2017 Renegade

Consumer Reviews

2017 Jeep Renegade

$12,594 - $21,114  MSRP Range
2017 Jeep Renegade

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

404 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Jeep Renegade?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 404 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

What a gem!

by Dr Clay from Western Springs IL on Fri Jan 05 2018

The Renegade has exceeded all my expectations. Lots of room, nice interior, good fuel economy, good power, nicely tuned steering feel & handling, light clutch action & smooth shift action. I purposely chose the lightest, fastest version - a Sport w/FWD & the 1.6T engine w/6-spd manual trans. Keep the revs under 2500 rpm & she's a docile puppy, keep her on full boost @3500+ rpm & you've got yourself a very zippy hot hatchback. Reminds me of my old Mitsubishi Mirage Turbo & my Suzuki Swift GT. This trucklet has gobs of merging & passing power on the hwy. Best of all, my car stickered at $22K, but w/dealer & factory discounts, I got it for way, waaay less. What an incredible value. This car handles very well too, much less body roll than the 1" taller 4x4 versions & the power to weight ratio is good since it weighs 300-500 lbs less than the 4x4 version w/2.4 motor, auto trans & high level options. There are also less parasitic losses in the fwd drivetrain, so more engine power hits the ground. I tested a much more expensive Subaru Crosstrek, but nearly fell asleep from boredom while driving. Drove a Kia Soul in the same price range as the Jeep, but it was a slug too. 30 hp less than the Jeep & over 60 ft-lbs less torque. I have 3000 miles on my Renegade already & have only had it 3 weeks. Can't stop drivin her! This is definitely the cure for your driving maladies. BTW, there is an aftermarket, tuned ECU upgrade that brings the Rene up to 200 hp & 220 ft-lbs torque. Not that I would recommend such Madness!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

30 out of 30 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Safe, Comfortable, Zippy and Cute

by Bianca from Portland, OR on Wed Jun 27 2018

I own the Jeep Renegade Latitude October 2017 model. What's not to like? Let's get it out of the way first - the side panels of the windscreen's body frame make me check twice before I take off from a stop street or exit a garage, especially looking out carefully for pedestrians and cyclists. Everything else is to like! I have zero regrets buying this car. The brakes are unparalleled. Don't be put off by the boxy cuteness, it's still zippy. Comfy front seats, lots of headroom, responsive town driving - great performance; nice touch screen with rear reverse camera and a good sound system too. Good interior dashboard design, excellent air system, classic comfort and it's fun to drive - it really is. I like the solid feel our Latitude has, feeling safe and protected in a car is important to me, so I would recommend this for a family. Yes, there is not spans of packing in the back for a long camping trip so there is that to consider but the back seat drops down. Without the seat dropped down the trunk fits 3 large suitcases and numerous small bags for airport trips, so it's not an issue for us. Overall a big thumbs up for this little gem. It feels like it was designed to be appreciated with all the extra touches they added, which personalizes owning this wonderful crossover SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Proud Owner of a 2018 Jeep Renegade Altitude 4X4

by Mike D from Belleville, IL on Tue Jun 19 2018

Got it on a Friday and it had 14 total miles on the odometer. Once Monday roled around I managed to get it to 300 miles on the odometer!! I’ve been driving it like crazy! I live in south Illinois so I don’t really need a Wrangler cause we don’t quite have mountains for me to drive up but this Renegade does good for the mild off-roading I do drive. If your looking for something to haul heavy loads this isn’t your car. If you have a bunch of kids and need lots of leg room in the back it isn’t your car. If you want something reliable, gets good gas mileage, good in all types of weather and mild terrain then this is your kind of car. It’s real stylish and with that turbo-charged engine, it gets up to speed pretty well for how boxy it is. Ignore any hate you might get from Wrangler owners saying ’it’s not a real Jeep’ it’s a Jeep, just for a different purpose. It’s a street car that can go off-road vs a Wrangler that is a off-road car that you car drive on the street. Love it and look forward to many years of fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

I call her Lilly!!

by Walljeff from Richmond VA on Wed May 09 2018

I am in LOVE with the Jeep! It was not the small SUV that I was after. But after the test drive I was thought okay this is a nice smooth ride...the they showed me how the whole roof of the Renegade comes off and I was SOLD!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

Worst vehicle I've ever owned

by Michelle from Oneonta ny on Tue Jul 02 2019

I bought this vehicle brand new. It's up to 30,000 and I haven't owned it for quite 2 years. It's had 2 blown head gaskets, it's overheated due to a leak of antifreeze. It's had 2 control modules replaced and it still starts whenever it feels the need. Jeep is doing little to accommodate my frustrations and it's been in the shop more then any used vehicle I've ever owned. I do not recommend this vehicle at all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
1 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Small SUV for a big guy

by Jimmy from Buffalo, Ny on Sat Jul 21 2018

My initial opinion of this car was blown to pieces once I test drive the renegade. I figured it was another super compact suv and I’d feel like a sardine. I’m 6-2 and 275, I have more room driving this car than I did when I test drove the Cherokee, and more than I had in my GMC Terrain. This car gives me the compact fuel efficiency, but also the space to feel comfortable, 4WD, tight handling and small turn radius make the car more fun to drive. Haven’t encountered any issues, and hopefully won’t for a long time. It’s worth a look if you’re in the market for a small suv.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Jeep Renegade Nice car

by JeepRenagadeFirstCar from on Fri Apr 14 2017

I just bought it so I dont know about long term reliability, but it runs good, had good power and is roomy for a small SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great little 4x4

by Steve from Topton, PA on Mon Aug 20 2018

All in all a great vehicle, great on gas, good performance...etc. really the only issue i have had with it is the check engine light comes on on long trips, and the Service department at Rothrock in Allentown disrespected me several times and still hasn't fixed the problem, that isn't the vehicles problem, i love my little Renegade all besides that!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

In LOVE with my '17 Renegade

by RenegadeKate from California on Wed Jul 11 2018

I get it now Jeep owners! I am happy to join the family! I am in love with my Renegade! I look out my window and just smile! She has been a huge improvement in my life! The details that Jeep had put into the Renegades are amazing! I am hitting the road and not looking back unless its in the reverse camera!! Renegades Mount Up!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's pretty

by Carjeep from Syracuse NY on Sat Jul 07 2018

It's really good in the snow but the stereo sucks xxx. I'm really mad that I paid extra for this stereo. I wish I could take the stereo out and throw it in a river.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 41