2008 Wrangler

Consumer Reviews

2008 Jeep Wrangler

$10,700 - $23,284  MSRP Range
2008 Jeep Wrangler

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

71 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.3 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.6 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2008 Jeep Wrangler?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 71 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Wouldnt buy anything else

by Jeeper from vt on Sat Mar 05 2011

Im on my third Jeep and I love them. I hate to see reviews of people complaining about the ride. Didnt you test drive it? Dont you know its a Jeep, made for off road, if you want a soft cushy ride go buy a Honda or a Toyota. Nothing beats a Jeep off road. My only complaint is I think they should of stayed with the time proven straight six. Guess well have to wait and see how the v6 holds up over time. OlllllO

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just drive it.

by Gotta Have A Jeep from Denver, CO on Sun Feb 27 2011

Okay, like many, I 've read the reviews and decided to try the jeep wrangler anyway. I personally got a great deal on a Wrangler X soft top. Now for those of you whom want the smooth, quiet ride... this is NOT the vehicle for you. For those of you whom want to feel the road, take the top and the doors off, and look towards the mountains (I live in Colorado) to think, 'But a mole hill.' This is the car for you. It's not a sports car... it's not a minivan... it's a vehicle tuned to go off road! The ride is bumpy but it WILL get you where you need to go, regardless of the weather. I've had the jeep for three winter months and I've never failed to reach my destination, nor has it ever failed to start on the first turn. But now I ramble. Great car, drive it and see why so many people in Colorado have one. -TK

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car ever bought!

by ed from L.A. ca on Tue Aug 16 2011

best car i ever bought!!!! its incredible what this jeep can do on and off road! highly recommended to everybody!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wrangler Unlimited X - First Jeep We've Owned

by Orimai from Denver Colorado on Sat Nov 01 2008

We love this thing! If you are rating this vehicle and comparing it to a Cadillac then you don't know what a Jeep is all about. For what it is, it ranks at the top in all catergories. It may be slow to get up on the highway, but that is not why you own a Jeep to begin with. Quiet, smooth, off road ability and great all around. Join a Jeep Club is my only recommendation :P

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

be careful on bumpy curves

by jeep girl from Twin Falls, ID on Wed Aug 11 2010

First off, I would like to say that I absolutely LOVE my 2008 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited. I have waited and saved for 2 years to get one and I am very pleased.....except for one problem. I was driving over a mountain summit (paved, US Highway) and as I was going around a curve at approximately 45 mph, I hit some bumps in the road. This caused the Jeep to begin to shimmy - I thought at first I had a flat tire. When I stopped and started again, the problem corrected itself. This was pretty scarey. It happened again later. When I took it to the dealership, I was told that the front stabling shock was not strong enough for the vehicle and I would need to upgrade. However, thiis is not covered under the factory warrenty. The good news is that it will cost less than $200 to fix, however I feel that Jeep should cover this under their warrenty.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Looks good...poor support from Jeep

by 2 Jeep from Omaha Nebraska on Mon Jul 13 2015

Overall I like my vehicle. I am less than satisfied with the support from Jeep and the poor Jeep Service in Omaha, Nebraska. Reasonably reliable. Two issues. For the last two years the starter does not turn over consistently. Local Jeep dealer tried to fix it ...said they could not find the problem and charged me for success. Recently the clockspring in my airbag needed to be replace. Identified as a warrantee item. Was told warrantee was only for right handed vehicles... So I spent $700 to fix a non moving part that was under warrantee only if I was somewhere in England!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

What an upgrade from my CJ5

by VW Split Bus Guy from Huntington Beach, CA on Thu May 23 2013

I drove the 6 speed manual trans version of the Wrangler before buying the 4 speed automatic version. It's well worth the extra money for the automatic, far more comfortable to drive. The Wrangler is surprisingly quiet, even with a soft top. The a/c and heater are way better than what would be required. The turning radius is very tight, making the Wrangler a blast to drive. The brakes are outstanding. The engine has smooth but moderate power. Some things I wish the Wrangler came with but doesn't: A hood lock, hood lift, tailgate prop, door hinge locks, locking fuel door and a bracket to keep the rear folding seat from rolling around when tucked away.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Wrangler X 2008 Excellent vehicle my second.

by Rusopow2 from El Paso Texas on Sat Jan 12 2008

Wrangler continues to be a affordable American icon. 4x4 ability has improved. The v-6 provides stable power as opposed to the straight six which has more torque off the line. I really enjoy mine. Plenty of good power. I have the automatic transmission. Compared to my 1992 model this one is finally a real Jeep Wrangler transmission for off roading. The old one was a cobbled setup compared to the four speed unit they have know. The styling is utility minded with all the latest features of composite material molding technology. In other words do not be afraid of the plastic and rubber. It is a great thing. Both inside and out. The stability of the ride has greatly improved. Way to go Chrysler. Move on up the mountain!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by esi from WI on Mon Mar 26 2018

It's a great vehicle better than my expectations. Absolutely love it. Would purchase another and have made other family members believers as well. You won't be disappointed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by Jenkins Jeepers from Monroe Ga on Tue Jul 28 2015

We bought out 2008 wrangler and love it ,it is fun to drive love the soft top it is the best . Could not be any happier . Wanted a jeep for years glad we have ours now ,going to the mtns this weekend and ride around . The Jenkins Jeepers

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2008 Jeep Wrangler

Just as Jeep has expanded its lineup, it's also expanded its classic Wrangler. It gains two more doors, better road manners and more creature comforts, but remains a capable offroad vehicle.

What's good about the Jeep is its cargo area, offroad capability and Spartan interior, plus the fact that it's unique. What's bad about this Jeep is that it comes with a variety of interior features that might discourage some from really getting it dirty.

Exterior
The Unlimited is longer — almost 10 inches longer — than the regular Wrangler; two extra doors will do that to a car. It doesn't look unnaturally long or oddly proportioned, though, which is interesting because it's only about a quarter-inch wider... Read More