1999 Wrangler

Consumer Reviews
1999 Jeep Wrangler

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

24 Reviews
3.7 out of 5 starsComfort
4.2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.8 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Never ending fun

by Jeeper from Central, pa on January 9, 2014

I recently bought a 1999 jeep wrangler Sahara 6-cyl 4.0l. I love working on it mainly because it is very simple. You can find spare parts everywhere. On that note, they are very easy to fix. By owning a jeep, there is a never-ending list of things you can do to customize your ride. My only complaints are that jeeps are very hard to maintain. There is a lot of work required for owning an older model jeep. For instance, JEEPS ARE KNOWN FOR RUST. While purchasing a used jeep, be sure to check the frame! From past expieriences, I can tell you that I have spend a fortune on rust repair mainly on my frame. Overall, buying a jeep is a very wise decision. They are a lot of fun but hard to maintain at the same time. I would take a jeep over a sports car anyday!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

jeep can go anywhere!

by JeepBeGood from Wilmington, NC on October 6, 2013

This Wrangler Sport 1999 is great. Used synthetic oil since 1998. Runs great on road but awesome off road. Been in sleet, mud, snow, floods! It keeps going! Literally everywhere. But...its bad on gas of course. It is prone to dents, it does have blind spots...granted a lot of vehicles do. But it has 181000 miles and still runs. But gas prices have me thinking to opt for another vehicle. So I won't get much if I traded it in. If I fix it up, it will cost me $2k ie new top, paint, tires etc. I will get a lot more, close to $5k if I did. On other hand, I might keep it as a back up too. Either way, I am glad to have this Jeep. It's been fun!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car - not for everyone

by High Desert Jeeper from Victorville on April 9, 2012

The statement "It's a Jeep Thing..." is so true. This is my 8th Jeep (2nd Wrangler), and I just love them, but they are not for everyone. If you want fun, versatility and just all around capability - this is the car for you.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

1999 Jeep Wrangler Sahara

by Jeeper from Lancaster, PA on December 20, 2010

I have a 1999 Jeep Wrangler Sahara with 33 inch tires and American Racing wheels! I love the way this Jeep Drives and handles the "unbeaten" path! Very Reliable I have 127,900 miles on and no major problems. Runs great drives great. Has a little rust like most Jeeps from the sand and mud. Overall This is the Ultimate 4X4, not to mention the fun of going topless in the summer! :)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Never let you down

by panhead from Central Pennsylvania on April 21, 2010

These Wranglers with the 4.0 Inline engine are the MOST RELIABLE engines ever made. These things were bullet proof, and if you can snag one up, then do it. These vehicles were made for the army to take abuse, and they can, and will still perform the way you want them to. The factory parts are some of the best out there, but Jeeps can be modified so much, and be made even more fun. The more mods the better!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

There is nothing like a Jeep!

by JeepBlue from St Louis on July 27, 2007

Jeep Wranglers have been built solid for off road and on for decades. This has been a very reliable vehicle for me, and I would recommend owning a Jeep Wrangler to anyone who enjoys the outdoors, or just enjoys being able to put the top down and go for a ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Its a Jeep

by Jeep lover from Ct. on December 20, 2011

Most people do not buy a Jeep for speed or highway handling, nor have I. This vehicle is reliable and strong in bad weather with 4 wheel drive when needed and easy on your wallet for repairs, although seldom needed. A very practical 2nd or 3rd vehicle. Should not be used as a primary vehicle unless you live in the outback.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

NOTHING BEATS SPRINGTIME IN A JEEP

by SPRINGLOVER from BATON ROUGE, LA on April 13, 2011

Bought as a second car to haul my dog. It's been a blast. All the fun of a convertible with the height of a truck. I bought used. Haven't done any off-roading in it so can't rate the performance of the 4wd but the fun factor is A+.

2 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

NOTHING LIKE A JEEP

by JEEP LOYALIST from Elizabeth city, NC on December 4, 2008

I HAVE OWNED MY JEEP FOR 4 YEARS NOW AND 3 OTHERS BEFORE THAT, WITH CONFIDENCE I CAN TESTIFY TO THE VALUE OF THIS VEHICLE. I BOUGHT MINE WITH 100,000 MILES ON THE INLINE 6 ENGINE AND SINCE I HAVE LIFTED THE SUSPENSION 4 INCHES, MOUNTED 33X12.50 TIRES AND INSTALLED 4.11 GEARS IN THE DIFFERENTIAL , I NOW HAVE 150,000 MILES ON IT WITH A GOOD NUMBER OF THOSE OFF ROAD OR OFF TRAIL. MY FUEL USAGE WAS SLIGHTLY AFFECTED WITH 15-16 MPG HIGHWAY. THESE JEEPS A THE PERFECT CAR TO CUSTOMIZE AND IF YOU ARE LIKE ME WHO GETS BORED WITH YOUR RIDE QUICKLY THE JEEP IS PERFECT BECAUSE SIMPLY TAKE OF THE TOP AND DOORS TO DISCOVER YOU HAVE A NEW DRIVING EXPERIENCE AWAITING YOU. ALSO THE JEEP IS RELIABLE DUE TO THE FACT JEEP HAS USED THE SAME I-6 ENGINE SINCE 1987, IT IS IN THE CHEROKEE (ANOTHER DEPENDABLE TRUCK) THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION AX-15 IS PROVEN THROUGH AND THROUGH, ALSO STANDARD ON THE DODGE DAYTONA. IF YOU FIND A TJ FOR SALE YOU WILL DISCOVER JEEPS KEEP THEIR VALUE AND THEY HAVE A CULTURE OF PEOPLE THAT SHARE IN THE UNIQUE "IT'S A JEEP THING" MENTALITY. OWN ONE AND YOU WILL UNDERSTAND.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Jeepster Fan

by dee from Hudson NY on July 13, 2009

I bought my Jeepster ( 99 Wrangler 4cyl. soft top) used in 2001 it has been a pleasure to drive and own. Even though the gas mileage leaves something to be desired, I have enjoyed every minute of ownership, Its a bear in the snow. I would recommend this lil Jeepster to anyone that is looking for a reliable 4 wheel drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 1999 Jeep Wrangler