri Jan 26 2018

Bought it new, great vehicle. Only real issues were caliper and brakes. The technology was great in its day.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a Gem of a Purchase

by A Happy Driver from Denver, CO on Mon Mar 10 2014

Well maintained by prior owners. Only a few minor age-related things to address. But, none of which affect the drivability of the vehilce or operation. I have checked it over very well, and tested it in city and highway driving conditions - in nice and snowy weather - and have not found anything wrong at all! It has an awesome ride/feel. Overall, I am very pleased and very impressed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee

There’s little doubt about the power of the Jeep name.

During World War II, foreign correspondent Ernie Pyle described the U.S. Army vehicle as being “faithful as a dog, as strong as a mule and as agile as a goat.” Gen. Dwight Eisenhower, Allied Supreme Commander in Europe, said after the war “the Jeep, the Dakota airplane and the landing craft were the three tools that won the war.”

The 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland edition may be the SUV that wins over luxury import buyers. With a sticker price of nearly $40,000, the Overland is aimed at such popular foreign brands as the Mercedes-Benz ML320, Lexus RX300 and Acura MDX.

He: Funny that Jeep should resurrect... Read More