2003 Liberty

Consumer Reviews

2003 Jeep Liberty

$1,879 - $7,387  MSRP Range
2003 Jeep Liberty

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

42 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2003 Jeep Liberty?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

My Dream Car

by Ace from Douglassville, PA on Wed Aug 05 2009

I bought my Jeep Liberty 4 years ago, and haven't had a single problem! It handles great in the snow, as well as off-road and on hills. My husband uses it like he would a truck for hauling and heavier work. The gas mileage is pretty good for an SUV, too. The only problem is that there isn't really a whole lot of passenger room in the backseat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jeep Love Rock On

by Jeep Love Rock On from on Thu Oct 16 2014

Had my jeep for 8 years until it saved my life from a drunk driver. she hit a light pole and rolled 3 times on me. My husband and I walked away without a scratch. Best purchase i ever bought. wish i could have her back.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by CARREVIEWER from NEWARK, NJ on Sun Mar 10 2013

THIS CAR IS 100% SAFE. IT HAS A V6 ENGINE AND YOU CAN LET YOUR SON OR DAUGHTER HAVE THIS CAR. AS A FIRST CAR. I TEST DROVE IT AND IT WAS A BLAST. NO INREST IN BUYING ALREADY HAVE ONE

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

It's not too bad of a car

by LadyRed from Savannah, Georgia on Tue Aug 22 2017

The Jeep liberty isn't too bad of a vehicle to own. I've had my 2003 jeep Liberty for about 7 years, and it's been mostly reliable. I say mostly because after about 170k miles it seems one thing goes bad, then everything else goes bad. Like a domino effect of some sort. It gets alright gas mileage, but it's kind of on the low end at 17/21. I typically fill up 2-3 times a week between driving to go to school and driving around for work. But after about 190k miles, I'd day expect to spend a good bit of money on new parts. Hopefully whomever buys the vehicle won't have many problems like I've had. The good parts is that it is a small SUV, so people fit comfortably in the front and back seats. I'm pretty small, at 4'11, but I've had friends as tall as 6'3 riding with no complaints. Also the Jeep has a very good turning radius, which makes u-turns pretty easy, and the handling of the car is decent. The only reason(s) I wouldn't recommend is because of the problems I've personally had with my Jeep.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Big Bang For Your Buck

by LilJeepJeep from Salem, Va on Mon May 28 2018

Goofy appearance aside, this car has been everything I needed and more. The heated dual power seats make riding more comfortable, the automatic moon roof allows for a breeze or stargazing. It?s been up mountains, down valleys, all over - it?s great for car camping and with the seats down, it?s the perfect space to huddle in out of the rain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great in the snow

by rickg from Las Vegas, NV on Sun Jul 08 2018

Lived in snow country before and nothing I drove was better than the Liberty. 4WD was awesome in my hilly town and my steep driveway. Never worried how deep the snow was. Plus design of car was cool and leather interior was a treat. Lot of room for my eighty pound dog too!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Awesome for the winter

by Mirandarenee827 from Lancaster, NY on Thu Aug 09 2018

This was my first car. It was awesome in the winter and the 4x4 has saved me from being stuck MANY times. It was great for transporting up to four people and does have room for car seats! Tons of space in the trunk

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car I have owned to date

by jeep from Long Island, NY on Sat Jun 28 2014

I bought my Jeep new and now have 231,000 miles. I have changed my oil every 3k and don't abuse the truck when I drive. At 210k I probably would have bought a new car but I have a friend who is a mechanic and he has been keeping the car going as the last 20k things have been needing replacing but as I only pay for the parts it makes sense to pay to keep the car. Of all the cars I have owned I have got more mileage out of this car with the least amount spent on maintenance. The 2nd generation models 2008-2012 take a lot of abuse on the various auto websites but the 2003 has been a winner for me.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Latest Winter Ride

by Car Pets from New York on Thu Jan 30 2014

I recently purchased a 2003 Jeep Liberty Renegade from a local used car dealer with 102,000 miles. I expect some issues and got what I expected. The initial problem was a stuck caliper in the right rear and an emission fault. The dealer fixed the problems but the emissions fault came back. I went through the vehicle and found low fluid levels, bad differential seals, and a bad cv joint seal on the front drive shaft. Everything is fixed. It runs great and is getting 19.8 mpg even in snow and "0" degree weather! The heater is excellent! Seats are comfortable for my daily 80 mile ride. The radio sounds good and the vehicle is quiet with no squeaks when radio is off. The roof lights - Renegade model- light up the road like a ball field. No regrets at this point. I'm happy with the deal.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thrifty SUV

by 2003 Liberty Sport 2.4L from Wilmington, NC on Thu Aug 24 2006

I love the Liberty!! When I seen the Sport, and from what I heard, it was a base model, but the one i got was very well equipped. I got the four cylinder model... most people think 150hp for a truck this size doesn't perform well, but it provides plenty of pep. Not to mention 27 MPG!!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2003 Jeep Liberty

The Jeep Liberty looks like one of those "cute utes," small, all-wheel-drive machines destined for no more demanding work than cruising the lot at the local mall - not to say that can't be an adventure.

It's a little bulbous looking, and the proportions are such that it looks much smaller than it really is. I still find it hard to wrap my mind around the fact that it's actually bigger than the Cherokee, which it has supplanted in the Jeep lineup. But it goes nearly 4,000 pounds in fighting trim, and stretches 174 inches, despite having a tidy 104-inch wheelbase.

You can make it less than a cute ute by ordering it with 2-wheel-drive and a four-cylinder engine (nuts, if you ask me - just get... Read More